We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel spoilt by unprofessional admin staff” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Mare Hotel Savona

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Mare Hotel Savona to your Saves list
Mare Hotel Savona
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Nizza 41, 17100 Savona, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Click for details
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Savona
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great hotel spoilt by unprofessional admin staff”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

Big tip, double check the quoted prices. We were not told that during the winter the weekday price is 20 euros more than the weekend price we were quoted. Strange for a beach hotel, but nevertheless we would have adjusted our stay if this had been made clear to us as we had booked 3 rooms. Unfortunately due to the officious marionette of a recptionist, our stay was completely spoiled. After a lovely lunch for which we happily paid over 200 euros, we were reduced to being derided and embarrassed by the small dark receptionist's draconian interpretation that the price we were quoted on arrival was not for our whole of our stay and that we were completely in the wrong and 'cheap' for questioning the bill. No apologies on their side at all. We felt cheated and unhappy and would not recommend this hotel or return

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marehotel, Proprietario at Mare Hotel Savona, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear debbieg5,
allow me to do a briefly recap: You booked your stay on Booking.com and the price that was given you by the website was an average of the prices of different days. We do have different prices on a daily base and especially the weekends are usually (but not always ) lower the mid-week days. The quotes we do are shown both on Online Travel Agencies and on our website. When a room is booked on the phone we usually tell the average price per night and in case of an extension of the stay we inform our guests with the per night quote. Because you wanted to change a little bit your trip and spend one of the nights elsewhere you decided to cancel your reservation on Booking.com and reserve your room directly, onto different days. We kept the same quote as booking.com for the second stay (so the same average per day quote) and a lower price on the first (as it was in the week end).
After the first night of your stay you told us that you didn’t know if you were keeping you room for the following nights because you might wanted to change your plans. Few hours later you called to inform us that you were keeping your room. When you came back to the hotel you asked for a later check out which we agreed to offer you for free (usually we charge half day rate).
During your check out we made the bill for the exact same price was quoted you on Booking.com and on your direct reservation. Then something happened. You stated that a lady at the reception(but not Miss Roberta) told you when you checked in that you were lucky that the first day the price was slightly lower.
True fact the price was lower on the first stay and the same was on the first night of the second stay, but on last day the price was higher. Even so the average price of the second stay was exactly the same price booking.com gave you and that we quoted you at the beginning.
You strongly asked Roberta to do the same lower price onto all the nights of your stay, otherwise you would’ve been unhappy and would a written a bad report on reviews websites such as TripAdvisor. Roberta wasn’t allowed to do so and called the Front Office Manager on the phone to try sort out the matter. The manager agreed to give you another discount on the last night of your stay (half of the difference between the lower and the higher prices), considering it as an apology for the misunderstanding. Still you said you were unhappy and would’ve written bad reports even if the hotel was very nice and your stay was good.
Our staff tried to make your stay pleasant, trying to satisfy all your requests (such as open the beauty centre on the weekly closing day) so we are deeply saddened by what happened. We try not to create misunderstandings and that’s why we invested precious resources on the new website and booking platform (more clear than before) and on communication training courses for our contact staff. And most of the reviews on tripadvisor tell us that we are going in the right direction. Every day more travellers are happy about our hotel (and restaurants) and state that our staff is helpful, polite and friendly always available to make their stay pleasant and enjoyable. We try to make everyone happy, where possible. We are sorry that you were not one of them, and you can be sure that if you’ll give us another chance, we will again try our best to make your holidays remarkable.

Pervinca Tiranini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    174
    41
    8
    5
See reviews for
97
142
9
69
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna, Canada
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Great location in Savona. Easy to find and right on the water. Make sure to get an ocean view room on the upper floors and leave your door open. Great restaurant in the hotel. Rooms are not special, but fine for a short stay.

Room Tip: Ocean view, upper floors
See more room tips
Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marehotel, Proprietario at Mare Hotel Savona, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Robert C,
thanks for the kind words and suggestions for other travellers. We hope to have you soon as our Guest, you will be more than surprised by our recently renewed “President Luxe” rooms, with seaview balcony, design furniture, and blue led lighting system…The emotion of the sea directly in your room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Colorado
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

After a long drive to get to Savona, my husband and I were so excited to get to the hotel. When we arrived we were greeted with an incredibly loud party at the hotel that did not shut down until 2am (a Wed. night). Our room had an ocean view which we loved, but the noise was not fantastic. Fortunately, this party was only for one night. The staff at Mare Hotel was very nice and helpful with directions/recommendations. The private beach was wonderful as well as the breakfast that we had each morning. Many readers/reviewers have written about the Mare Hotel's sushi and we didn't try it - wish that we did! Rooms were ok, but felt they could have been cleaned a little better along with the hallways. The hotel is a bit far from the center of Savona and the warf - an area you definitely should see. We would consider staying at the Mare Hotel again because of their beach, however owe it to ourselves to check out other hotels in that same price range.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marehotel, Proprietario at Mare Hotel Savona, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Dear Brenda A,
thanks for your comment and above all for your useful suggestions: we pride ourselves on being always “in progress”, and Guests’ feedbacks such as yours help us in keeping on our path. You arrived at our Hotel during our popular Wednesday night party, a summertime weekly event that gathers people all the way from Genoa, Turin, and Milan areas. Next time we wait for you in one of our renewed “Luxe” rooms (check out our website for up-to-date availability and prices)…and don’t forget to book – and taste – for one night at our “Sushi Beach” restaurant!

