We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A niceplace to live-Domus” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Porto Salvo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Porto Salvo to your Saves list
Porto Salvo
Nuovo Rione Cappuccini,11, 80065 Sant'Agnello, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 20 Sant'Agnello B&B and Inns
Bronxville, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A niceplace to live-Domus”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

I would say that this residence located in St. Agnello on the Sorrentine Peninsula, is a little gem of a bargain.

Quietly nestled next to Sorrento, and overlooking the Bay of Naples, with Vesuvius in the distance, Sant’Agnello is a nice surprise. The town is small and one can drive right through it, but don’t. It has a nice Artisan Center and some pretty good restaurants. Along the road facing the sea, there are also very expensive and elegant hotels frequented by British nationals. The area is also known as the Neapolitan Riviera.

Domus Porto Salvo was originally a convent, and there is a church on it’s backside: Sollievo nelle Sofferenze. The rooms are large, and ours had a spectacular view of the sea, from a huge bathroom. This in itself was surprising, as I find most bathrooms in Italy to be quite small. Also, the private bathroom was separate from the room, locked with a quaint skeleton key, we had to jiggle. There were other fine views from the quiet niches in the ample hallways. There is a sense of tranquility here. Views from our room faced the gardens.

The dining room which served a complimentary breakfast every day, was pretty, and well appointed. The staff was the nicest . . . very obliging, and. . .free internet service ! Another nice surprise: private gated parking, at no extra cost. You can bike or even walk to Sorrento, If you are visiting the Amalfi Coast, or plan to got to Pompeii or Capri, and don’t want to spend a fortune on a hotel, Domus Porto Salvo can be your base of operations. From Sorrento you can take a tour bus to the Amalfi Coast, catch a ferry to Capri, and hop on the Circumvesuviana to Pompeii. If you have your own car, even better. ( About $65.00 US a night) Our room had a big full size bed and a twin size bed, not the greatest mattresses, but adequate..

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    115
    51
    40
    30
See reviews for
38
169
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2011

Porto Salvo is a great little B&B one stop before Sorrento on the train line. The staff speaks English and helped my with my Italian. The entire staff was friendly and very helpful. Porto Salvo is great location if you want to do day trips to Amalfi Coast or Pompeii for the day.
They also have a great breakfast and offer wonderful dinners the evening you just want to stay in. They also have internet.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

My family loved it and we hope to be back soon.
The breakfast is more diverse than any that we had in Europe, staff attitude was very friendly and helpful (including the Sri Lanka guys).
Close transportation to every attraction on the Sorrento peninsula and Amalfi coast (Vesuvio, Amalfi, Capri etc)

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011

Excellent bed and breakfast. Both myself and my friend enjoyed our stay here. Would definitely return

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

we arrived in the evening and they were very friendly, room was lovely as was bathroom! breakfast was great too! very good price for sorrento and close to a bus which would take you into sorrento! free wifi and internet access to! bit of a small mission from either train station but there is the option of a taxi! lovely place

Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2011

The breakfast was great! The staff were usually very kind and helpful, except on the last morning there was no staff member on reception when we needed to check out. The rooms were clean but small. And if sharing a bathroom, there is often a bit of a wait. It's in a beautiful location and building.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Porto Salvo in Sant'Agnello for 7 nights. It was our first visit to the south of Rome and we wanted to see Sorrento, the Amalfi Coast, Pompeii, and Capri. We chose this hotel based on TripAdvisor reviews.
After experiencing this place ourselves, I think I can understand both the positive and negative reviews; much depends on your expectations and values (duh!). So I will try to present our observations as objectively as I can.
First, we felt Sant'Agnello was an excellent decision rather than staying inside Sorrento, because we prefer quiet, out-of-the-way places and enjoy walking (a lot) every day. We walked at least one-way, and generally both ways, into Sorrento every day. There are two roads to choose from; both are narrow with narrow-to-non-existent sidewalks; one has substantially heavier traffic and is a longer walk (Corso Italia). Not a lazy, relaxing stroll if you had small children with you, and many folks would find it a bit nerve-wracking, but we got used to it very quickly. One morning, with tight timing to the ferry, we took the 7:39 bus from the Hotel Mediterraneo down the street (buy the tickets at the Hotel Med's desk), which took us right down to the Marina Piccola in Sorrento.
Restaurants we enjoyed in SA included the Moonlight and Da Peppino's.
The Porto Salvo staff were always very helpful to us, including getting us info on guided drives and cooking schools (their's was closed temporarily), which we ended up not doing actually. The staff seemed to all be quite young, and we never learned who actually owns the place, but they were never rude or indifferent to our questions or needs.
The breakfast was indeed very simple by American standards, but with cheese and ham for making a sandwich, and filled croissants and a couple different kinds of bread, plus yogurt and fruit, it was quite adequate. Our main disappointment each morning was the coffee; a large urn was provided, so you could have an American-style cup, but to us it tasted like it contained chicory or some other coffee substitute or grain; kind of odd. We would have loved to have real Italian espresso or capuccino each morning.
We were not disturbed by excess noise within the hotel, such as doors closing or hallway noise; however a couple of nights the hooting and commotion of partiers somewhere nearby in the neighborhood did intrude on our sleep; nothing that earplugs couldn't take care of.
The room was small but comfortable, and we had no complaints about the bed. We noted a stain on a blanket/bedspread. We received fresh towels when we requested them. Some bath towels were thicker than others; all were waffle-pattern and not the bulky, super-absorbent type you may wish for, but they did the job. The shower stall was very small and its doorway would be a tight squeeze for someone of large girth; we happen to be medium-size people and had no problem. The shower drain was quite slow, so indeed the water pooled during your shower, but never spilled over. One could help that problem by turning the water on and off as needed during soaping, etc. I would recommend the cleaning staff check and clean shower drains more frequently! Liquid soap dispensers were provided, which was helpful as it eliminated the need for bar soap.
The common area was rarely used as a "bar" while we were there; it was generally very quiet. No, the printer did not work for us either, and one of their computers had intermittent problems connecting to the network. The free wi-fi was great, but worked only in the common areas, not inside the room. The outdoor sitting area was very nice, and my wife spent a couple of afternoons reading there, getting the sun. But it is a courtyard of a former monastery, not originally a resort, so no big expanse of green lawn or chairs set out with umbrellas. Just a quiet, partially shaded retreat from the outside world.
Would we return? A strong maybe; hard to say until one has learned more about other hotels in the area. But we would definitely choose the town again, rather than staying in Sorrento proper.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Porto Salvo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Salvo

Address: Nuovo Rione Cappuccini,11, 80065 Sant'Agnello, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sant'Agnello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Sant'Agnello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Porto Salvo is a budget bed and breakfast situated in an old abbey of the Capuchin Monks dating back to the sixteenth century located in Sant'Agnello di Sorrento, overlooking the beautiful sea of the Bay of Naples. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Venere, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz, HostelBookers and HostelWorld so you can book your Porto Salvo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Salvo Hotel Sant`Agnello
Porto Salvo Italy/Province Of Naples

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Porto Salvo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.