We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Savoy Edelweiss

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Savoy Edelweiss to your Saves list
Hotel Savoy Edelweiss
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   via Fraiteve 7, 10058 Sestriere, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 24 Hotels in Sestriere
Aberdeenshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Easter 2013 was spent at The Savoy edelweiss Sestriere. Obviously reviews are only a personal view so each to their own however this small Hotel is great and we would not hesitate to go back. Staff were brilliant attentive and spoke good English, ashamed to say I have no Italian. The food was always plentiful and with a good choice, Breakfast was not the best buffet style we've ever had but more than enough to start your day, with hot and cold choice. I can't comment on small rooms as we paid extra for comforts which where big, we where lucky enough to have a HUGE family room which was very pleasant with a lovely bathroom although the shower cubicle could do with an update. Our children 17 and 19 had a twin comfort room with a small balcony and was again very spacious. Both rooms had more storage space then we have ever had when skiing which we've been doing for over 25yrs.They had satellite TV with no english channels we could find but then your in Italy. Do we have italian TV at home? no so we didnt expect to get BBC!!
The lounge and bar area are very pleasant with plenty of space and comfortable seating. Kids loved the pool table. The spa is not the most luxurious but has hot tub steam room sauna, relaxation room, hot bed and showers, very pleasant to ease those tired muscles!!.
The ski deposit is excellant and only a very short 5 minute walk in the morning, its downhill to ski school and lifts and so a bonus not to have to carry equipment, it is extra if you want to have boots on hot racks but a minimal price for the week..
If you want white modern airy interiors then dont go here, The Savoy Edelweiss is a beautiful old building with wooden paneling and cosy interiors, we had a wonderful week and will certainly look to return one day with out any hesitation.

Room Tip: go for comfort rooms, if you can afford it, for more space if that's important to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessandroGuiot, Proprietario at Hotel Savoy Edelweiss, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear guest ,
Thank you very much for your revew.
It is a pity that you didn’t write what you were expecting from the breakfast so that we can get better.
We have a nice buffet ,but maybe you could give as some more suggestions.
As regarding the television you should had read our information book in the room or simply asked us and we could just explain that our tv works in 2 ways , first in analogic system for the foreigner channels and second in digital way for the Italian ones. I am sorry L.
In any case thank you very much and we hope to see you again . Arrivederci
Alessandro & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    37
    16
    6
    2
See reviews for
28
30
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

You have to take wingy reviews with a pinch of salt! I will be honest. This hotel is just what you need for a weeks skiing. Yes the rooms on the 3rd floor are a little on the small size but they are cosy and clean and all you need! The hotel is well situated with a 5 minute walk to the slope. The hotel arrange for your skis and boots to be kept in a locker on the slope which is perfect!
The food at the hotel was fantastic! I am a fussy eater with meat and was able to find something tasty to eat every night! The breakfast too was all you need to start a days skiing. The waiting-on staff were lovely and friendly as we're the two reception ladies.
The only down side to the hotel was the price of the drinks, they were a little on the steep side. This was probably made more obvious because the resort itself was very reasonable!
Crystal the company we went with were fantastic at arranging après ski activities!! The resort is quiet (which is great in the day for the slopes) but crystal put on lots of activities to make sure you get out and about and see all the local bars and meet people!
The hotel was a nice size where you could feel the presence of a family run business! The last night was a bit hectic when a school arrived and took over the place, this was at the start of half term and I was glad we were leaving at that point.
All in all we had an absolutely fantastic holiday, with lots of lovely food at a great hotel. We would definately recommend! (Plus the skiing was extraordinary!)

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessandroGuiot, Direttore at Hotel Savoy Edelweiss, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Hello dear guest , thank you very much for your nice comments.
We hope to see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

