We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Work or Pleasure Retreat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Millcroft Inn & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Millcroft Inn & Spa to your Saves list
Millcroft Inn & Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   55 John Street, Alton, Caledon, Ontario L0N 1A0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Alton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Regina, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Work or Pleasure Retreat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We spent 2.5 days at the Millcroft Inn using the hotel, restaurant and conference centre. It is an awesome facility for smaller (under 20) groups. We were there for work, but the facility, food and atmosphere were excellent. Would be an excellent couples retreat as well.

Room Tip: Rooms in the outer buildings are quieter, away from the water, restaurant and other common areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    108
    49
    29
    20
See reviews for
34
274
15
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Really fantastic spa and dinner retreat - new chef last 7 months and one of the most amazing dinners I have had in a long time - scallops entree was to die for. The croft rooms feel like a chalet but the air was very dry in them. The spa was great as usual and highy recommended.

Room Tip: We stayed in a croft room - the air was very dry they need humidifiers. Unfortunately there was some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ont
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We've been visiting the inn for twenty years plus. We always stay in the Crofts except the special offer ($199 with Travel Zoo) was accomodation in the main Inn. We had a nice enough room facing the falls, however it was fairly small and a little rustic but comfortable. We much prefer the Crofts.
We had a very good dinner and the service was impeccable. The menu is terrific and the prices are high......very high!
We are members of the Inns of Ontario and presented our card at checkin. The lady who checked us in made note of it, but that was it. We were not offered an upgrade nor a gift from the innkeeper, which is always the practice with this membership. The individual who checked us was fairly indifferent and was not particularly welcoming. Frontlive staff are key to introducing the guests to a great experience so the Inn ought to make sure they have the right people in this important role. I was also surprised we were not offered an upgrade, not only because we are members of the Inns of Ontario, but the inn was empty, but for a meeting group. Millcroft is still a beautiful place however the staff in general do not exude the warmth that had been a key part of our great experience a the inn.

Room Tip: Choose the Crofts. They are rustic but roomy and comfortably appointed. The wood burning fireplace c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Top Contributor
230 reviews 230 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We celebrated our anniversary here. It was a perfect weekend. My husband and I booked a Main Mill King Room and a couples massage. The service was excellent - I especially enjoyed the presence of our server for breakfast. Breakfast is a buffet - lovely fresh fruit and delicious pastries. The eggs, sausage, and bacon were also done well. You also have the option of ordering eggs of your choice. Our room was clean and vintage-y. The sleep quality was good - the bed was not too hard or too soft. Our couples massage was relaxing. We loved the trails around the inn (we were lucky to have nice weather to be able to hike on the trail in the snow - it was a winter wonderland!). It's a great escape from the city; however, comes with a price. I would come back again in a few years to celebrate our next anniversary landmark.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

Charming little get away that's priced right. Staff was warm and served us well. Enjoyed a nice meal sitting atop the waterfall. Cabin was upgraded in all the right ways. Enjoyed reading next to the wood fireplace. We will certainly be back again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We were treated by family to a gorgeous dinner. The service was very friendly and accommodating and the staff went out of their way to make everyone feel welcome and comfortable (age range 2 - 59). The walking trails were perfect for a not-so-cold winter's day, and the Sunday breakfast was very good; again, the service was outstanding.

The service standard does not appear to be consistent.....

Check-in and out did not reflect the same service standard; we weren't greeted right away and though there were several people that appeared to be manning the front desk, they didn't give the impression they were organized or in fact pleased to see guests arrive.

Our room was fine, but a bit 'tired' looking. We didn't need a TV, but those who would be thinking that might enhance their stay, the screen was a very small computer monitor sized flat screen far away from the bed, which was the only spot you could watch it from.

The bed was waaaay too soft - we would be 2 people who place a great deal of thumbs-up-ness on a hotel room if the mattress is comfortable. If this is important, the mattress could be a deal breaker; it will keep us from coming back unless they upgrade.

During what was a fairly quiet dinner dinner we were above a wedding reception with 'thumpy' music; we were early enough we weren't disturbed by it for too long, but it could be a consideration in the timing of one's reservation. The food was wonderful - but entrees started at $40 which we found very pricey for what one got.

I'm writing this in a 'helpful' spirit for future guests as well as the management staff of the Inn -

Room Tip: Check with the inn about what types of mattresses are on offer. 'The Crofts' part of the inn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Excellent staff, beautiful setting and particularly enjoyed staying in the main building. Food very good. A great escape close to Toronto. Wish we had taken swimming suits as Pool looked very inviting.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Millcroft Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millcroft Inn & Spa

Address: 55 John Street, Alton, Caledon, Ontario L0N 1A0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Caledon > Alton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Alton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Millcroft Inn & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Definitive Country Inn Retreat. Experience tranquility, comfort and heritage charm at The Millcroft Inn & Spa in Caledon, Ontario. The inn’s refreshing blend of rural serenity and sophisticated hospitality is less than an hour northwest of Toronto in Alton near Caledon, Ontario.Our 100 acre estate is nestled in the rolling countryside of Southern Ontario's Hills of Headwaters, a region which is rich with cultural, artistic and rural activities.Enjoy award winning spa services or a tasty delight in the Headwaters Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Millcroft Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millcroft Inn And Spa
Millcroft Hotel Alton
Millcroft Hotel Ontario
Millcroft Inn & Spa Ontario/Alton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Millcroft Inn & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.