We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Oswald

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Oswald to your Saves list
Hotel Oswald
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Str Meisules 140, 39048 Selva di Val Gardena, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Honolulu, Hawaii
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Highly recommended!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

This is one of our best Christmas holiday trips ever. Hotel Oswald provided excellent accommodation. Reception was friendly and warm as soon as you enter the lobby. We had a Junior suite which was beautiful, spacious and very clean. Hotel provided shuttle service to the ski area and also arranged a "ski safari" for those unfamiliar with the ski runs and want a local ski guide.

The breakfast buffet was generous, and the nightly dining experience was great. The staff provided great customer service - friendly and honest (I left my earring behind and staff mailed it to me in Hawaii!).

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    36
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
39
34
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lincolnshire, UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

This hotel is a must for skiers in selva. Lovely rooms, we booked late & got a junior suite!, superb central location, near main lifts, free shuttle bus to lifts, ski back 50 yards from hotel doors! (Snow permitting). Staff helpful, excellent bar, good food but several small typical Italian courses so dinner can last a while! Locked ski room for your gear but gets full if you are last off the slopes. Overall cannot really fault this place would definitely stay again. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Look for deals for a junior suite and rear facing rooms quieter with views of mountainside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
230 reviews 230 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed at the Oswald the last week in March. We were greeted by the very friendly receptionist and we found all staff to be the same. In particular Angelo our waiter in the restaurant.

Our rooms were lovely , traditionally furnished, at the front of the hotel with a balcony and were very spacious and immaculately clean. We did however find the rooms quite warm. Also tea/coffee facilities in the room would be nice. The hotel was also very quiet at night.

The dining room is lovely and also very comfortable. Smart/casual clothes fine. The waiters were really friendly and efficient. The food was excellent. We loved the pasta dishes. The Tyrolean evening was just a little disappointing. We really enjoyed the choice of food at breakfast too - with a glass of prosecco! , and the room is very comfortable. There is also a large bar area. The ski boot room was very good.

The buses go to two other places and you can buy a weekly pass for 7e.

We travelled with Inghams to Innsbruck. Transfer 1 hour 45 mins. We would also recommend the Hidden valley trip.

The hotel is in a great position - bus stops outside, supermarket and other shops, cafes, restaurants and bars nearby. The hotel offers a shuttle bus to the ski lifts. If you are not a skier you pay as you go on the gondola (no weekly pass).

We really enjoyed our stay and look forward to returning in the future.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We have just came back from a ski vacation in Val Gardena. The hotel was superb in every aspect. We had the Junior suites of Champinoi and Selva. Very big. Very convenient. Very clean.
The girls in the reception were extremely nice and helpful. The spa was nice, well maintained and relaxing. The food was great. No apre ski. The location - one of the best.

Room Tip: Junior suites are huge. The rooms on the north side have better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heusden-Zolder, Belgium
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed with 6 friends for a short-ski. Nice hotel. Friendly people. Good food. Hotel looks a little outdated but is maintained really good. Certainly a very friendly bartender playing a long a game with a 'poire light'.

Fantastic ski environment. No après-ski.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warsaw
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Looks 4 star from the outside but it is definitely a 2 star trying hard to be a 3 star The rooms and facilities are dated when we arrived we asked if it had a swimming pool and were told it had, The pool consisted o a small whirlpool that could accommodate 5 people!
The dining area looked more akin to a school dining room with absolutely no atmosphere and extremely bright lighting so never again

Room Tip: rooms to the rear are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteloswald, Manager at Hotel Oswald, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Sir/Madame,

Thank you for having taken the time to draft a review after your one night stay in the Hotel Oswald**** located in Selva Gardena. Please allow us to reply by clarifying which is the real situation.

Hotel Oswald**** meets all quality criteria, structural standards and operating requirements for the 4 stars classification established by the strict regional law.

All rooms including the suites, the reception, the lounge bar and the restaurant have been completely renovated 6 years ago in compliance with all the architectural rules and especially its historical and elegant style. The historical Hotel Oswald**** was build in 1896 and is part of the local history and represents the birth of the turism in Selva.

Hotel Oswald**** disposes of a nice and cozy wellness area with Finnish sauna, Turkish baths, Jacuzzi, experience showers, an infrared fitness-health cabin and a whirlpool but not of a swimming pool - at least at present. In fact, we are pleased to announce that a swimming pool is gooing to be planned.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in our Hotel Oswald****.

Maria Pia Delazer - The manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We have just returned from a fabulous week stay at The Oswald hotel for our Ski holiday.
There is nothing to fault here. First impressions were lovely.
The room we were allocated was huge! I think this was a family room, it was extremely spacious and very very clean. I cannot believe how clean it was. The bathroom was spotless as was the rest of the room.
The room was cleaned every day and fresh towels out out too, even though we are always happy to use towels more than one day.
They also do a turn down service in the evening.
The rooms are very quiet, you will not hear any noise from any of the other rooms so makes for a great noghts sleep.
Plenty of Wardrobe space, and a Safe to use during your stay at no charge.
Ski Room: There is a ski/boot room in the basement of the hotel. You can leave your skis here in the evening and ski boots on the heated boot pegs. On a morning you pop your boots on and then take the back exit of the hotel, head up the stairs to the front of the hotel and wait for the ski shuttle.
Ski Shuttle: The courtesy shuttle bus runs from 8.30am in the morning and will take you up the road to 2 possible ski lifts. The main Gondola in Selva is the Ciampinoi and the other is the 4 man chairlift, Casso Bella, if you prefer to head over to the other side of the Sella Ronda. The shuttle bus does not run in the afternoon so we purchased the local Ski Bus Tick at 7euro for the week which runs frequently and you can just jump on and off. We used this in the evening too after Apres! You can also walk back to the hotel as the lifts are only 400-500 metres from the hotel.. It's just harder work to walk in ski boots… !
Breakfast: There is plenty of choice here for everyone. Every possible bread,meat and cheese to choose from and eggs every which way you want. Cereals, fresh fruit, yoghurts. Breakfast is also served up until 11am for those needing a sleep in!
Dinner: Truly fantastic food here, the quality and quantity is fabulous. 5 Course Dinner every evening. You usually make your choices during Breakfast when they will bring you the evening menu to make your choice. There is a Gala Dinner (6 Course!) once a week and we also had a Tyrolean evening too. The wine list is extensive and the service from the waiters is great. Special mention to Christian, Guiglemo and Christian who were our main waiters, they were great. The chandeliers in the dining room are stunning, and makes a really lovely setting.

There is also a Wellness Centre at the hotel however we didn’t get chance to use it but the smell of aromatics when walking to the ski room was lovely. I wish we had had time to use the spa as I really could do with a massage after week on skis!

I can honestly say that there is nothing to fault with this hotel, if you like your food and quality of hotels you can't go wrong here.
I would love to return and would definitely recommend.

*Only one thing which would be nice is to have Free wifi access..

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Oswald? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Oswald

Address: Str Meisules 140, 39048 Selva di Val Gardena, Italy
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > South Tyrol Province > Val Gardena > Selva di Val Gardena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
#23 Family Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
#36 Romantic Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Oswald 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Venere, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Oswald reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Oswald Val Gardena/Selva Di Val Gardena, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Oswald, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.