We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 star prices 2 star service” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Grande Albergo Sestri Levante

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Grande Albergo Sestri Levante to your Saves list
Grande Albergo Sestri Levante
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Vittorio Veneto, 2, 16039 Sestri Levante, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 23 Hotels in Sestri Levante
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“4 star prices 2 star service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

The hotel is comfortable and well maintained, good pool on the roof, good location, friendly staff. The problem was the food, very basic continental breakfast, no fresh fruit. Dinner had two choices of edible but boring meals brought out by waiters, not silver service.
Dining room was more like a canteen than a restaurant.
The private beach opposite which carried the hotel's name was not free but charged between 10 euros and 18 euros per visit.
Drinks were very expensive eg small bottle of beer approx half pint 4 euros. On the first day half litre or one pint bottles were selling for 6 euros which was much better value, they disappeared on the second day and never reappeared.
These comments are a great shame because the hotel is very nice, the problem is 4 star price but 2 star service.

Room Tip: Front overllooking the sea, you will pay extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandealbergo, Direttore at Grande Albergo Sestri Levante, responded to this review, July 20, 2011
Dear Guest
You want to stay in a 4-star hotel and then you complain about a bottle of beer, 4 euros, a price that seems fair.....

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    60
    41
    26
    8
See reviews for
37
82
8
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2010

I really wanted to like this hotel. My husband and I came here to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary. The location is pretty good, but next time I would prefer to stay closer to the Bay of Silence. The Grande Albergo was probably an amazing hotel many years ago, but today it does not meet the standards of a "Grand Hotel". The hallway walls were cracked and in need of a new paint job. The room decor was very outdated. The TV was tiny and only a few channels. The bathroom definitely needs to be renovated. We were however pleased to have a balcony. However value for money is poor. Breakfast was included in our price. It was decent but nothing special. The pastries were not as fresh as I have experienced other places in Italy. The pool on the rooftop was seriously a joke. Any pictures you may come across make it seem big, but trust me, it's not! Also, there is very little space to lay around the poolside, so don't bother. Overall, we LOVE Sestri Levante, but won't be staying at this hotel on our next visit.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2010

Very nicely situated in the middle of town right on the main street across from the beach. They have their own private section of the beach where you can rent a chair to relax. The drinks and chair at the beach are not cheap but then again none of the other hotels on the beach will be cheaper. They all charge the same. Breakfast I believe was free and it was a very nice sit down buffet. Full course buffet. I have traveled extensively in europe and you do not find many places that will serve a breakfast so fancy. The rooms where nice. Big. The only problem was with mosiquitos. The mosiquitos are everywhere in sestri levante but we believe the mosquitos in the room are do to the type of ceiling grid used in the room that is perforated and the air conditioning up in the ceiling is providing the perfect place for them to live. I must have killed 20 in my room. 20 in my parents room. 20 in my brothers room. Just make sure to use bug spray always! Outside has alot of mosquitos so dont let the fact that they are in the room sway you from staying here. The hotel is very close to shopping and resturaunts. Go out the door and make a left and the next block has very good food for a decent price. The area is picture perfect! The train station is very close. maybe 3-4 blocks from the hotel. It is in a little bit of the shadier side of the town but nothing I would consider very dangerous. It would be very similar to the area around nice's train station but a little better then nice(france). I actually took the train from nice to sestri levante and LOVED Sestri much better then nice. I plan on going back and if I dont stay for a extended stay at a rented house i will be staying at this hotel. The farther up the hill you go up in sestri levante the less and less mosquitos you find. The pool on the roof was nice and had a life gaurd/bar tender. Its not big but nice and you can see the views of the mountains. The water at the beach is warm. Gravel/ sand beach if i remember correctly. Great water.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holland
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2009

This hotel kept its promise. Friendly, competent staff, very nice room and restaurant. Dinner and breakfast of high quality, nicely located.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greece
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2009

I went with my partners for a job in sestri and we stay at grande albergo. It was clean, cosy and the staff was fine. The restaurant was ok.

  • Stayed October 2006, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Midlands
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2008

Not a four star hotel. Offered superior room which was on main street. changed room to a room over the garage entrance. Watch out for plenty of Mozeys as standing water near hotel. Room clean & functional.

Breakfast very disapointing poor selection and not replenished by staff. Transport cafe !

Good location for Cinque Terre and train (dont get taxi its 5mins away not worth 8euro).

  • Liked — Location but across main road & sun terrace
  • Disliked — Breakfast poor , plastic glasses in room which were generally broken
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2007

We paid £800 to stay for a week at this hotel on a B&B basis. This hotel was advertised as being 4* with its own "private" beach. When we arrived, we found out that the "private" beach was "private" and owned by another company. Of course, because it was owned by another company, we were then told we would have to pay £75 ($150) for the week to use the beach. I found this a bit of a cheek (to say the least), but when we then found out the hotel parking was a similar amount....The roof top pool which they advertise has a bar (but nobody tending it), so you're on your own up there and its five floors down in your bathers to get a drink (no phone either)

It was the beach thing that really made me annoyed. When we had the cheek to complain to the arrogent manageress, we were treated appallingly. We told her that it was unreasonable to advertise a 4* hotel as having its own private beach and then charge paying guests of the hotel to use it!!

The hotel restauarant menu was very limited and, like ALL the nice restaurants in Sestri, 90% of it was fish. This is fine if you want to have a starter and main course of fish every meal, but not so great if you don't.

So, we decided to leave. When we told them we wanted to cancel our stay, the manageress told us we'd have a 2 night penalty charge for the room and told us we had to get out in 30 minutes or we'd face a 3 night penalty charge! She told us the penalty charge was to compensate the hotel for not being able to let our room at such short notice. When we asked if we could stay that night (so as to give us time to find alternative accomodation for the week), we were told no, this despite the fact we were effectively paying for a further 2 nights!

So, if you like fish (a lot) and you don't mind being made to feel a mug (by being charged to use the hotels "own" beach and you like being treated like [--] by staff for having the cheek to complain, then by all means go to this hotel. Me? This has put me off ever visiting Italy again, I'm afraid to say.

Stayed September 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grande Albergo Sestri Levante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Albergo Sestri Levante

Address: Via Vittorio Veneto, 2, 16039 Sestri Levante, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Sestri Levante
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Sestri Levante
#7 Luxury Hotel in Sestri Levante
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grande Albergo Sestri Levante 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Venere, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Grande Albergo Sestri Levante reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grande Albergo Sestri Levante Hotel Sestri Levante
Grande Albergo Hotel Sestri Levante
Sestri Levante Grande Albergo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grande Albergo Sestri Levante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.