We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our second stay.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Oswald

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Oswald to your Saves list
Hotel Oswald
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Str Meisules 140, 39048 Selva di Val Gardena, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Skipton, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Our second stay.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

A big thank you to Maria Pia, Vincenzo and their great staff for another fantastic week at the Oswald, we will be back next year.The room was large with a balcony over looking the main square and our favourite bar

Room Tip: No chance, we want the good room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    42
    6
    4
    0
See reviews for
44
38
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Onsala, Sweden
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

From Sweden this was our 8th journey to Val Gardena area. The Hotel Oswald in Selva lived up to all good things said on its own web-site or by other persons rating and reviewing it. The rooms were excellent in size (42 m2), warmly furnished and had a separate bed room for us parents and had two balconies. All other facilities like the restaurant, the bar, the breakfast room, the spa and the ski-boot room was great and spacy. The food was great the whole week and the service excellent, especially when it comes to all the good Italian wine recommendations. The location was perfect and we could almost ski the whole way down to its entry. An unforgettable stays and highly recommend place to return to.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back side are quiter and more sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

This is the third time we have stayed in Selva, the first in the Oswald. Great experience, super food, great service, especially from la bella Siciliana Irena, could not fault it, good location, I would imaging the front rooms could be noisy in summer if you need to open the windows. Great boot room, ski down from the Ciampanio looks a bit dodgy, did not see anyone trying it, so you can go up Costa Bella and zip back from Nives along the town snow road which is easier. Really cannot recommend this hotel more highly and the professional staff (multilingual) were fantastic.

Room Tip: Front rooms might be noisy in summer
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
netanya, israel
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

This hotel, definitely one of the better in Selva, has an unrivaled size of rooms, a great plus when you are staying a week or longer in any place. Room number 419 (remmember the number!) was roughky 35 square meters with two lavatories and a bathroom..It is furnished nicley and comfortably. Safes and frifge are in every room. Spa area is large with all amenities.
Aside of the excellent facilities its location is not bad either, About 600 meters from the Ciampinoi ski lift, on Selva's main street,which you don't have to walk in the morning with all your ski gear as the hotel offers private shuttle to the two main ski lifts. Add to this very good restaurant with fine food and wine in the evenings, very attentive staff and you have a winning recipe for a very well run hotel.

The only caveat in the week we were there- due some technical problem there was no internet in the rooms. (charge of euro 5 for entire week). They should add Eurosport on their tv channels

as not being able to watch the Sochi olympics was somewhat of a disappointment.

Tip- the local supermarket is only 50 meters away on the opposite side of the road,

Room Tip: all rooms are spacious, however 219, 319 and 419 are particularly large
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Stayed at this hotel from the 1st to the 8th Feb 2014, we were a party of 6 (3 rooms of 2), all adults. Main reason for staying was to ski the surrounding area.

The hotel is everything the website tells you, the rooms were all spacious with lovely bathrooms (underfloor heated tiles are much appreciated after a hard days skiing!). The rooms were also absolutely pristine, and I mean sparkling. The cleaners are a credit to the hotel, or at least ours were.

The credits do not stop with the cleaning staff, all the staff are amazing, from reception, to bar, to restaurant, to the driver of the minibus taking us to the lift each day. Nothing seems too much trouble without the feeling that you are being mithered and that is a hard balance to strike but one that this hotel has got perfect. One example being the minibus driver who will take you up to the lift at anytime he just gets his half hour lunch break, we didn't realise when this was but he insisted on taking us when we showed up 1 minute before he was due to take his break. Or the reception staff that rang around all the bars to try to locate one that was showing the Manchester City game. Everyone working in the hotel was lovely.

The location is good, a 10 min walk from the main lift but as stated above there is a bus driver to take you up. You can ski pretty much down to the hotel or get the bus from the bottom of the slope (bus stops opposite the hotel). The hotel also provided us free bus passes, not sure if this is normal or part of our package. This was particularly good for the 2 in our party who didn't ski as they took the bus to the different neighbouring villages.

Food was perfect for a skiing trip with your evening dinner choice being taken at breakfast. This means you can relax in the evening and just let the courses keep coming! I much prefer this to the often mass produced buffet dinners in some hotels. There is also a salad buffet, including breads and cheeses, each evening so even the biggest appetites can be satisfied!

