We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lost in time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gaun Ghar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Gaun Ghar to your Saves list
Gaun Ghar
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bandipur, Bandipur, Nepal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bandipur
Dublin
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Lost in time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

Would highly recommend staying in bandipur, this hotel is right in the centre of bandipur. It's like the set of a film set, we spent 1 night there on the way from Pokora to chitwan. Rooms are basic and the doors are extreemly low so watch your head but this just adds to your stay. Dinner was by candle light as the power went out, food was excellent with a high attention to service. A must stop on a trip to Nepal.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    32
    8
    3
    4
See reviews for
6
34
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maarssen, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

We stayed in this nice hotel for 2 nights and had a great time! The hotel is in a traditional and authentic Newari style building, which is well renovated. Our heritage room had a fantastic view on the Annapurna range, which we enjoyed tremendously early morning from the bed!
The rooms are small, but nice and the bathrooms are good. The rooms are located in various parts of the building, accessible through stairs and corridors and the doors are low, so you have to mind your head all the time. Power cuts are quite normal, so when it gets dark you have to wear a torch (provided by the hotel) all the time.
Food is great and freshly prepared. Weather permitting you can enjoy your meals and breakfast on the small terrace, overlooking the valley and the mountains.
The service is perfect and we really enjoyed the hospitality of the manager, who is also an experienced naturalist and took us out for two great hikes.
Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathmandu, Nepal
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

We were totally looking forward to our stay in Bandipur, in a relaxed manner. We chose Gaun Ghar because of its location. However, we were sadly disappointed to note that we chose the wrong property. The hotel staff was uncordial. Further, our clothes were damaged by the black dyed furniture, and the hotel seemed uninterested in listening to our concerns, or even apologizing for the same. The dinner was very good, but breakfast was a let down. Overall, I do not think we would ever go back.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat, Oman
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2010

This small hotel is terraced with the Old Inn (see lonely planet) and shares the same features; terrace with a fabulous view and restored traditional building. The food is tasty and mostly picked from the garden below. The staff do their utmost to make you happy (even fulfilling our request for a foot massage after a hike - great [500R]) . Bandipur is pedestrianized so no vehicles. You can eat breakfast and watch sunrise on the street side. Ours was interrupted by the excitement of a wedding a few houses along! Downsides are that, as elsewhere, the electricity is intermittent and nights are cold in winter.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gaun Ghar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaun Ghar

Address: Bandipur, Bandipur, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Western Region > Gandaki Zone > Bandipur
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bandipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Gaun Ghar 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Gaun Ghar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gaun Ghar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.