We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sun Valley

Save Saved
You added Hotel Sun Valley to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Sun Valley
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Str Dantercepies 7, 39048 Selva di Val Gardena, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
“Good Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Just got back from my second visit to The Sun valley Hotel. I travel a lot and I know it can be difficult for hotels to maintain their standards. Sun Valley does!!! The Hotel is next to the Selva Ronda. A beautiful ski area with great facilities. Sun Valley and her great team knows how to create a fantastic atmosphere. Fabio as the hotel host gives you this comfortable feeling, as if you are at home. At the same time the standard in the hotel is high. Great meals!! My whole family gained weight although we went skiing every day. Thanks guys for giving us this wonderful week!! There is one small remark. No free WIFI in the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    244
    25
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
93
114
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Our family of five have just returned from a wonderful week in this gorgeous hotel. The family atmosphere was obvious from the start, together with a very warm welcome and highly professional staff throughout. The family suite (two rooms inter-connected) was incredibly spacious. However the food was simply superb and worthy of a five star hotel. The restaurant was very flexible with children and accommodated their requirements. We were beautifully looked after during the week by Fabio and Caroline who were so friendly and professional at the same time. The location is very good for the slopes and to walk to the nearby shops.

My only two small issues are; the dinner is served from 1930 and I noticed that my six year old was one of the youngest guests. She was sensible enough to rest beforehand and so had a wonderful week. However, if you have toddlers, it may be best to save up and treat them when they are older. It WILL be worth the wait!!! There was also a bit of night time noise from the street/hotel disco.

Overall we were more than happy with this hotel and are already planning to return!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myggenas, Sweden
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed 10 nights at Sun Valley in February 2013 and we loved the hotel. We experienced a staff with a very friendly attitude that looked after their guests with a high service in mind. The staff did everything they could in order to make the best for our holiday. We appreciated especially the "easy going" and informal style as well as the relaxing atmosphere that the hotel possessed. Also the chats with the staff and their sense of humour were positive things. A laugh was never far away. :-)
The hotel offered very good food so every dinner became an experience and something you looked forward to during the day when you were out skiing in the beautiful surroundings.
The restaurant and bararea was cosy and at breakfast, you always found a small newsletter at your table, telling small stories about Val Gardena or about the hotel. We appreciated these small stories.
The wellness center was designed and equipped in a nice way, and laying at a warm waterbed just in front of the panorama windows, watching the mountains was great. We utilised the saunas and pools every afternoon when returning back from skiing, which was very relaxing.
The cleaning was perfect, both in our room as well as in other hotel areas. We had a comfort room that was spacious.
The only thing that disturbed us a bit during the stay, was the noise from people leaving the disco (located at the bottom of the hotel) late at night. Our sleep was interrupted during the night due to this.
The "winestreet" that connected the two hotel buildings carried a lot of photos from Mr Hans Nogler´s ski career, as well as other information that was interesting to read. You could still feel the soul of Mr Nogler in the hotel, so it seems that Sun Valley is nursing the memory of Mr Nogler with respect and warmth.
We want to thank the staff - you are all great personalities and we left your hotel with a smile and with the feeling that we will come back!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bjarred, Sweden
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Very nice hotel. 5 star service and food. Also excellent selection of regional top class wines. Very good location. Rooms and spa very good as well. Spa very nice and not crowded. Reception staff could reach 5 star class as well if they provide a bit more welcom info at check in.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

3 Lads travelling for 'boys' trip skiing and we eventully selected this location - Selva - and Sun Valley for our base. The town of Selva is well located on for good skiing base being 2 hours from Verona where we flew into. Hired a car as it was cheaper then using a local taxi operator. Note - also request snow chains when hiring in Italy as they are not supplied as standard unlike Switzerland. The hotel is located pretty close to all the main ski lifts from the town. the rooms are pretty spacious and we had a family suite which was comfortable for 3 or 4. The aspect of the room was Ok as we only had views of the back of the hotel and the road to the side, but many rooms have good views of the mountains. But it certainly doesn't have the best views in the area, on the other hand the hotel is very pleasent with an excellent wellness centre and very pleasent helpful staff. The food is excellent with a very competent chef providing a 4/5 course dinner every evening with great choice and something for everyone. No problem if you make a reasonable special request either. The variations are great and all are very well presented and well seasoned. Its a big plus for the hotel. We had a very helpful witer - Dimitiri, for whom nothing was a problem. The somelia - Sandro was equally helpful as were the team on the front desk and the girls in the restaurant. There is a pleasent atmosphere in the hotel and it is generally well located for access to the facilities of the town.

Yes I would recomend it for a retun visit.

Room Tip: If available rooms with a view of the mountains are best. Also check out the rooms over the wellness...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

My husband and I spent a week at this hotel - the kind of place that it is very difficult to find in a ski resort.

Location:Great for novice skiers as it is opposite one ski school with free shuttle to the nursery slopes and for the more experienced skiers as it is a 5 min walk to one of the main ski lifts that access the Sella Ronda circuit.

Rooms: We stayed in the cheapest room (room 112) on the 4th floor. The room was spacious albeit with low ceiling areas, comfortable bed and a lot of storage. The bathroom had basic features, some cracked tiles around the bathtub, basic toiletries which are not refilled. We found remains of toothpaste inside one of the drawers underneath the sink. Sleep quality is good - one can hear the faint noise of a boiler late at night and early in the morning.

Common parts: tastefully decorated, just a few hunting trophies. Nice bar at the entrance offering various drinks and appetizers pre-dinner. Restaurant area offering view of the slopes with a separate area for families!

Spa: Good size plunge pool, nice jaccuzzi, etc but best of all is the panoramic view of the slopes!

Breakfast: great choice of breads, hams, etc. Only disappointment is the lack of fresh juice and limited amount of fresh fruit.

Dinner: great choice of menu (often 3-4 options), some of the dishes of Michelin star quality! Well priced wine list with many local wines on offer.

Service: friendly and professional. They accommodated a couple of friends

Overall: it could easily be a 5 star hotel but then it would probably be much more expensive than it is!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona, Italy
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We spent the weekend at the Sun Valley hotel for my birthday. The hotel is in a great position for ski hire and skiing and the hotel itself felt very luxurious. Our comfort room was very spacious and everything looked brand new and spotless. The staff were friendly and attentive and the atmosphere welcoming.
The swimming pool is stunning and the spa facilities could not be better.
The food was beautifully prepared..only the vegetarian option , a plate of cheeses, could have been improved on, maybe with by an omelette or soufflé. We look forward to returning as soon as we can.
Th skiing in the Val Gardena and surrounding valleys is the best we have found anywhere so far.

Room Tip: We had a comfort room which was wonderful and would be fine also for a couple with a child
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Sun Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sun Valley

Address: Str Dantercepies 7, 39048 Selva di Val Gardena, Italy
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > South Tyrol Province > Val Gardena > Selva di Val Gardena
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
#3 Spa Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
#3 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
#4 Romantic Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sun Valley 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Sun Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sun Valley Val Gardena/Selva Di Val Gardena, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sun Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.