We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Culinary Tour of Italy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento to your Saves list
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Crawford, 85, 80067 Sant'Agnello, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free room upgrade
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Sant'Agnello
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Culinary Tour of Italy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

I design Culinary Tours for customers of my gourmet kitchen store and this was an excellent hotel on my itinerary. The view was fantastic as well as the location, staff, and meals. The entire facility was very clean. Being a Canadian, I had to go swimming in the large, refreshing outdoor pool. I would definitely stay at this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

864 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    607
    203
    37
    13
    4
See reviews for
187
446
16
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Riverdale, NY
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Hotel Mediterraneo in Sorrento is lovely and the staff could not be more helpful. Anything we needed was accommodated and the service was professional. We enjoyed the bartender who went by the name "Nobody" and insisted that "Nobody will take care of you". Our favorite staff was Francesco who responded to every question and request with a smile, He made us feel welcome and at ease. The Hotel is beautiful. The town is beautiful. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haugesund, Norway
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

A very nice hotel with a lovely garden and a friendly staff, but too much noise from rooms next to you. This has nothing to do with people living next to you, the problem is with the rooms itself.
But overall, it was great value for the location and time of year.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagley, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

The hotel was very clean, and the decor was of high quality. All the staff were impeccably dressed in uniform and very polite, on many occasions we asked the reception for advice on transport options and on every occasion we were given what I can only explain as “first rate” advice. The amenities of the hotel from the buffet breakfast, swimming pool and free wifi all were excellent and even though it was near the end of their season the attention to detail was very good. The hotel is in walking distance of the main town of Sorrento which we did on a number of occasions, although we did use the free shuttle bus on a number of occasions just to speed things up. I would recommend the hotel and would have no hesitation of returning in the future.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

I stayed here in June. It's a good location for sightseeing in the area (which we did a lot of), but only if you use the hotel bus which drops you into Sorrento and picks up again. It doesn't run quite as frequently as we'd have liked though.

The reception area and bar look fantastic online. Very modern. Everything else was a little tired in comparison. Our room was clean and comfortable though, so we were happy.

We only had breakfast at the hotel - amazing views from the top floor restaurant. The food was pretty average. Standard continental breakfast hotel fare with all the hot stuff quietly sweating in big vats.

It was great value for the location and time of year.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

This is a hotel that takes customer service seriously. My email query about leaving bags for a few days was answered promptly by Aniello and he was more than willing to help.
When we finally arrived to check in, we were welcomed by Aniello with a smile and the bags we had left were in our room. At even the hint of a problem, the staff stepped in to address the issue above and beyond expectations.
The recent renovations have created a beautiful hotel, inside and out. The white bar is a good example of what can be done with simple modern furnishings, just ask Nobody (bartender with a sense of humour - ask him at happy hour)
It was nice to relax by the pool, watch out for the special lounge chairs, they can be tricky.
Our upgraded room was large and overlooked the water and a relatively quiet square across the quiet street.
For those needing to stay in touch, the wifi was fast and pervasive everywhere.
The hotel was located just outside of Sorrento but the hotel offered a fairly regular free shuttle to down town (stops near the main train and bus station) or you could walk in about 30 minutes.
We could not have asked for more and only wish we could have stayed longer. Thank you Aniello and his excellent staff. We can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: NOT top floor if you want a balcony, but you should ask for high on the front overlooking the water...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We stayed here in early July. We had 2 rooms on the 4th Floor (400& 402) but I am not convinced that it was actually worth paying more for a sea view (there was no balcony) and the view over the garden was nice. The room was not very large but the bed was comfortable, the air conditioning worked and it was extremely clean. The shower was on the small side and the pressure was not great. The self-service breakfast was okay with a selection of cold meats, cheese fruit, yoghurts pastries and cakes and there were some hot options bacon scrambled egg etc. but that didn’t look very appetising. The hotel offers a shuttle service into Sorrento and it was a 10-minute walk to the station for a trip to Pompeii. The pool area was well maintained and the pizzas in the aqua bar at lunchtime were very good. It is a nice hotel and we had a pleasant few days but nothing to rave about.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMediterraneo, Direttore vendite at Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you for staiyng at Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento and for sharing your opinion on tripadvisor. We are happy to hear your stay has been pleasant. at the same time we would likt to apologize if something has been under your expectations. Sometimes it happens.
I am anyway glad to announce you that one of the big issues which our guests pointed us has been solved. In 2014 you will find almost in each hotel room new and larger showers!
We do care about our guests opinions!


thank you
best regards
Pietro Monti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento

Address: Viale Crawford, 85, 80067 Sant'Agnello, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sant'Agnello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#4 Family Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sant'Agnello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento sits on a cliff overlooking the sea of Sorrento bay about one kilometer from the city center. It is an easy walk but you can also take our free shuttle. The breathtaking sea view and friendly, personable staff make it the perfect place to spend your vacation on the Sorrentine Peninsula in a 4-star hotel. The Mediterraneo has a pool surrounded by palm and orange trees, a private beach, parking and a free wi-fi connection. Get ready for an unforgettable experience that is surprisingly affordable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Venere, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento Italy/Province Of Naples

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.