We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Il Paradisino

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sesto Fiorentino
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Il Paradisino
Save Saved
You added Villa Il Paradisino to your Saves list
Via Cafiero, 57 | Colonnata, 50019 Sesto Fiorentino, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Downers Grove, Illinois
1 review
“Absolutely Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Our family of five stayed at Villa il paradisino for 2 nights between Christmas and New Years. If we weren’t committed to another city in Italy, we definitely would have stayed longer. From the minute we were greeted until the father driving us to the train station we were truly pampered by everyone associated with the VIlla. It is obvious that they really like what they do and they are really good at making sure everyone has a wonderful experience. If you are looking for a true Tuscany "experience" and not simply looking for a place to stay, there is no other choice. Again, truly amazing and the experience will surpass your expectations. All 5 of us took a cooking class with Costanza, her sister and others. It taught not just how to cook the couple of dishes that we selected, but their passion for patience and quality for cooking and eating have left an impression in all of us that wont fade anytime soon.

Our stay here was the highlight of the trip and while writing this review as a family we literally could not find anything bad to say. You wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    97
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
42
31
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

If you are looking for a true Italian Tuscany experience, you will discover this at Villa II Paradisino. From the moment you arrive you will be welcomed as part of the family. The villa's accommodation is spacious, uniquely furnished and offers everything you will need for a comfortable stay. For those who like to cook there is a wonderful kitchen with all cooking amenities and you are welcome to use all the fruit and produce available on their farm. Constanza and her sister Serena, upon request, will provide you with suggestions for tours, wineries to visit, restaurants methods of transportation etc....they are always available for your daily needs. Their suggestions were all excellent. A 10 minute walk to the station and a short train ride gets you to the heart of Florence, Pisa and other destinations. After a busy day in the City you return to the peace and serenity of the villa and it's surroundings. PIzza night in the courtyard should not be missed, a real highlight. The Tuscan dinner is a great opportunity to meet other guests and dine in the main house which is decorated with all the original furniture. What more can we say....this was an unforgettable vacation, thank you Constanza, Serena and family. Nova Scotian Canadians.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gorham, Maine
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

It is impossible to describe the magic of the Villa il Paradisino; you have to go there and feel it. A working villa, a farm, it is a thoroughly modern haven in a 16th century setting. Sheltered behind its walls, it manages to take you back in time without leaving the present. It is both restful and energetic. Comfortable and ancient. The variety of fruit, vegetables, spices and herbs grown on the 10 acres seems limitless -- and maybe is, since the family keeps experimenting with varietals. The magician behind the villa is the proprietress, Costanza, a mid-thirties member of the ownership family. She will welcome you personally and see that you have whatever you need or want. There is nothing Costanza can't or doesn't do for her guests. A few special words about Costanza's cooking classes. Take one. The first of five hours are spent in the gardens and orchards as she explains the various vegetables and herbs, what they are good for and how best to use them. You pick them as you go along to use in the class. In the kitchen, Costanza teaches with energy, humor and a deep knowledge of traditional Italian and Tuscan dishes. You cook a five-course meal of your choosing from a menu. That meal is then served to the other guests and to Costanza's family. (No pressure there!) The wines, grown on the premises as is the Extra Virgin olive oil -- don't use anything else, even in cooking -- is first rate. And get Costanza to hold a pizza party for you, which she and her sister Serena will also cook. Endless kinds of pizza flow from an outdoor, ancient wood-heated bread oven. I have visited there three times, now, and enjoyed it more each time. The Villa il Paradisino is an unforgetable memory and should be an indespensable stop on any trip to Itraly.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Älmhult
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

