We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for ski-ing convenience” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Continental

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Continental to your Saves list
Hotel Continental
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Str Dantercepies 40, 39048 Selva di Val Gardena, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Bristol
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Good for ski-ing convenience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

As other reviewers have stated, very well placed for access to the Dolomiti ski area and nursery slopes. However, this comes at a price! It's a punishing stiff 15mins up-hill walk from the town. We were also surprised to find that it's in the shade for most of the day, due to being by the side of a hill. If, like us, you like to sit in the sun after a hard day's ski-ing, this is not possible. There is no sun terrace, and even half of the front facing room balconies are in the shade in the after-noon.
We paid extra for a suite, and had a Tower one. Very spacious, lovely large new bathroom, spotlessly clean. Large balcony, which never saw a speck of sun and was not used. Great to have a small empty fridge. You can ask the hotel to fill it like a mini-bar, but we went down to the nearest supermarket and filled it with our own drinks.
The food was ok, but not exceptional. The self-serve breakfast buffet even meant hot drinks. I have never stayed in a 4 star hotel before where fresh tea or coffee wasn't brought to your table. The only hot food offered were boiled eggs and a scrambled eggs, left sitting in a warming tray. Both were luke warm and not very appetising.
Dinner was 4 courses, always the salad buffet, changed a bit, but very samey, choice of 3 pasta dishes, a soup, and choice of 3 mains, always a vegetarian or fish dish on offer. Pork and veal featured heavily. Most dishes were pleasant, but not memorable.
The wine list was good, many local wines, reasonably priced, as were all drinks.
The staff were very helpful and pleasant.
Overall, enjoyed our stay, but have been to better 4 star hotels in european ski resorts.

Room Tip: Definitely a room at front of hotel, facing the valley and town, and on the outer side, not the hill...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chrislin08, Manager at Hotel Continental, responded to this review, March 20, 2012
Dear RufusZach,

Thank you very much for spending your holidays at our hotel last week.

The ideal location being a few steps from the Sella Ronda and on the nursery slopes pays the tribute that till the mid of February we are in shadow. For those loving the sun in their room, we are able to offer that, apart from the summer months, only in March and April.

At your arrival we informed you, which was also written in your welcome booklet, that there is an alternative to the 15 minutes up-hill walk: from Selva centre up to the hotel there is, during daytime, a bus running approximately every 40 minutes. The 7days ticket at 7.00 euro allows you to use all buses within the Val Gardena valley (Selva-Ortisei back and forth plus Selva – Continental up and down).

Our breakfast buffet offers also hot drinks, introduced on suggestion of regular guests, but still our waiters do table service on those preferring that. The waiters are also pleased to take your order for sunny side up - eggs, omelettes or anything else you might like to eat during your breakfast. We regret you did not take that opportunity.

We wish you a successful ongoing year and would be pleased to welcome you again here at our house in a future occasion.

Yours sincerely,

Christian Linder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    25
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
36
55
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

We've been, my family, a group of friends and I, at the Continental Hotel which proved to be a very pleasant experience. In addition to the facilities that are very comfortable and offer an excellent spa, the atmosphere was very friendly due to the attitude of the Linder family to meet the expectations of its guests, which is reflected in the behavior of the whole team. Furthermore, the location is exceptional and offers a true ski in and ski out experience. We cannot wait to return!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novi Sad, Serbia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

The hotel is very well situated, quite close to the Dantercepies gondola.Brilliant choice of gourmet food, comfortable rooms, vast variety of leisure time activities. The staff is most kind and more than helpful. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who seeks exceptional comfort and service.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with balcony toward Selva
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

Stayed over half term with 2 adults and 2 children (12 and 8). Had interconnecting rooms which were excellent. Clean, comfortable and spacious.

Thought the food was great and the staff and kitchen accommodating - easy to 'order off' menu or make changes to the advertised fare for the more fussy eaters. Sufficient choice on the buffet to ensure different options every evening. Although that piece can be repetative, it is only one part of what is a 5 course event.