In line with other reviews the Hotel is a little quirky and has an "old fashioned" feel to it however the staff are very helpful and friendly.
The room we had was on the third floor and was small but clean. The beds were clean but mine did dip in the middle but after skiing we slept well!
The bathroom was very small and very "tired", the shower leaked and was a bit grubby but plenty of hot water.
The food was excellent and there was always plenty of choice and lots of it.
We did not use the spa however it appeared to be very popular.
The hotel is well positioned for the slopes with facilities to store your skis and boots in a storage hut actually on the slopes so you do not have to carry them back and forth. The guy there is again really friendly and helpful.
We are not late night après ski people but found some nice little bars and cafes for drinks and lunch especially Cafe Bistrot.
The skiing is fantastic with runs to suit more intermediate to advanced, you need to be competent on Blues to enjoy this resort. The piste maps are a little confusing and they could do with just an indepth Sestriere map.
The short transfer time from Turin Airport makes this an attractive resort to visit, 7 hours from the front door to the slopes from South Wales!
We would definitely return to Sestriere and Hotel Savoy Edelweiss.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessandroGuiot, Direttore at Hotel Savoy Edelweiss, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Guest,
thankyou for your reference.
Of corse people reading have to know that you booked the cheepest room and we only have 8 of them.
We suggest this room to the young people or people that want to pay less but please note that with a little supplement you can have the standard or the comfort room
Best Regards
Alessandro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

The Savoy Edelweiss is nice, but old-fashioned hotel at 5 minutes walk from the slopes. The staff is very friendly and the food is very tasty.

*Location*
The hotel is conveniently located close to the slopes (about a 5 minute walk) and close to the main center of Sestriere. The price of the room includes convient storage of your skies and boots at the slopes, so you don't have to carry you stuff back and forth. Although the city center is very close to the hotel, we found that the restaurants and bars were mostly empty every night of our stay. If you are looking for après-ski do not go to Sestriere, as it is virtually non existing.

*Rooms*
The whole hotel has a bit of an old-fashioned atmosphere including the rooms. The bed was pretty good, but could use comforters instead of the old combination of a sheet and a blanket. The shower in our room was pretty small, but adequate.

*Food*
We booked our room with half-board. The breakfast was your standard buffet style breakfast with all the usual suspects like eggs, bacon, bread, meats, fruit, yoghurt, etc. The dinner includes all kinds of Italian and local dishes and was delicious. Unfortunately the dinner is also buffet style, which is a bit of turn off for us. But again the food was great!

*Bar*
The bar area of the hotel is setup like a living room with comfy couches where you can enjoy a nice drink after a long day of ski-ing.

*Spa*
The room includes the use of the small spa, which is nice after a cold day on the slopes.

*Parking*
We drove from Torino airport to Sestriere (about 90 minutes) and we could park our car on the street next to the hotel for free.

All in all we had a very nice time staying in the Savoy Edelweiss.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessandroGuiot, Proprietario at Hotel Savoy Edelweiss, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Dear Guest,
it is a nice surprise to find your tripadvisor comment .Hoping to see you again,next time you come back to our hotel we will remember you and we will do our best to give you a better room .
Best regards
Alessandro & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Hotel Savoy Edelweiss is a traditional hotel in Sestriere which, although adequate on most fronts, lacks a few things you'd expect for your money and that other Sestriere hotels definitely offer.

The hotel itself is one of the oldest in the resort and they make a virtue of their traditional look and feel. Some will think this is quaint. For me, it felt like they were making a virtue out of dated and old-fashion decor and fittings.

The rooms themselves are small - even the larger rooms are small. For a skiing holiday that's not a big deal as most of the time is spent on the slopes. Our double room had two singles which was annoying. But worst of all, the bathrooms are really dated and inadequate. Our shower was tiny and had a curtain intended to cover 2 sides - which inevitably flooded the bathroom each time. The rooms were warm and clean but a little noisy - there was quite a bit of noise from neighbours arriving/leaving which was easily heard in our room,

The restaurant is supposed to be a major feature but we found the food no more than adequate and some dinners pretty poor. At breakfast there was never sufficient for hungry skiers. At dinner, none of the salads were labelled so often you've no idea what you're eating. When asked, the chef attempted to cater for particular diets (eg vegetarian) but overall meal times weren't a high point.

But most annoying of all, the Hotel charges extra for all drinks. At dinner, there is no water available for free (a bottle costs e2.50), all soft drinks and wine are extra. A beer in the bar costs e6 and average wine about e22. It feels like you are paying through the nose for drinks and after a week, our bar bill came to a tidy sum of money on top of already steep prices.

Staff were efficient and pleasant but nothing comes for free in this hotel. We left having had a great week's skiing but feeling like our wallet had been hit hard in an average hotel. I'm sure Sestriere has better.