A lovely villa, great location and amazing people there to help make your stay memorable. My 2 sisters and myself went here to celebrate my 50th birthday. We stayed 5 nights and had a wonderful time. We were so impressed by the villa that we can't wait to return. We did the cooking course which I feel was the highlight of the stay. The accommodations were kept to a very high standard and exceptionaly clean. The owners were so gracious and hospitable that we felt more like family than guests. There is nothing you'd want for here. Everything and more is at your finger tips. The wine they make is beautiful and is too the olive oil. The fruit and vegetables on the property is there to pick at your will. I greeted each morning with a fresh pomegranate and persimmon/sharon fruit (depending where you're from) picked just outside my villa door. The lady running the Villa will warm your heart and you will hate to say good-bye. Her voice will remain in your head like a song you just can't seem to kick. My sisters and I tried our best impressions of her during the rest of our trip. But only Costanza can be Costanza! Her sister Sereena was also a very impressive woman with such grace and elegance. Her kindness from the moment she picked us up from the train station put us a easy from our long journey. She organized a pizza for us as we arrived late and had not gotten groceries to make our dinner. If you want a magical stay in Florence this could just be the place for you. It is located in a small town close enough to walk to the train station to make you way into Florence. The town has some wonderful coffee shops and bakeries. There is many other shops intown also. Once you find your bearing it's easy to get around. There is a lovely restaurant the ladies may recommend to you. It has lovely food and a nice atmosphere. It's a walk away but we found it a bit long but it might have been because we were wearing highheels?
We miss the villa and the wonderful people that work there. (Not sure if I can say that about the rooster. haha!) I can't wait to return and bring some more people with me to show them a little piece of heaven on earth.

Room Tip: There are so many villas to choose from. There is one to suit any needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold River, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Costanza's cooking class was the highlight of our two weeks in Tuscany. When we entered the gates and started our tour of the estate we were instantly taken with her charm, knowledge, warmth and sense of family tradition. As we picked herbs and vegetables for our dinner, her degree in Agriculture was evident as this tour of the estate gardens and orchards became a fascinating lesson on Italian organic gardening, preparing seasonal foods, and the bounty of their 6 hectare property. Our class took place in the kitchen of her family's 15th century home. We arrived at 3:30 pm and by 8:00 had prepared a dinner for 14, as we had the option of dining with other guests of the villa. The elegant dining room and table setting had been prepared by her mother and as we sat down we were grateful that we had experienced this Italian treasure.

Room Tip: All the apartments look great. I've stayed in the two bedroom and it was very comfortable. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

We have just returned from a week here and the 58 five star reviews out of 59 are absolutely justified. This place is wonderful. Everything you could possibly require is catered for from a very well equipped kitchen to air conditioning, pool towels and shampoo. Constanza is a charming hostess, very helpful but not intrusive.
We were a party of seven adults and teenagers. Everyone had only good things to say about Villa Il Paradisino and we all want to return.
Our three teenagers did the cooking course which they were all enthusiastic about afterwards and have already repeated some of the dishes back home. We ate the dinner they cooked and the wine produced on the estate is the best red wine i have ever drunk. Constanza's pizzas are superb and baked in the ancient stone pizza oven built into the villa. Constanza's recommendations for other restaurants were good.
The regular train service of only 15 minutes into Florence made seeing the sights easy and manageable. We also took the local train to Lucca (hire bicycles and ride the city walls).
The road up the hills behind the villa give spectacular views of Florence - better than those from Fiesole. I really can't recommend Villa Paradisino highly enough. The grapes, peaches and other fruit available from the garden are lush.
Only drawback which you must take precautions for are the mosquitos which were around in August evenings- but with Mozzie spray and Constanza's burning/smoking anti mosquito coils they can be dealt with.
This was the best self catering accommodation we have stayed in.

Room Tip: The apartments are all good quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

I know most of you have read all the review on this wonderful place Villa II Paradisino. But I have to say this place is a life changing place. Very inspiring to live a simple life. If you want to relax and feel the true Italian vacation this is the place to be. Our wonderful host Costanza welcomed us in as if we were family. I can't say enough about the cooking class. And to share their family recipes was special. I will never look at cooking the same way again. Thanks again for a wonderful week and we look forward to seeing you next year!

Room Tip: We checked out everyone of their rooms and they were all amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Il Paradisino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Il Paradisino

Address: Via Cafiero, 57 | Colonnata, 50019 Sesto Fiorentino, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Sesto Fiorentino
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty lodging in Sesto Fiorentino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We’ll welcome you to apartments with precious antique furniture, framed by a property with splendid flowers, vegetable gardens, aromatic herbs and century-old trees. You’ll taste our Tuscan recipes in a place that is rich with history: a renaissance villa, our family home since 1830. We invite you for an authentic opportunity to experience art, nature and gastronomy. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa Il Paradisino Province Of Florence/Sesto Fiorentino, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Il Paradisino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.