We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere and delicious food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rays 3rd Generation Bistro Bakery

Rays 3rd Generation Bistro Bakery
1475 Queen St,, Alton, Ontario, Canada
519-941-6121
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Alton
Cuisines: Eclectic
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Caledon, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and delicious food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Great bistro for lunch and dinner.. Great presentation as well as superb taste..plenty of variety on the menu as well as extremely affordable!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    20
    1
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mono
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Tasty dinner, relaxed atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

4 adults met at Ray's for dinner in August. The hostess was very pleasant, kitchen staff said hello as we came in, and a folksinger guitarist was playing near the door, all of which created a very welcoming atmosphere. Local beers on tap, tasty house wine by the glass. The menu (on a board, brought over to us) has lots of variety. Two of us had the pan seared scallops, one of us had strip loin, and the other had arctic char. All were reported to be delicious. 1 crème caramel for dessert, chosen from an intriguing dessert menu, also delicious. This is a great local gem. Service was friendly and servers helped eachother to ensure all diners had a great experience. Will go again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best food around!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

We had heard nothing but good things about ray's and we weren't disappointed. We shared the "to die for" spicy crab cakes to start and loved every bite. Made to perfection. I had the pan seared sea scallops to follow which were cooked perfectly, tho a couple were a little sandy. The husband had and really liked the grouper. We shared the mixed fruit demifreddo which needed to be a little less "freddo" but tasted awesome.
Overall, it was excellent, would recommend it to anybody who would be willing to listen to me go on about it and we are definitely going back!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevensville, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great food at Ray's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

This is a great bistro. If you are in the area it is a place for lunch or dinner that you must stop.
The value, taste and visual artistic plating are worth every cent. The flavours of the different items on the plate melt or explode in your mouth.. We stayed at the Millcroft Inn and chose to eat our lunches and dinners at Ray's 3rd generation because of the atmosphere, great food at very fair prices. They have live music on the weekend.Before we left the area we get so bake goods out of their bakery and they were delicious.
I wish we had a place like that in our neighbourhood.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“see bakery review.... fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

just reviewed the Bakery - thought I was reviewing the Bistro AND Bakery... all fantastic! Definitely worthwhile as a destination dinner....

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rays 3rd Generation Bistro Bakery also viewed

 
Orangeville, Ontario
 

Been to Rays 3rd Generation Bistro Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rays 3rd Generation Bistro Bakery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.