We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food, rest not so much” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Antares

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Antares to your Saves list
Hotel Antares
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Str Meisules 195, 39048 Selva di Val Gardena, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Randolph, NJ
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Excellent food, rest not so much”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2011

The best part of hotel Antares is the food. Their restaurant is outstanding. I was there with a group of skiiers. Our breakfasts and dinners were included and they were more than worth the money. Just the offerings at the self-serve appetizer bar would have been be sufficient for a decent dinner. But this course was followed by a pasta, meat/fish course and desert. Selection of these courses changed daily and there were more than enough choices for each. Presentation was ellegant as well. I would have liked to have some plain water included in the meal, but it had to be ordered by bottle for extra cost (as it is typical for Europe, I won't hold it against them).
I would not recommend this hotel as a base for skiing though, unless you are young, strong and ski expert trails. It does not provide shuttle to the lifts and does not have easy access to easier trails. Walk to a gondola is the shortest but trails from the top of that lift were challenging, especially in icy conditions we had.
Most of the staff are friendly, but not all of them are helpful. On one occassion I was not feeling well and my room was being cleaned so I rested on a couch in the lobby. Within a minute a receptionist came by and without asking what was wrong said "your bed is in your room madam".
Rooms are clean and nicely decorated, but lack functionality. There is ample shelf space, but not a single drawer. Bathrobes are provided but there are no hooks in the bathroom to hang them. The only trash can is in the bathroom.
Internet is only available in the lobby and it costs quite a bit. That's a major drawback for me.
The pool is nice, but (as pointed out in other reviews) the silly and outdated cap requirement is enforced. Jacuzzi is just a tub in the health center, it is available by reservation only and it costs 10 Euros. Not skiier friendly arrangement.

If I go back to Selva, I will find a hotel with a lift shuttle and eat at Antares.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    72
    19
    7
    0
See reviews for
73
32
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rome
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2011

We found the Antares quite disappoining.
Position is good, central and just a short walk from the slopes but in Selva many other hotels are directly on the slopes and far more comfortable.
The hotel is a little dated, big, without the charming, intimate and nice atmosphere of mountain hotels. On Christmas holidays it was also very crowded and full of families and kids.
Staff was not very helpful and professional and food was not as we expected.
On New Year's eve they had music (piano bar) and a kids entertainer. Kids were having fun but it's abosutley not to reccomend for couples.
We belive that 4 stars have been given only for the SPA.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2010

very nice staff, beautiful and very clean rooms, good food, nice restaurant.
very good food for breakfast and dinner, especially antipasta at the latter.
the only thing that i wish was better, the ski room is a bit far down a coridor, so you'll carry your skis a bit more.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2010

We arrived at Hotel Antares in half term week and expected it to be really busy. Our rooms were perfect for a family with young children. The receptionists couldn't ahve been more helpful and went out of their way on one occasion to provide exceptional service bringing in phone chargers from their home. (We had left our charger at home!) The food was scrumptious for adults, slightly limited for young children but my kids lived on pasta and parm cheese and the cooks were quite happy to cook that for them. The waiters were so friendly especially Federico who made our holiday chatting to the kids.
We skied with Ski 2000 who were fantastic.. Tip ask for their bus service to the slopes as it was full and we were too late. Don't try adn walk with young kids to the meeting point although it is not far it will be the best 10 euros spent getting a cab up that hill...
Don't forget your caps for the pool.. We had no problems with that their rules so comply funny seeing people get uppty about it...
Would highly recommend and would definately go back...
Thank you Hotel Antares for a fab week Ali Ian Tom and Cam

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork Ireland
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2008

We had 2 apartments booked with the Antares, a 4 bedroom & 7 bedroom. Basicly the 4 bedroom was a double bedroom & 2 single beds in sitting room, the 7 bedroom was 2 x double bedroom (1 ensuite), 2 pull outs in sitting room & 1 single in gallery upstairs. Accommodation was spotless, the only problem was the room in the 7 bed apartment was very cramped. Location was brilliant, 100 metres from main lift station, a few steps to the "goalies" pub. The residence also has a indoor pool which was brilliant and again very clean. They was a good variety of restaurants for eating out at night and I must recommend the "campioni" (think that is spelling) at the end of the village and l'fundle in St. Christina. Ski-ing was very good but unfortunately we picked a bad week as it was mid term in Eire, UK, Italy and a few Austrian counties, so queing for the lifts was a nightmare. Overall would recommend both the Dolomites & Residence Antares.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — the
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2008

The entrance is a bit disappointing - bit tired looking. Staff are efficient but not very friendly - very matter of fact. - and don't speak very good English. Food was okay but certainly not as good as cheaper hotels we have stayed in in Italy. Rooms were good size but not particularly authentic - more like a Travel Inn. 5 minute walk to the main gondola or 10 mins to the nursery slopes. Boot room wasn't heated. Leisure facilities were disappointing. Pool was small and hotel dictates that you must wear a swimming hat! Steam and sauna rooms were in the basement - not particularly inviting. Felt like they had some spare room in the basement and they just put them in. Not somewhere you would really want to relax. Bar prices are expensive and the bar shuts at midnight - you can't even sit in the bar and finish your drinks. (However, the bar man was very good). The only reason I think the hotel gets 4 star is because it has a swimming pool, steam and sauna facilities.

Skiing in Selva was great, not particularly challenging though. The reds would be classified as blues in any other resort. Doing the Sella Ronda circuit is recommended. Anti-clockwise, there are more lifts and less skiing and it wasn't as well signposted as clockwise where there is more skiing and more enjoyable. Stopping for 2 breaks of half hour the whole circuit took 4 hours.

  • Liked — skiing
  • Disliked — unfriendly attitude
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Antares? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Antares

Address: Str Meisules 195, 39048 Selva di Val Gardena, Italy
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > South Tyrol Province > Val Gardena > Selva di Val Gardena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
#25 Family Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
#37 Romantic Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Antares 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence-hotel Antares is centrally located on the main street in Selva Gardena and within walking distance (200m) from the lifts of the Dolomiti Superski and Sellaronda ski carousel.Antares offers accommodation in a 4 stars hotel or a 3 stars residence and it also has 2 little dependances with more home-like apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Venere, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Antares reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Antares Val Gardena/Selva Di Val Gardena, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Antares, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.