We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Monika

Save Saved
You added Hotel Monika to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Monika
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Parkweg 2, 39030 Sesto, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 26 hotels in Sesto
Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

This would have to be the best all round hotel I have ever had the pleasure of staying in. It appears to have been owned and run by the Egarter family for generations, and there is an ingrained culture of service, hospitality and aesthetic perfection. The decor of the hotel is delightful and chic, and all kept spotlessly clean.

Our room was full of thoughtful details. There is a basket with slippers and pool towels complete with your room number on it, so when you go to the pool all your needs are at hand. There is even a post it note on the bathroom mirror where you can write down anything your room is lacking.

We were there for a week, and there was always something to do. Everyday they have free activities such as guided snow shoe walks or ski tours. The pool is warm and inviting, with lots of comfortable loungers to sit in and watch the snow falling outside the window. The outdoor spa is delightful to sit in while snow falls on your head (but it is a rather chilly dash to get out there!). Twice a week they had afternoon tea and cookies by the fire accompanied by live piano music. There is a kids room in the basement with table tennis and table football.

We had the 3/4 pension, which includes a full buffet breakfast (with freshly cooked eggs or waffles to order). There is then a mid afternoon snack of soup, bread and various cold cuts. Dinner is a 5 course gourmet experience. You select what courses you want at breakfast time. Dinner starts a bit late for my personal taste (7 pm) but I guess that is a European thing. It would be nice if they offered an earlier start for us early-to-bed, early-to-rise types.

The predominant languages throughout the hotel are German and Italian. Key staff (eg reception, the head waiter, the manager) speak enough English to be helpful, but most of the written material such as the weekly schedule, notices in the elevators etc is not in English, so it is very useful to have a translation ap readily available. The manager, Alexander is particularly friendly and helpful and made a point of coming around at mealtimes to make sure we were happy with everything.

There was one thing which needs, improving, however, and that is the wifi. It does not seem to cope with the demand, and everytime you log on you have to enter all your details and date of birth. Then half the time you would be denied access with a 'too many concurrent users' message. At one point nobody in our room could log on for over half a day. These days every man, woman and child has a device that needs internet, so this aspect should be upgraded.

Overall it was a most relaxing and refreshing week. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Monika_Sexten, Owner at Hotel Monika, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Sasha,
many thanks for your visit and your nice comment. We are very pleased that you chose our hotel for your holiday and that you felt well taken care of with us. For us each guest is a particular person, but guest who come from far away are even more special and fill us with pride.
We are sorry about the problems you had with internet: in Sesto unfortunately there still is no fibre optic cable but only ADSL. Last summer we invested a larger sum to offer our guests the absolutely best internet service possible. Regrettably at the time it is technically impossible to do more. Up to 50 persons can be online at a time. The login with name and date of birth is requested by law…
We wish you all the best, a good time in Europe, and a safe journey back. And if you should long to see us again… board a flight, the Dolomites are waiting for you!
Yours, the Egarter family and the Monika staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    423
    54
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
117
277
17
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We have just returned from spending 10 fantastic days at the Hotel Monika in Sesto. We love walking and wanted somewhere in the Dolomites that had fantastic scenery, plenty of walking opportunities and a lovely hotel to pamper ourselves in and the Hotel Monika provided all of this.

The hotel is based in Sesto/Sexten in South Tyrol which is a small town/village which is a ski resort in the winter but a great place to base yourself for walking and cycling in the summer. The hotel is a 5 minute walk into Sesto. There is a gondola/cable car up into the mountains virtually opposite the hotel. We hired a car for 10 days to get out and about but there are plenty of buses that can take you around. Also, as you'd expext with the Dolomites, loads of walks you can do right from the hotel door.

The hotel itself is fantastic. It is family run and is very welcoming. Most of the staff only speak german or italian but a few can speak some english. We stayed in the Alpine Suite which was really spacious with great views from the balcony. The food is fantastic. A really good choice every night with between 5 and 6 courses not including cheese!. They also provide an afternoon snack every day between 3-5pm as part of the HB option which is great when coming back from a walk and you are hungry and can't wait for dinner!. The hotel has a spa and the massages and mud treatment are recommended! There is also a gym and an indoor swimming pool.

Overall I would rate the Hotel Monika extremely highly for its welcome and friendliness, helpfulness, food quality, quality of ameneties, location and value for money. We will definitely be going back.

