We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"just perfect"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Portillo Dolomites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Portillo Dolomites to your Saves list
Hotel Portillo Dolomites
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Str. Meisules 65, I-39048 Selva di Val Gardena, Italy (Formerly Hotel Chalet Portillo)   |  
Hotel amenities
Praha
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“"just perfect"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011

I just returned together with my wife and kids from a week holiday in Chalet Hotel Portillo. This is a great place to stay! The hotel is run and owned by the family Senoner, who founded the hotel in 1965. The family Senoner is one of the kindest hotel operators I ever met. The family has an eye for detail and they are sincerely interested in their quest. Also the rest of the hotel staff is very friendly and professional. The restaurant in the hotel has a very nice ambiance, is spacious and is very nicely designed. The very modern wine cabinet, with large glass doors give the place an extra touch. The food was really excellent. Every evening was a big treat. Also the breakfast was top quality. In the afternoon when we returned from our skiing we had tea and some drinks in the hotel bar, it was always served with some nice snack. Also in the corridor towards the spa and swimming pool you will find a basket with fresh apples and mandarins. The hotel has next to the bar a nice lobby with a fire place and a reading room. The spa and the large swimming pool are beautiful and brand new and top class. As the hotel only has about 30 rooms it’s never really busy, even in the peak hours between skinning and dinner. In the basement there is also a nice area with a table tennis and football table. We stayed in the very large superior rooms, which has a separate toilet and bathroom, something you usually only find in a 5 star hotel. Also the quality of the beds was perfect. The hotel is about a 10 minute walk toward the centre of Selva and the Champinoi skilift. In the morning the hotel shuttle bus takes you to the Champinoi ski lift or the area were the ski lessons starts next to the Dantercepies ski lift. But what is really nice, is that you can ski back to the hotel via a easy ski path that brings you just in front of the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    42
    3
    1
    3
See reviews for
59
75
10
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011

What a find! We stayed at Hotel Chalet Portillo as a group of six in March of this year. The hotel is family run and the staff were delightful and really helpful. The dining experience was just first rate and each night we looked forward to gastronomic delights! The spa and pool facility really is worthy of a 5* establishment. We could not find fault with any part of our one week stay here - in fact we enjoyed it so much we will be booking again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

this is an excellent hotel, with the nicest staff. we enjoyed every moment take the breakfast it is wonderful (dont forget to order in advance a seat to the view), located near town center we walked to the center from the hotel and back, this is a very high level hotel, spacious rooms, warm staff. we had the suite so that was a real indulgence.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2011

This is a wonderful friendly family hotel, near the main town area with a fantastic pool/spa facility and great dining in an immaculate new dinning area. I cannot believe some of the comments on this web site - dont believe the rubbish othrs put down about this hotel. Beds are great and service is A1! Keep up the good work all of the Senoner family and your excellent staff. We will be back next year with all of our group of 9 people who all have the same view as me. From Steve D (Hitchin) UK

Room Tip: dont forget your swim gear
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2011

Agree fully with one of the previous (German) reviewers. It feels mostly like a 3 star hotel aiming beyond its reach because you can charge more for a 4 star place. An exception is the large wellness area. Food was disappointing, with quantity winning over quality. I think the owners are taking themselves too seriously when the focus should be on the guest (the owner won a ski world championship some 45 years ago, and the whole hotel is full of his medals, photos, certificates, trophies... Not something I want to be paying extra for). Have stayed in much better hotels in South Tyrol for the same price.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2011

We spent a fantastic week in Selva and stayed in Hotel Chalet Portillo. This friendly family run hotel is really nice. Excellent food in the newly refurbished log style restaurant and a very friendly staff made this week something special.
The SPA area is also first class.
We will return to this charming hotel !

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Portillo Dolomites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Portillo Dolomites

Address: Str. Meisules 65, I-39048 Selva di Val Gardena, Italy (Formerly Hotel Chalet Portillo)
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > South Tyrol Province > Val Gardena > Selva di Val Gardena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
#7 Spa Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
#8 Family Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
#16 Romantic Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Portillo Dolomites 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Portillo Dolomites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chalet Portillo Hotel
Hotel Portillo Dolomites Val Gardena/Selva Di Val Gardena, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Portillo Dolomites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.