Pervinca Tiranini
Owner - Mare Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012 via mobile

This hotel has it all, and at the top of the list are the beach and the sushi bar!!
The hotel is located right on the beach, so ask for a sea view room then you can sleep with the balcony door open to the sound of the waves, it's beautiful :)
And you have to try the sushi! They use local freasly caught fish and it's some of the best I've ever eaten.
The pool is great too and the people are so friendly and helpful. Lovely :)

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marehotel, Direttore at Mare Hotel Savona, responded to this review, August 12, 2012
Dear Nahsta,
thank you so much for your kind comments, as well as for the insights and advices for other TripAdvisor users. We always try our best to make our Guests happy, and your words inspire us in keeping up the effort.
On behalf of our Hotel staff and “Sushi Beach” restaurant, we look forward to see you in the very near future!

Pervinca Tiranini
Director - Mare Hotel Savona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veenendaal, The Netherlands
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Hotel was very nice with about 70 rooms. Rooms can be better cleaned. We had a seaview room (rooms at the street side are quite noisy). Directly pool & sea view in a renovated room on the 1st floor. Nice, comfortable room. Great shower!
Service at the hotel is very friendly. Snackbar for lunch & dinner and a good restaurant.
Chair at the beach free of charge which is also close to the pool.
Beach & poolboys very friendly and helpfull. And seriously whatching the people swimming in the pool and sea
With children who love swimming it's great (no diving and funboards in the pool).

- To us Savona was not very exciting (go by car). Better to drive to Spotorno or Finale Ligure.
Savona is a ferry city for ferries to Sardinia & Corsica. Also lot of big cruiseships to see at sea.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marehotel, Proprietario at Mare Hotel Savona, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Dear GRecter,
Thank you very much for your feedback. We're happy to know that you had a pleasant staying and that you enjoyed our hotel.
Hope to see you very soon.

Pervinca Tiranini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

I arrive at midnight after a long drive and my first impression was the outside of the hotel and the parking place (below the hotel).
Font view and parking : To be honest i was a bit disappointed as it does not look as a 4 star hotel moreover the painting was going off the walls (parking place) and the elevator( the one that takes you to the lobby) light was blinking.
Front desk: Anyway the front desk crew was helpful and nice as it should be. When we arrive at the room it was great, all the first bad impressions were suddenly gone :) .
Room : The room was clean with a great view to the ocean. Air condition OK and the overall modern design fantastic. I love the Jacuzzi behind the bed and the the led lights made huge difference.
Location : a bit far away from the city center but for people who loves walking it just takes like 30 - 40 minutes , but buses are also available.
Breakfast and meals: breakfast was ok and the lunch was served outside part of a mini kitchen . For Dinner you have 2 options which both were excellent (can be a bit expensive depending from where you come from).
Beach :clean and not crowded , so pretty ok. Could be improved by having somebody to serve at the place.
I fully recommend the hotel and the dinner restaurants. .

Room Tip: get the superior room with the ocean view :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marehotel, Proprietario at Mare Hotel Savona, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Dear Jacobo88,

thanks for the positive feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. We will soon have a deep refurbishing of the hall to make it more like our rooms, so that our guest will know since they enter our hotel the quality of the staying they are going to have.
We hope to see you very soon.

Regards.

Pervinca Tiranini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
1 review
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

I am a foreigner who lived in Torino. Going to the seaside from Torino, you find Hotel Mare just West of Savona at the exit of A6 with the big advantage that you avoid the traffic on the coastal highway. This was the reason to come here the 1st time. Since then I have returned every free weekend. Hotel Mare offers amazing perfection. After all my stays, I still discover new aspects, which leave me totally impressed about the quality and the class, which the owners (in 3 generations) and their friendly, funny and good looking team puts in the daily execution. The beach club is in perfect harmony with the always tidy and perfectly managed sand beach. For food you can choose 3 restaurants: theSpurcacciun-a overlooking the sea is high end gourmet, the beach club serves daily changing Ligurian specialities and the Shushi Beach offers worldclass Sushi (try new style gambero del golfo roll). The 2 later restaurants benefit of the top class fresh seafood at prices below normal for this popular area. For lovers of ships, there is always something to see: the beach is surrounded by historic and new industrial area, which does not harm the cleaniness of water or ambiance, but just gives the place an additional charm by contrast. Unusual for Liguria, you can do long beach walks. The rooms are very modern and have view on the splendid sea or on the nice hills. I have brought people here from Germany, US, Denmark, Austria and even Italians - all shared my fascination and want to come back and they envy me for the frequency of my visits. The hotel is open all year and as enjoyable in winter, which speaks for the passion behind the operation. Forget all other high class places in Luguria, you won't find better class AND value.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marehotel, Proprietario at Mare Hotel Savona, responded to this review, June 21, 2012
Dear Henriette,

Thank you so much for the nice feedback you have posted here. It is nice to know that our guests enjoy so much our hotel and the services we provide. Often happens to hear new guests telling that they've heard about us from their friends who have been in our hotel and enjoyed the stay and the food we serve in our restaurants.
That makes us feel proud of the work we (owners and staff) are doing.
Hope to see you soon either alone or with your friends.

Pervinca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mare Hotel Savona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mare Hotel Savona

Address: Via Nizza 41, 17100 Savona, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Savona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Savona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mare Hotel Savona 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marehotel boasts an unrivalled location right at the seaside, with a spacious and fully-equipped private beach in addition to a delightful area for al fresco dining overlooking the sea.Recently renovated, the 5-floor Mare Hotel has 66 rooms that face either the Gulf of Savona (southeast side) or the inland hills.Five different types of rooms are available: Superior, President Luxe, President, Confort Luxe, Confort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Mare Hotel Savona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mare Hotel Savona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.