We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, friendly and well run hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Tyrol

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Tyrol to your Saves list
Hotel Tyrol
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Str Puez 12, 39048 Selva di Val Gardena, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
West Sussex
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Excellent, friendly and well run hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

Just back from spending a week in Selva. This was my first visit both to Selva and to the Hotel Tyrol and a very happy experience it has been. The hotel is about 5 mins walk from the centre of the town but away from most of the traffic passing through. Both our rooms were extremely comfortable, one being in the main hotel and the other in the annexe, which was reached either by crossing the garden or by an underground passage past the swimming pool and sauna area. The rooms were kept spotless, to the extent that the bathroom was tidied up - i.e towels folded and put away by the maids while we were at dinner. The hotel also accommodated very efficiently my sister's request for food which did not contain onions or garlic. Here special thanks must go to our waiter Tomas who took great care each morning to go through the dinner menu explaining which dishes were or were not suitable. Thank you Tomas!! All in all a superb week - wonderful food and equally wonderful weather. I hope to return one day.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    13
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
40
37
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Devon
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

This was our 4th visit to this wonderful hotel. The staff are really friendly and helpful throughout the hotel which feels more like home with lots of lovely decorations and pictures, particularly in the public rooms. The food is lovely with a wide choice and a splendid breakfast buffet.
The Spa facility is very welcome after a day's walking with a lovely swimming pool, whirlpools and various saunas and steam rooms all included plus massage facilities as an extra.
The hotel is convenient to the centre of the village but is set in a quiet spot just a little up the hill. We will certainly return.

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely but views are restricted at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Excellent welcome by Reception staff and easy check in followed by offer of a drink of our choice. Lift to room 205 on first floor which was very clean with a large balcony. The space between the end of the bed and dressing table was a little cramped. However, it did not pose much of a problem. A bit on the dark side as the roof came out over the balcony and no sun could reach into the room. Very quiet as it was on the corner of the rear of the hotel and no-one was next to it there being storage cupboards alongside. Food was first class with 5 courses for dinner and served by very pleasant waiters whose English was not too bad. There were three evenings where the hotel offered pre-dinner aperitifs and canapés which were more than sufficient for an evening meal in themselves. The actual area was glorious and with a recent fall of snow - not known before at this time of year - the mountains looked superb. The town of Selva itself was very pleasant with a weekly market. Quite expensive shops but if you were on Bed and Breakfast a very good choice of restaurants to choose from.

Room Tip: Do not hesitate to ask to change rooms if there is anything you do not like as the owner is more tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I recently stayed here with family/friends for a week whilst skiing in Selva and the surrounding area. The hotel has everything you would expect from a top-quality alpine hotel (and I have stayed in a large number over the years!) - great spa, good location, lovely views, well maintained and comfortable bedrooms etc. All of this is done without fault. However, there are a couple of specific "highlights" I would like to mention.
1) Food - We eat out a lot. We have a wide experience of restaurants and fine dining. When eating half-board we expect good quality but did not anticipate the extrordinarily high standards at the Hotel Tyrol. The ingredients were of a fabulous quality and the chateaubriand was one of the best bits of beef I have ever had! Some in our group had particular dietary requirements/dislikes. This was never a problem and there was always a delicious range of alternatives available should the recommended menu not be to taste.
2) Service - I needed my skis servicing.... Not a problem... they sorted a local company to pick them up from the boot room and have them back with me for the following morning..... One of our party left their boots on the bus from the airpoirt...... Not a problem.... they contacted the bus company and the night porter went to the bus-stop in the village at 01:30 in the morning to collect them when the next bus was due to come through.
3) Generosity - Many hotels have a "gala dinner" and some include a free glass of wine or bubbly. Never have I been somewhere where they not only provide a great buffet of canapes and provide you with a glass of delicious prosecco, but they then continued to circulate with the bottle to keep everyone topped up. As a result, their takings on wine for the evening in the restaurant must have been significantly down - very generous. There were nibbles always on the bar. There are chocolates at reception. They gave one of our party (a 4 year old) a little toy dog as a present. A wonderful spirit of kindness and generosity.
4) Overall standards - Nothing is chipped. Nothing is worn. Nothing is flaky. Nothing is creased. The bathrooms are immaculate. Even the boot room ski lockers have "cutting edge" electronic locks that work from your room key-card. They clearly have an eye for detail and a zero-tolerance policy on anything less than the highest standards.
So..... overall - a lovely time. I could go on and on about various details - all good. This was our first visit but we will definitely be back... possibly even this summer!