Room Tip: Choose a bigger room. They're still not very big but every little helps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessandroGuiot, Proprietario at Hotel Savoy Edelweiss, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Sestriere has better....of course we are a 3 star hotel and we hope the 4 are better taht us , although we know that for more reasons we are considered by our guests better than some 4 stars hotel and with a big soul and an authentic athmosphere
We have a great position , we offer for free storage for ski and ski-boots directly on the slopes ,we offer a spa entrance daily with sauna , hottube,big jacuzzi,small jacuzzi, relax room, warm big chaise longue ,a little fit area and massage zone.We have free parking and free wifi.Your room was a economy basic small room (maybe you decided to book for that or you only found that available),I know that this room in particullar has a tiny shower in anycase we will renovate this room in the future .
You have been very strict about our restaurant.Especially this year that we decided to improve the service (see all the comment of the other guest).
Most of your problems are due to the fact that you have to pay extras (but this is a normal rule for every hotel ,unless they offer an all inclusive service).
Our extra prices are balanced to the average prices of Sestriere and we did not feel like we" hit hard in you wallet "because all the prices are exposed.
Best Regards
Alessandro Guiot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

I booked 2 rooms independently at this hotel for my family for our ski trip after some investigation and reading other reviews, I wasn't disappointed. The key factors for me were the proximity to the slopes as I didn't want to drive or be dependent on shuttle buses, the half board option and, free wifi. We booked early so got a good deal on the prices.
Our rooms were the 2nd highest level, mine and my husband's room was nicer than the twin for the children but both had really well appointed bathrooms and plenty of space. The food was plentiful and interesting with enough variety for all of us. We arrived late on our first night due to traffic problems and we were phoned to check on arrival (as we pulled up to the door!) and dinner was still available for us.
The hotel were very helpful with the advice and discounts on ski school and equipment hire. The ski hire and storage facility was great, the staff there were really helpful and friendly especially as this was my first ski trip so I didn't really know what I was doing. We did get really lucky with the weather having clear blue skies for most of the first 4 days which does help the overall feeling of the holiday.
I noticed a few reviewers mentioned wifi problems!? We had none at all, it was completely free and, whilst maybe not as quick and reliable as you would have at at home, more than acceptable for checking up on emails and doing a little bit of internet surfing.
I don't like large anonymous hotels so, the Savoy Edelweiss was perfect in that respect, it has a very comfortable, cozy feel and I wouldn't hesitate to return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessandroGuiot, Proprietario at Hotel Savoy Edelweiss, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you very much for all your nice comment.We all remenber your nice famikly and we hope to see you again.
Best Regards
Alessandro & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampshire
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

> I would like to say thank you to all of the Hotel
> staff for such a wonderful holiday. I cannot name you all as everyone made such an effort to make us comfortable. We loved the hotel, it was
> intimate and charming and all the food we had was just fabulous, I
> just wish my appetite was larger as everything was so delicious and
> there was a huge variety. The selection of food ... the pasta, risotto and meat dishes were excellent but before those the delicious cold buffet was already filling! I never managed a pudding but my friends tell me they were also great.

The room was comfortable, very clean and warm with excellent
> bathroom facilities, good hot shower with plenty of pressure.>
>
Again, I just want to say thank you for a wonderful week, it was
> probably the nicest hotel I have stayed in having skied over 14 times
> in Italy, France and Canada. We have paid far more and had far less
> ... I think your secret is that the hotel is small, cosy and it
> offers
> a real service, that also shows in the bar area where we made so many
> friends. Your location is ideal too, so close to the ski area.
>
> I also enjoyed the spa but was so busy having a good time in the bar
> that we only used it on one day!

I would recommend this hotel to anyone, in my opinion although a 3 star it should have a 4 star rating.

Room Tip: When booking we paid a supplement for a larger room for two, in essence it was a double bed with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessandroGuiot, Proprietario at Hotel Savoy Edelweiss, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you very much for the nice world you wrote.
It have been a great honour to serve & sotisfy you.
Hope to see you again
Alessandro & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Savoy Edelweiss? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Savoy Edelweiss

Address: via Fraiteve 7, 10058 Sestriere, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Turin > Sestriere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Sestriere
#3 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Sestriere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Savoy Edelweiss 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Savoy is located in the centre of the village, in an enviable position,you don't need any transportation. Possibility of internet connection and wi-fi. Free ski and ski-boots storage in the hotel and on the slopes (near the ski school). New Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Savoy Edelweiss reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoy Edelweiss Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Savoy Edelweiss, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.