We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem on the Naples Bay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Corallo

Save Saved
You added Hotel Corallo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Corallo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nuovo Rione Cappuccini, 12, 80065 Sant'Agnello, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Free room upgrade
Ranked #4 of 18 hotels in Sant'Agnello
Stockholm
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Gem on the Naples Bay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Situated rd 2 miles East of Central Sorrento, with an excellent view over the Bay of Naples this hotel offers an excellent alternative to the pricier inner Sorrento hotels (the hotel is still not particulariyly cheap). Calmer but more off, excellent if you have a car at your disposal (own parking), public beach 50 m away to enjoy. Hotel run by a family but staff more professional than friendly. Breakfast was ample by Italian standards, served in the most enjoyable surroundings and with a spectacular view on the outdoor terrace

Room excellent, newly refurbished and with both style and function. Beds superb.

Surroundings fairly calm but one busy street to the East, still double glass windows keeps streetnoice at a minimum.

A memorable and enjoyable experience

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    371
    98
    17
    10
    9
See reviews for
97
270
10
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edgewater, Maryland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

Let me start by saying this is a great hotel - very clean and well maintained, friendly staff and spectacular views. My only knock is it's location relative to Piazza Tasso (town center) and the train/bus station. It is a 20 - 25 minute walk or a 20 - 25 euro taxi fare. City bus service is unrelieable at best.

Sorrento is a great town to base yourself and explore the other beautiful towns on the Amalfi coast - so location is important if this is your plan.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I spent 4 nights at the Hotel Corallo during first week of September, 2012.
It was beautiful! Everything I had envisioned from reviewing their website and photos.
I selected this hotel for the location and views of the Mediterranean. It is built right on the cliffs above the sea. No swimming pool but easy access via elevator/stone walking path to the public beach below the cliffs. I stayed in room 562 and paid $326.00 USD per night. A bedroom suite with Queen bed (2 small terraces with table/chairs off each side of the main bedroom), Italian furnishings complete with 2-3 foot candlesticks (candles provided), built in room armoire, fully tiled bathroom complete with double sinks, jetted tub/shower with large window looking out over the sea below and a large separate sitting/sunroom with sofa, chairs, tables and mini fridge/bar. However, the best part of this room was the LARGE terrace off the sitting room!!! 2 chaise lounges, chairs and tables with amazing 360 degree views of mountains above, streets below, coastal views (great at night!) and total views out to the Mediterranean sea. Amazing sunsets from this terrace...the sun drops like a ball of fire into the sea. The Historical Hotel in Saint Agnello Sorrento is about a 15 minute walk to the main marina and shopping/eating district. I was traveling alone and felt very safe on the streets day or night. My room safe was not working. Though I did ensure all monies/valuables by taking these to the 24 X 7 front desk/hotel safe. Nice continental breakfast was included every morning in the indoor/outdoor terrace dining room. The Hotel will arrange any excursions desired including pick up from Naples airport; approx ~$100.00 USD. I did have hotel arrange a day trip to Pompeii and Vesuvius...a great day! When in the main town/shopping district I highly recommend eating at the Fudoro Bar off the main plaza. Great food, wine, people watching.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vila Nova de Gaia, Portugal
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We stayed at the this hotel on our honeymoon, on August of 2012. The view is amazing, you just can't get any better, all the common spaces and exterior spaces are great, because you are on this powerfull cliff with nothing ahead. We went to Sorrento, Positano and Capri, but still the best view was at the hotel. Also, the bedrooms had a balcony over the sea, where you can have breakfast or chill out. Everything was perfect, except for the bedroom itself and the bathroom (room 124), because both are very old fashioned and wared out, it really needs an urgent makeover. When we arrived (at night) we were VERY disappointed with the bedroom, because it didn't matched the pics on the site at all. We even looked for the site again to see if it was our mistake, but no...there isn't a single pic in the site with a room like the one we had....very old. In the morning tough, we decided that the amazing view was worth the sacrifice. If i ever go back to Sorrento i'll stay at the Corallo again for sure, but this time i'll make sure i'm renting a room like the ones they advertise.

Room Tip: Make sure you are renting a room like the ones they have on their site, otherwise you can end up wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We had our wedding reception here and stayed a few days before. View is amazing as it the food. The rooms are nice and clean with lovely big showers, breakfast has a really good selection and you can sit on the terrace with a view of the gulf of Naples. The staff and service are what make the stay and set this hotel apart from others of the same star rating.
Sant Agnello is a great place with lots of reasonably priced restaurants without having to go into Sorrento - but you can walk within 20 mins which is probably best as the buses aren't that regular.
Would definitely come back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We have just returned from 7 days stay at this hotel and had to put up with 6 days when they had wedding receptions. In normal hotels this is not a problem as they are contained in a separate function room and as such it does not impact on paying hotel guests, this is not the case at this hotel.

There is only one main communal receiption area and there is only one restaurant so if you stay at this hotel wedding receptions will impact on you as a paying guest!

We were on half board so ate at the restaurant some of the time but only at times that suited the management normally after they had sorted out the wedding recepitions! On one occassion the manager told me to go away and and come back later when he was ready (nice customer care), this was after 20:30 and the restuarant should have been available from 19:00 hours. We were made to feel second class and not like full paying guests which we were. The evening food was okay but nothing special. The breakfast was a very basic continental thing which was hit and miss as to whether it was refreshed or not.

With the exception of senior management the staff at this hotel are really nice, helpful, frendly people, so I apologise to them for my comments but future paying guests need to know what to expect.

The room whilst smaller than you would expect for a 4 star was nice (we were in 451) king size double (very comfy), good quality bedding, nice sea view which we paid for, flat screen tv but only Italian channels (but what would you expect in Italy). Nice bathroom large double shower with power shower, toilet, bidet, washhand basin, towels changed regular.

There is no pool and the terrace areas are not accessable for sun bathing but there is a Lido 5 minutes walk from the hotel which you get a discount for (2 euro per-person per-day).

This hotel in my opion is not suitable for paying guests with young children.

The hotel is generally situated in an area which is good for exploring. 15 minutes easy walk into the center (nice and flat). 5 minutes from Sant Agnello station (circumversuviana) from which you can get to Herculaneum (40mins), Vesuvius (40mins) and pompeii (30mins). There are a number of good local restaurants and then there is the center of Sorrento which is only 15 minutes walk.

In summary the hotel concentrates on providing wedding receptions which they appear to be very good at, they have a lot of short stay paying guests (1, 2, 3 day) but this appears to be the norm for the whole of the area. The room was okay but nothing special.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

If you are offered this room, refuse or move to another hotel. Your view is of the bath mats and waiters jackets having been washed. Nice hotel if you get the ocean view room, breakfast was average and free wi-fi in the foyer. You can't beat the view, but do not accept room 343!!!!!!!

Room Tip: DO NOT STAY In room 343, it is disgusting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Corallo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Corallo

Address: Nuovo Rione Cappuccini, 12, 80065 Sant'Agnello, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sant'Agnello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sant'Agnello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Corallo 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Corallo is situated on the cliff above the sea, to the end of the coast of Sant'Agnello, full of Orange and Lemons trees, on the top of Marina of Sant Agnello, at few minutes walking from the centre, with on front the whole Neapolitan bay.The main Sorrento square "Piazza Tasso" is at few minutes, or by taxi but it is pleasant a lovely walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Escapio, Tingo, Venere, Otel and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel Corallo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corallo Hotel Sant Agnello
Hotel Corallo Italy/Province Of Naples

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Corallo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.