We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly a unique experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Dei Castelli

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Dei Castelli to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Dei Castelli
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Peninsula 26, 16039 Sestri Levante, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Sestri Levante
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Truly a unique experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

From the time we booked this property, the customer service was outstanding! When we arrived in Italy, we emailed them to ask the best way to get to the hotel from the train station. They notified us that they would send a car. When we arrived, a car awaited us.
The hotel is unique in that every room is different. This is a castle that had been converted to hotel. We were in the main castle.
Make a point of visiting the property. It is stunning. The view from different points of the hotel either look down onto the town of Sestri Levante or the ocean. It is very picturesque. The "picina", which at first thought was the pool is a stunning private lagoon that leads into the ocean.
The rooms are nice, clean and very well serviced.
Everything is walking distance to the town. We truly enjoyed our stay there.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    64
    17
    9
    2
See reviews for
31
115
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ascona, Switzerland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

We had an very nice stay here, the room was air conditioned and it had a very big bathroom. The suite was very old style but it had flaire. The breakfast had a very big selection. There was a minibar, more a fridge in our room and a very modern Tv. The beds were comfterable. The restaurant of the hotel was also very good. The hotel has a private beach with connection to the ocean. Very nice stay.

Room Tip: The nicest and biggest suite, is expencive but very nice (Room Number 203)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2011

I arrived here after 5 days in Florence and the peacefulness, beauty and elegance of the hotel were just what we were looking for. The rooms, while spacious suffer from old grandeur. our lovely terrace with a view of the formal gardens and the ocean could have easily held a party of 30guests.
the restaurant was excellent and it was very easy to take the elevator to the city just a few blocks away.
if you come, you will return!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
93 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2011

This hotel and its grounds covers the top of a peninsula near the center of Sestri Levante. There are not excellent sea views from most rooms of the main part of the hotel, but there are incredible views from the grounds, including the pool area. There is a cute outdoor seating area for breakfast and for cocktails.

The rooms are big but a bit dreary, however, the bathrooms are very nice. The air conditioning is by far the best and most powerful a/c I've ever experienced in Europe! The hotel has a van and will pick you up and drop you at the train station. The hotel is close to Sestri Levante town center but not that close to the train station.

Another time we wanted a ride to the train station (for a day trip to Portofino), they did not want to take us in the van and instead called a taxi. There is also a taxi stand outside the train station.

There are lots of restaurants along the harbor in Sestri and an easy walk from the hotel. Sestri, like Santa Margherita and other towns along the coast, are beautiful, but there is not that much to do other than look at the views.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2011

Italian hotel management always seem strange to me. They seem to be sure that if they have beautiful nature around and nice property they need to do nothing more. But nice views and castle walls are not enough to make a good hotel.

The disappointment appeared before we even came - we got an opportunity to evaluate the level of their client service. When making the reservation of a suite in the "remarks" field we noted that we needed a certain assistance with the confirmations for our visa purposes (the embassies have their strict rules and automatic reservation e-mail is just not enough for them). No reaction followed. We had to write one letter repeating our demand, then another - still silence.

Let me say that we were not looking for the "staying in a castle experience". All we wanted - to relax and to enjoy the views. Not even to swim or to lie on the beach as it was the very beginning of April. As I can judge from other reviews we had our suite in a new building but it was of no importance for us for we got our seaview terrace with sunbeds, a calm and spacious room and a jacuzzi with a view. I know it sounds great. But there was one detail - it turned out that the jacuzzi was leaking and seriously leaking. So instead of enjoying the serenity of the stars at the private balcony we had an unforgettable experience of gathering water from the floor.

As a result I must confess that we were rather disappointed. Instead of taking the maximum from such a wonderful property they neglect some basic aspects and that changes a lot.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2010

We arrived at the train station after a horrible journey to find we were in a horrible part of town, to make matters there were no taxis. When one arrived we were delivered to the pedistrian entrance which resembled a cave, at the end of which was a lift, up to the hotel, along a corridor to the most fanastic public areas, to a bockedy and charming lift to a room, which can only be described as beautiful. In fact everything about the hotel was beautiful, from the views, gardens and swimming area. The breakfast was excellant. The only slight disappointment was that the food in the restraunt was not equal to the surroundings. The village apart from the railway station area was charming.

Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2010

This hotel would definitely be a 5 if it had a better restuarant in it. Its hard not to remember the horrible experience we had at the restuarant when we think of the hotel. Eat in town or just down the street at El Pescador and keep good memories of the hotel. It really is beautiful! Large rooms and bathrooms. The garden is so beautiful with a private walking trail right along the cliffs overlooking the sea. We loved the two very friendly white goats, white peacock and scenic views. The roof top terrace also has amazing views of the city and the sea. We sat up there one night drinking some wine and listening to the music from a wedding going on below. So relaxing. You can park up at the hotel, leave your car and walk everywhere. The private elevator to the street is very convenient. Very fun experience staying in a castle!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Dei Castelli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Dei Castelli

Address: Via Peninsula 26, 16039 Sestri Levante, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Sestri Levante
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sestri Levante
#6 Luxury Hotel in Sestri Levante
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Dei Castelli 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Grand Hotel Dei Castelli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sestri Levante

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Dei Castelli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.