We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic garden but the property is a bit underlooked” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Stanley

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Villa Stanley to your Saves list
Hotel Villa Stanley
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale XX Settembre 200, 50019 Sesto Fiorentino, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
london
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“fantastic garden but the property is a bit underlooked”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Yes, the garden is beautiful with nice trees but the rooms have few issues:
the tv does not work properly because it has a sky decoder but without the sky channel
the shower is with no base so you are at risk of flooding
Moreover the pool need to be a bit better maintained (the cypresses needles are nice but not in the pool water)
Staff in the average range

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    40
    50
    25
    19
See reviews for
24
53
3
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Very rustic, quaint hotel. Located on a beautiful property surrounded by trees, flowers, bushes... very nice. Smelled a little musty. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was clean. The shower we had was a stand up shower. Would prefer a tub. We couldnt get the TV to work at all. Our tour group was attacked overnight by what we assume was gnats. Everyone woke up to bites all over. Just because there are no screens on the windows does not mean that there are no bugs!! hahah

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Tour group stayed here for two nights. BEAUTIFUL grounds surround the hotel. Courteous check-in and clean rooms. There were three in my party and our room had a loft--twin bed below and queen bed up in loft. Keep shower curtain inside bathtub--water comes out on floor during shower if you are not careful. Air conditioning did not work but a fan was provided for upstairs--still very warm. Twin bed was right under the window and it was cool enough at night. Windows had to be opened for air and that meant mosquitoes. Plentiful bug bites in the morning on all of us. Bring bug spray. Breakfast was okay and cappuccino machine was slow. Location of hotel prohibits it from being near Florence sights. Would not recommend this hotel

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sesto Fiorentino hotels

Scotland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

I just loved the atmosphere of the hotel and the grounds. As we had a car the situation suited us very well (the local town is within walking distance and worth a look). They put us in a massive room which was very clean and comfortable. Only bad point was that the room was right beside Reception, so noisy and not very private. Fabulous restaurant on site. Menu in Italian, which took us a wee while to figure out, but it wouldn't have mattered what we had ....the food was the best I've ever had. Great breakfast too. Friendly staff. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax Station, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

This hotel is right out of the 1930's and may have had a 4star rating then but not now. The staff were friendly and accomidating, we switched rooms because the one they gave us was dark, damp and had 2 toddler sized beds we could push together. WiFi in the rooms was spotty even in the main building, none in the other. No air conditioning fans only which didn't really help and there were Mosquitos so you couldn't open the windows. Long bus ride to Florence and breakfast was terrible, coffee machine took forever. Wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

The surroundings of the villa are beautiful.
We had dinner in the hotel and the food was excellent and plenty of it. Our waiter was delightful and went out of his way to accommodate us.
It is however a half an hour drive to Florence if you want to catch a bus. Which is apparently quite easy to do.
There is a little supermarket quite close by but you may have to go for a bit of a walk to find a restaurant.
Breakfast was good, however I think they may have to invest in another coffee making machine as we had to line up and wait for quite a while to get our coffee. Unfortunately on the second day the machine ran out of water so we had to wait for that to be rectified.
Unfortunately there is no air conditioning in the rooms and some of the showers just have a shower curtain so the bathroom gets quite wet.
Bring earplugs as it is quite noisy at night.
There is free wifi in the lobby which is quite fast.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west virginia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

I stayed here 2 nights. This hotel is located about 15 minutes from Florence. I didn't like the old fashioned heavy key for the room. I hate having to fuss with a lock after a long day of traveling and sightseeing. We had dinner as part of a group and the staff were mostly focused on selling wine and beer rather than the food. Also please be aware there is virtually no soundproofing. You will hear every step above and in the halls, every door closing, every cough and sneeze of your neighbors. There is a nice garden. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Villa Stanley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Stanley

Address: Viale XX Settembre 200, 50019 Sesto Fiorentino, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Sesto Fiorentino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Sesto Fiorentino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Stanley 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Villa Stanley is a 4 stars rated hotel, built in the main Villa with its 25 bed rooms, reception area, bar, lounge-rooms and conference halls. Along side the Villa is the antique lemon nursery with 28 bed rooms and restaurant. Is only 20 minutes by car from the historical centre of Florence, easily accessible by the Hotel's free shuttle bus or by public transport. Hotel Villa Stanley offers meeting and conference room facilities for up to 90 participants, and spacious parking. The architectual beauty of the fourteenth century building set in a peaceful park, ensures a wonderfully relaxing atmosphere, perfect for either business or leisure visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Venere, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Otel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Villa Stanley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanley Hotel Sesto Fiorentino
Hotel Villa Stanley Province Of Florence/Sesto Fiorentino, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Stanley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.