Room Tip: We were on the third floor in the main hotel. Excellent. They have an annex next door to the main ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

My partner & I stayed at the Tyrol in February 2013, and really loved it. The facilities are superb - we loved the outdoor hot tub amidst the snow, and we used the free health spa every day. The food was fantastic, and they catered well for one of us being vegetarian, with a special meal being worked out each day. The room was comfortable and the bathroom spacious and had bath and separate shower. Best of all was the hotel's generous spirit, there were lots of freebies (chocolates, glass of champagne, extra buffets of starters, soups or desserts). The skiing is just excellent, and the Tyrol's ski room is very cool (in the right sense!), and there's lots to do for non-skiers too, my partner was out every day snow shoeing, walking, exploring nearby villages etc.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

Dinner started with a coctail party as it is their custom on Sundays. Although we were not residence of the hotel we were invited to join in the free canapies, sparking wine and othe drinks. Elaborate dinner served at the table by very friendly staff. Price at 40Euro was very low for the best meal we had in Italy on this trip, even better than the Michelin starred restaurant in Milan.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We were group of 8 friends spending 6 days of ski in Selva for the 5th time during last week. We enjoyed the atmosphere in the village and on the slops .
This was the first time that we stayed in hotel Tyrol. The location is good , not far from the center and close accesses to the slops.
The accommodation was good and the food and service at the restaurant was outstanding.
The service at the reception during check out and afterward was very bad experience for us.
We were group of 8 staying in 5 rooms , the charges for the rooms were mixed. It took us a while to settle the accounts for the rooms but then we realized that we will have to go and pay separately the ski school and ski services for their ski service and ski instructor that their services were taken from the hotel.
But that was not the end of our check out experience, unfortunately one of us forgot to pick up his passport from the reception. ( The reception ask for our passports during Check in and return it to all of us except for one)
We realized it when we were 250 kms away. We tried to find a solution and get some help from the Hotel but unfortunately even to call a taxi was a difficult task.
It took us tens of phone calls to get the reception to order a taxi for us to deliver the passport to an hotel reception at a nearby village.
A friend of us was going to pick up the passport and bring it to us.
After a lot of aggravation, we were able to get a taxi. Then we asked them to pay the taxi and charge our credit card. The amount was euro 90 , really small amount related to the cost of stay, they refused.
It was our good luck that the reception at the receiving hotel took the initiative and settle this for us.
It's unfortunate that enjoyable week was disturbed by this incident. We might been unlucky but we will not return to Hotel Tyrol.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Tyrol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tyrol

Address: Str Puez 12, 39048 Selva di Val Gardena, Italy
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > South Tyrol Province > Val Gardena > Selva di Val Gardena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
#12 Romantic Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
#16 Family Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Tyrol 4.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Comfortable and Modern Hotel in Selva di Gardena This splendid hotel in Selva di Gardena is a reflection of the experience and character of the Kaslatter family, which welcomes enthusiastic and satisfied holidaymakers with commendable professionalism and friendliness in summer and winter alike. An elegant and spacious atmosphere, prompt and discreet service, culinary treats, wellness & beauty, and spectacular nature hikes will turn a simple holiday into a unique and unforgettable experience—one that you’ll remember with nostalgia again and again in the years to come. The Tyrol Hotel in Selva di Gardena is the ideal choice for a holiday in the heart of the beautiful Dolomite Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Venere, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Tyrol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tyrol Val Gardena/Selva Di Val Gardena, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Tyrol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.