Room Tip: If you have loads of walking gear like us it's worth paying a bit more for the suite or a bigger...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Monika_Sexten, Inhaber at Hotel Monika, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear guests, many thanks for your fantastic review. We are delighted to welcome guests who travel a long way to experience the Dolomites and our hotel. And we are obviously very happy when they leave satisfied and immediately think of coming again. Satisfied guests and regular guests are the basis of a successful hotel. And therefor, our team is engaged in offering a perfect service and creating an unforgettable holiday. To reach this goal, in the last years we whipped into shape the hardware and worked on the software, upgrading it constantly. For the next winter we also plan some building works and new services.
We would be glad, if you would not only recommend us on Tripadvisor, but also enthuse about your holiday with us in your professional and social environment. Social networks not only work online, and – as we all know – the opinion of a friend is much stronger than any advertising. We thank you for your support, and send you our best regards,
Your Egarter family and the Monika team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We stayed here for a couple of nights to meet up with some friends.

The rooms are very nice. Nice beds. The bathroom had a huge shower, two basins, with a rather odd strip of glass when if your kids are sharing a room they try and cover.

The communal rooms of the hotel are excellent, again very clean. The spa is lovely. The pool is a really decent size, and very recently refurbed. Breakfast was perhaps the best we had all holiday..and if you like tea there are about 25 to choose from.

The food was very good, if a little overwhelming.

The staff are very friendly and helpful, beware the recommendation of an easy five hour walk however!

Lots of walks and the scenery is stunning.

Downsides. The sunbeds at the front are right on the road, which feels a little odd with people tramping by the other side of the very thin hedge. The room was very hot so we slept with window open. However, the cars are all parked at the front of the hotel so if someone's car alarm goes off, that can be irritating. Also there was some river party the first night with music til 1am, so not really the relaxing stay we had planned.

I had tried to book direct with the hotel and never once got a response from the five emails I sent. In the end I booked with booking.com.

They wouldn't put our tables together in the restaurant with the other family we knew.

But overall very good, if a little pricey.

Room Tip: ONe at the back of the hotel, away from the car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Monika_Sexten, Inhaber at Hotel Monika, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Dear guest,
thank you very much for your review. We read that you didn’t get a response on your mails… it must be a technical problem, maybe the spam filter: we will check it immediately. Thank you for telling us. It is annoying for our guests, when they don’t get a response, and bad for us, if we do not receive all requests. Once a year nearby there is a Lake Festival – we are sorry that you felt bothered by it. On the other hand it is good that events are organized in town. We would be delighted to welcome you and your friends again with us.
Your Egarter family and the Monika team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

We stayed here for a few nights in June - the location is beautiful with mountains rising up in the valley behind.

The food was absolutely delicious! The restaurant staff was not only friendly but on top of every detail. The flow of the dinner was smooth.

The staff was incredibly helpful (we ended up with a flat tire on a Friday afternoon, the desk staff was able to call and find a place that was open on Saturday and was able to arrange an appointment to help us out since we don't speak Italian). They went above and beyond.

The rooms are beautiful, modern and huge!

The price is high, but the quality of everything was excellent. This has been one of our favorite places anywhere.

We will absolutely try go back to stay again!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Monika_Sexten, Inhaber at Hotel Monika, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
Dear guest,
many thanks for your review. We are delighted that you „loved“ our hotel. The quality of our service is of great importance for us, and we are pleased, you valued our efforts!!
We look forward to welcoming you soon.
Yours, the Egarter family and the Monika staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olomouc
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