All in all I would return without a second thought or recommend to anyone and I think that speaks volumes.

Room Tip: The back of the hotel is quieter than the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Just back from a week at this hotel, and thoroughly enjoyed it. The hotel facilities are very good, and the staff are extremely welcoming and friendly. I'd return at the drop of a hat.

The hotel's location is very good - it's very central in the town, and the main ski bus stops are just outside. It's about 10 minutes walk to the nearest lift (the Ciampinoi gondola), but the hotel runs (free) a shuttle minibus service to the lift in the morning and the ski bus is fairly regular (and right outside). Getting back involves either skiing from the Ciampinoi gondola along a road the far side of the river, which had plenty of snow cover on our visit but I guess could get more difficult earlier or later in the season), or via the nursery slopes in town and then a short ski trail back to just across the road from the hotel. It's possible to get the ski bus back as well, but the bus gets very busy in the afternoon so is best avoided if you can.

The food was excellent. Our first night was a 6-course gala dinner, which was excellent. After that dinner mostly returned to 'just' 4 courses (or 5/6 if you include the salad buffet and cheeses that are laid out every evening), but the food remained very high quality. There were several choices most evenings, with the menu presented to you at breakfast so you could decide what you wanted for that evening. The hotel's wine list was also very good, being both extensive and better value than I'd been expecting - there was a very large selection of wines at around €20, and quite a lot of local options. The breakfast is also very nice, with a wide selection of cereals, bread, cheese and ham, and a couple of hot options. As with most big hotels I've stayed in in Italy, there were also a variety of cakes and a glass of prosecco if you wanted it.

The rooms are as you'd expect, spacious and with a very nice en suite bathroom. They were nice and warm, although temperature control was a bit tricky because you had to adjust the radiators (rather than having a thermostat for the room). Service throughout the hotel was excellent. The reception staff were friendly and always happy to help with enquiries (including providing me with a european plug adapter when I realised I'd forgotten mine). The waiting staff at breakfast and dinner were very friendly and efficient, and made everything run extremely smoothly.

The "Wellness centre" is good and has a few different things to occupy you, but it's relatively small so I imagine it could get quite busy (e.g. the whirlpool can hold 5-6 people, vs. the 100s in the hotel). During our visit this wasn't ever a problem, and it was rare to find more than 10 people in the wellness centre at any one time. The aroma steam bath and aroma showers were particularly enjoyable after a hard day on the slopes.

It's also worth mentioning the ski room, as the heated boot racks are the best I've come across - our boots were toasty-warm in the mornings when we came to put them on, even if we were going out very early (other places I've stayed have always been a bit tepid or started heating the boots too late). They also provide some tools for minor ski maintenance, although not anything big enough to adjust DIN settings unfortunately.

The downsides? Well the hotel's wifi has been mentioned in other reviews, and could definitely do with improving. It's annoying having to log in every time you want to use it (my phone rarely remained logged in for more than 10 minutes), and the signal in our room was very weak. The main bar is nice enough, but it's not exactly 'cosy' so the hotel feels a little like it's missing a 'lounge' area. Although having said that, the staff were very happy for you to sit there and read the papers without drinking anything.

Overall I was very impressed, and would love to go back.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

After a sussesful visit in 2012 I returned this year for more skiing. The hotel was as good as last year but a changbats batman seems to have made the bar less popular some nights our group of three were the only occupants. Otherwise the staff were as good as last year with excellent food. The overall ambiance of the hotel is good the wellness centre used everyday after sking is very good, the return run back from the slopes is not easy to find but is best from the nursery area this year the snow to the rear of the hotel wasn't suitable for that run back although it was snowing heavily when we left so should be ok now. Would recommend the hotel and area to anyone the scenery is fantastic and the area so large it is not able to be covered in one or two weeks

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Oswald? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Oswald

Address: Str Meisules 140, 39048 Selva di Val Gardena, Italy
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > South Tyrol Province > Val Gardena > Selva di Val Gardena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
#25 Family Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
#45 Romantic Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Oswald 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Venere, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Oswald reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Oswald Val Gardena/Selva Di Val Gardena, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Oswald, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.