Its location for skiing is excellent - there is a need to cross, what is by UK standards, a very small road to get onto the nursery slope and then ski down to the lifts. This is no more than a 20 second walk from the hotel's ski store. If you want to start by going up to the Dantercepies gondola, then it's a bit longer walk up hill.

If you have kids and don't want to go into town for the apres ski every evening then it's great, but if you do the 10/15 minute walk back up the hill from town to the hotel may put you off. There also seemed to be other hotels around with swimming pools, which this doesn't have, but we were happy with the pool table, Wii, table tennis etc.

The spa is great fun, and as far as I could see, no one observed the 'no clothes' rule, so that's also good!!!

As other reviews have mentioned, the owners are very friendly and efficient. We left some items in the room and they returned them. There was never mention of the need to refund the postage (although we did!).

Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: If travelling with a family get one of the interconnecting room - i think they call them'family...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

The rooms are very comfortable and the staff extremely friendly but their chef is letting them and Italian cuisine down. Buffet bar at dinner is sad and repetitive too. Otherwise everything else very professional.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chrislin08, Manager at Hotel Continental, responded to this review, March 20, 2012
Dear Pinkapallinz,

Thank you very much for spending your holidays at our hotel together with stegold123 and others. We regret you did not give us the opportunity to chat with you about our kitchen, the Italian cuisine in general and your idea about it. Our chief as well as our entire staff would have been more than pleased to prove you their ability and competence, if you would have told us your wishes and expectations.

We are also working on the fact you did not noticed that the salad bar offered every evening at least three different cold appetizers, which changed entirely every day, as well as over 18 different kinds of salads and vegetables.

We are really sorry you did not have a fully enjoyable stay at our hotel and would be pleased to welcome you again here in Selva, sure you will like our cuisine by then.

Yours sincerely,

Christian Linder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012 via mobile

Position is good even if you have to cross te road for the ski slopes.
Rooms are very clean and spacious and some with very good view.
Bar is honest not really a cocktails mecca.
Restaurant offer is disappointing. Choice is good enough yet the quality didn't keep up with position and rooms.
If you are a fan of a minibar in your room... You should ask expressly for that service.
People are friendly enough.
There are nearby places that can beat this offer.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chrislin08, Manager at Hotel Continental, responded to this review, March 20, 2012
Dear Stegold123,

First of all thank you very much for having spent a holiday at our hotel together with pinkapallinz and others. We are really sorry, and, to be honest, also surprised, our kitchen impressed you so negatively. Our chief and his staff are part of our team for over 10 years now and, as many other reviews on this site attest, to our and our guests full satisfaction. However, something must have gone wrong during your stay and we apologize for it and assure that we will improve the quality control on our meals.

Since four years now the fridges in our rooms are at full disposal of our guests; this as a result of many requests of our guests to fill it with their own stuff. In an attempt of offering an additional service to our customers we renounced the minibar - business moving it on a request base. And still in the present winter this service is more than appreciated by our guests, currently there are 2% of our guests asking for the minibar to be filled up.

Thank you again and wish you a successful ongoing year,
Yours sincerely,

Christian Linder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

Excellent service from all the staff who tries very hard to please you. Rooms are spacious and nicely decorated and the food is good.
We booked the hotel for a week of ski . A couple of our group had to cancell a day before arrival. Although the deposit was non refundable the hotel as a good will refunded 20% of the deposit. The hotel is considered ski in ski out however you need to walk about 100 m to the ski lift.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Continental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continental

Address: Str Dantercepies 40, 39048 Selva di Val Gardena, Italy
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > South Tyrol Province > Val Gardena > Selva di Val Gardena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa
Hotel Style:
#7 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
#13 Luxury Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
#22 Romantic Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
#27 Spa Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
#39 Family Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Continental 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely refurbished in 2007, especially with new rooms and cosy junior suites with great views over Selva and the beautiful Dolomites. Ideal position for winter as well as summer holiday. Ski in + ski out on the Sellaronda in winter, in summer starting point of many wander walks in the natural park Puez - Odle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Continental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Continental Val Gardena/Selva Di Val Gardena, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Continental, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.