We spent a week in Monika in early July. Everything was perfect. The hotel is situated in very peaceful area between Sesto and Moso. You can easily reach both cable cars (Monte Elmo and Croda Rossa) on foot.
Excellent family Tiroler hotel lies in an idyllic and quiet position between large meadows and the Sesto river. From the hotel Monika and most of the rooms you enjoy a view to the Fiscalina valley and at the top of Monte Elmo.
The rooms are tastefully designed, unusually spacious, fully equipped and spotlessly clean. The same is true for the swimming pool and sauna area, which are also beautifully designed.
All of the staff members are very friendly, while the young and charming hotel manager is extraordinarily helpful and eager to please.
The great surprise though was the dinner. We had booked half board. The dinner was a five or six course gourmet dinner of world class. Every course was inventive, fresh and just amazingly delicious.
The hotel offers additional services such as Shuttle Bus service, free parking, SPA, Spa Active gym, guided nordic walking tours and other special activities free of charge.
With the Three Peaks Card you may use all public buses, trains, and cable cars.
The ideal and quiet position of the Hotel Monika, very close to walking, hiking and cycling trails in summer, cable car to the Monte Elmo (just at a few minutes walk from the hotel Monika) .
Massive rock formations such as the Cima Nove, Dieci, Undici, Dodici and Uno, renown as the Sesto sun dial, await you! Above this unique mountain sun dial the Cima Tre Scarperi towers. The wonderful val Fiscalina leads up to the rock faces, and is a comfortable entrance to the Nature Park Sextener Dolomiten, the location for hikes and climbs in the Dolomites.The peaks and alpine plateaus can also be reached with cable cars. The Monte Baranci cable cars near San Candido, the Monte Elmo cable cars near Sesto , and the Croda Rossa cable cars near Moso. During our hikes we can not only enjoy the fantastic view, but also a tasty snack in one of the huts.
After a demanding mountain hike of relaxation in the swimming pool was the best reward. A nice swimming pool with an outside jacuzzi are close to sauna area.
Sesto is a paradise for people who look for relaxation and still wish to be active.
This hotel does not need advertising, it´s Top hotel !
We would like to thank Egarter family and the team of the Hotel Monika for a a relaxing and very delightful stay at our Hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Inhaber at Hotel Monika, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Dear guest,
thank you for your review and the detailed description of our hotel, our offers, and the surroundings and leisure time tips. We are extremely happy that you really enjoyed your mountain holidays here with us and that you felt well.
We wish you a beautiful summer and hope to welcome you soon again here with us.
Kind regards from Sesto
Yours, the Egarter family and the Monika team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indaiatuba, SP
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

The hotel is very charming... Out side is like a montain house, but inside is very modern! The restaurant is wonderful, the food is delicious! The view is beutiful and de service is polite and very attencious... I will be back!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Inhaber at Hotel Monika, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Dear Patricia,
thank you very much for your friendly review and the promise to come again to our hotel. We are looking forward to it. Meanwhile we send you our best regards. Thanks for your recommendation.
Yours, the Egarter family and the Monika staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

At the outside, Hotel Monika is one of the many hundreds Tiroler hotels in the area, white washed walls, timber balconies and wide roofs. The reception area and lounge are also quite conventional. The rooms, however, at least those I have seen, are tastefully designed, unusually spacious, fully equipped and spotlessly clean. The same is true for the swimming pool and sauna area, which are also beautifully designed. All of the staff members are very friendly, while the young and charming hotel manager is extraordinarily helpful and eager to please.
The great surprise though was the dinner. We had booked half board. The dinner was a five or six course gourmet dinner of world class. Every course was inventive, fresh and just amazingly delicious, while the sommelier helped us to select some of the best wines of Italy. Try the “Kaid”, a dark red, robust wine from Sicily, a delight and very reasonably priced. The next day, the feast was repeated, another superb five course dinner. When I checked out, I got a bill for Euro 115 per day plus the wines. I told the receptionist that he had inadvertently forgotten to charge breakfast and the dinners. He smiled and said that it was all included!! The bill was very cheap for just the room. So, we had these delicious dinners for free. To call that a bargain is an understatement. No surprise that the hotel was fully booked.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Inhaber at Hotel Monika, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
Dear guest,
many thanks for your extremely satisfied comment. We do our best to offer our guest the best value for money and are pleased to know that you appreciated it. Special services such as a free daily newspaper, a boat trip on the Prags lake and similar are a matter close to our heart just like a delicate cuisine. You gave our Hotel Monika the maximum points for cost-benefit, sleeping quality, rooms, cleanliness, and service, and for the position 5 out of 6. Sesto/Sexten is a small town with limited shopping and entertainment opportunities, however with lots of nature and a fascinating view on the Sesto Dolomites – ideal for relaxing, hiking, and simply enjoying. The towns of San Candido/Innichen and Dobbiaco/Toblach can be reached with a 10-15 minutes’ drive, the larger towns of Lienz and Brunico/Bruneck in 30-40 minutes. We thank you for your recommendation which will certainly help other guests to choose our hotel and look forward to welcoming you again soon to your hiking holiday with us.
Kind regards from Sesto/Sexten in South Tyrol
Your Egarter family and the Hotel Monika team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Monika? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monika

Address: Parkweg 2, 39030 Sesto, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > South Tyrol Province > Sesto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 hotels in Sesto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Monika 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Monika reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Monika, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.