We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious hotel with warm atmosphere and hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Savoy

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Savoy to your Saves list
Hotel Savoy
Str. Ciampinei 36, 39048 Selva di Val Gardena, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Maastricht, The Netherlands
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Luxurious hotel with warm atmosphere and hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2011

With my family (wife and two daughters) we spent a wonderful week skiing (March, 5-12) in the beautiful Dolomites while staying in this hotel. Although I visit a lot of hotels, this one is one of the best I have experienced. The atmosphere is warm and welcoming, the team is always kind and garantees a high standard of service. The interior is luxurious and the rooms are nice and elegant, breathing the typical combination of South Tirolean and Italian styles. One of the main qualities of the hotel though is its kitchen, that serves delicious and healthy dishes in an original combination of ingredients, creating exquisite flavour and taste. The hotel is well positioned in Selva and you can step on your skis from the door of the hotel. And at he end of the day it provides an excellent possibility to relax in the wellness area. The hotel is not cheap, but it is well worth every penny, and we certainly intend to go back there again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    18
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
23
67
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, TX
Top Contributor
237 reviews 237 reviews
154 hotel reviews
Reviews in 143 cities Reviews in 143 cities
1,730 helpful votes 1,730 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2011

I extensively researched a number of hotels in the Italian Dolomites for a ski trip before deciding on Hotel Savoy in Selva Gardena. Before booking our 6 days there, I specifically asked them if our requested dates were during Italian school vacation as we did not want to be around a bunch of noisy children. They immediately replied no and assured us that there would be no issues re children. So, we booked a room here for 440 euros/nt. (= $600/night) for 6 nights of halfboard.

Despite having expressed concern about loud children, we were given a room next door to the owner’s suite which housed him and his constantly wailing 2-month old as well as 4-5 other members of his family! The baby screamed at all hours (5pm, 7pm, 10pm, etc…). During one evening of particularly prolonged loud bawling, we called down to the Front Desk and the owner himself answered. I mentioned that the baby had been loudly crying for a while and would it be possible for the baby to be placed in a different part of his suite away from our adjacent wall. He curtly told me “No, the baby is not a machine.” I then asked if we could please switch rooms and was told no, that they were fully booked. So we had no choice but to endure the crying for the rest of our stay from our $600/night room. Nice!

To make it worse, badly behaved children could be seen and heard rolling around on the floor of the Hotel’s dining areas during mealtimes. It felt like we were vacationing in Romper Room! Also, despite asking on arrival about the presence of children at dinner time and being told that no children sit in the main Dining Room, our table for the week was next to a table with a 3 year old.

The chef tried to be inventive but I was not a fan of their sliced raw venison (ie. venison capaccio), parsnip soup, beet root ravioli or suckling pig terrine. It was also strange that they refused to let us have tap water at dinner. When we asked for it, we were told by the waiter that they “cannot sell tap water” and so therefore they “cannot serve it”. However, they were more than happy to sell us bottled water.

Hotel Savoy is technically a nice place with amenities commensurate with a 4 star hotel. But, if you are looking for a relaxing quiet spot, as well as for a place that puts guests first and does not aspire to be a raucous kindergarten, Hotel Savoy is definitely not for you. I really I wished that the Hotel Savoy could have been honest about the children issue so we could have gone with our other hotel choices in the Dolomite region (La Perla or Rosa Alpina) instead.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChritophV, Owner at Hotel Savoy, responded to this review, March 14, 2011
Dear guest

We are sorry that you did not enjoy your holiday with us here at the Hotel Savoy, and we have contacted you personally to express this, however we do feel that you have exaggerated your complaints.

We are disappointed that you feel you were misinformed about the dates of Italian holidays. We have checked back through the copious correspondence that we entered into before your arrival, and cannot find any reference, either yours or ours, to Italian holidays.

Be that as it may, your comments about the owner’s family do not appear in any way fair. On the occasion that you are referring to, the 2-month old baby cried for 2 minutes at 21.30 and then no more. His mother is extremely conscious of any noise he makes, and at the slightest noise will move him to the other end of the suite. We have had no complaints from the occupants of your room either before your arrival or since.

It may be that in America children are not considered important, however here in Italy the family is considered fundamental to the culture, and children are integral to this society.

To briefly address your points about our cuisine – it may be that our kitchen produces sophiticated dishes. As you will see from our other reviews, most guests appreciate this. They also produce an excellent steak and chips on request.

In America tap water is often provided free of charge in diners, and you will always get free coffee top-ups. In Italy we have a different culture. It is not customary to drink tap water with dinner and so, just like any other hotel in the region (eg La Perla, Rosa Alpina), we offer bottled water for our guests to purchase with their dinner.

We recommend that on your future travels in Italy you book a hotel where children are not allowed, although as we have already intimated, this will not be easy to find.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2011

The Savoy offers the highest quality in food and wine that i have ever experienced on a ski holiday,an absolute gem with ski in ski out via a lift from the ski room and the huge Dolomiti ski region to explore,and when you've finished skiing a relaxing spa area.The staff are extremely friendly as well,what more could you want !!!!!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2011

The Savoy Hotel is the perfect place to stay in Selva Val Gardena. We spent the last 2 weeks of January 2011 here and this hotel exceeded our expectations. The hotel is charming and comfortable. The location is ideal, in a quiet area a short walk from the village center. There is a ski trail and lift at the back door, truly ski in and ski out.
We had a beautiful room with a view of the spectacular Dolomite mountains. The room was spacious, tastefully decorated and spotlessly clean.
The food and service at the restaurant was first class, the wine list extensive.
Perhaps the best reason to stay at the Savoy is the staff. To a person they were always friendly, courteous and extremely helpful. We came to think of them as friends.
We thoroughly enjoy our stay, were sad to leave and would love to go back.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grosseto, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2011

Others who have commented on this hotel with extremely positive words , did not lie. Seldom do you find a combination of charm,luxury,friendliness,gourmet cuisine and wine,location and more this convincing. You will appreciate the lift to the slopes, true ski in ski out, while being 2 minutes away from the heart of the village.After a good day of skiing, you will enjoy a top of the line spa and inside out pool. Most nights, your dinner at the restaurant or your drinks at the bar are accompanied with live music ( harp and piano). This hotel is definitely for discriminating people.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2011

This hotel is excellent in all respects. The food is of the highest quality and is very varied - we stayed for 2 weeks and had a completely different menu every night. Our room was spacious and comfortable. The spa is also lovely - spottlessly clean with a large relaxing area as well as 2 different saunas and steam room. Location is very convenient for skiing with ability to ski in/ski out given lift from outside ski room directly onto the piste.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2011

This is the second time I and my wife stay at Hotel Savoy in Selva, Valgardena, and we can recommend the hotel to everyone. Hotel Savoy is a four star hotel but should really be classifed as a five star hotel. The whole hotel premises are of high quality and very good standards. The service is exceptionally good and atmosphere very friendly. The quality of the food is outstanding

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Savoy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Savoy

Address: Str. Ciampinei 36, 39048 Selva di Val Gardena, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > South Tyrol Province > Val Gardena > Selva di Val Gardena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Romantic Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
#55 Family Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Savoy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Savoy Val Gardena/Selva Di Val Gardena, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Savoy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.