We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most fantastic location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Corallo Sorrento

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Corallo Sorrento to your Saves list
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nuovo Rione Cappuccini, 12, 80065 Sant'Agnello, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free room upgrade
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Sant'Agnello
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ross On Wye
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Most fantastic location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed here for a week in August and love the hotel. The location and the views from the bedrooms (if you pay for a sea view) are truly breathtaking. We had half board and always eat outside on the terrace (for dinner and breakfast). Watching the sun set over the bay was memorable and makes this hotel a very nice place to spend a relaxing holiday. The food was good rather than outstanding - not a massive choice at breakfast and desserts at dinner there was no choice, just what was brought to you or fruit. The only slight drawback was there was no pool - you are very near the beach, but that is 10 Euros a day each, so factor this in if you like to swim! All in all we thoroughly enjoyed staying here and would recommend it. The attentive restaurant staff and spotlessly clean bedrooms, which were service twice a day are worthy of special mention.

Room Tip: It is worth paying the extra for a sea view / balcony - it's what marks this hotel out
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    441
    115
    18
    10
    9
See reviews for
109
330
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

We stayed at the Corallo in August 2012, the hotel has spectacular views, the food was excellent with a good selection to choose from. The staff were helpful and friendly from the time we arrived and for the duration. The hotel accommodation is spotless the rooms are cleaned twice daily! The only down side is the lack of a swimming pool although we were told that they were having one built at some point this being the case this hotel would be a 5 star in our opinion. The sun terraces and views from the balconies are second to none, there is a beach just below but it does work out expensive to use it on a daily basis so we only used it the once instead we chose to use the Hotel Mediterraneo's pool again we had to pay but we preferred using the pool. Don't be put off by the walk into Sorrento or the other nearby towns such as Pianno de Sorrento. Sorrento is very busy whereas Sant Agenllo is tranquil by comparison. We would go back tomorrow!!!! Thank you to all the staff at the Corallo for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony and view overlooking the bay. Some rooms like ours still had an amazi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Hotel Corallo is a lovely hotel in Sant'Agnello, which really is just a 20 min walk into the heart of Sorrento. Don't believe the neysayers who moan about what is just a gentle stroll into the main heart of Sorrento - in fact I'd argue this is better location for that very reason - you escape the tourist hoardes and feel closer to an Italian community in this quiet suburb. There are plenty of amenities nearby with lots of local restaurants that offer better value cuisine and friendlier service.

The hotel itself is modern, clean, friendly and a popular choice for weddings because of their spectacular terrace overlooking the Bay of Naples. Make sure you opt for a balcony room on a higher floor if you can get one, as it's worth the upgrade. There can be no better view in the whole of Italy, than sipping wine as you watch the warm amber sun disappear into the blue sea.

The rooms are a good proportion (ours had plenty of light as was dual-aspect) and the bathrooms equipped very well. If you opt for the continental breakfast be sure to reserve a table in the morning on the terrace - there's also a supplementary menu if you fancy some poached eggs or good old bacon instead of those pesky croissants.

The staff are extremely helpful and speak excellent English if your Italian is a little patchy. They can recommend all manner of restaurants, boat hire companies, excursions etc so take advantage of their local knowledge.

They don't have a pool, but there are several hotels nearby that allow visitor passes for 20 Euros per day. Alternatively, the beach below has sunloungers that are cheaper - get the lift down, don't even think of walking there!

If you are looking for a 4 star hotel as an excellent base to explore Sorrento and the Amalfi coast then you'll be hard pressed to find anywhere better than Corrallo. (TIP - if you book through Easyjet holidays get the airport transfer option - an air conditioned bullet proof Mercedes, thanks very much!)

Highly recommended hotel, would certainly stay again.

Room Tip: Ensure you get a room with a balcony or a terrace - you won't regret the views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow, scotland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

We stayed at the Corallo in June 2012 and had a great holiday. We did get off to a rather shaky start when, on arrival, the hotel had no record of our reservation. However, very quickly we decided we would not let this spoil our break and with the help of receptionist Emmanuel we decided to take up the offer of relocating to an adjacent hotel,The Hotel Villa Garden, for 2 nights. On our return we were upgraded to a superior sea view room for our 5 night stay and Emmanuel and the manager Antonio also arranged for us to have a complimentary dinner on the terrace of the restaurant. We viewed the location of the hotel as one of the main attractions, the views are breathtaking and eating breakfast on the terrace each morning in the sunshine, while watching the boats in the bay was a different world from dull, rainy UK. We also enjoyed the walk each evening to and from Sorrento for our evening meal. The walk takes about 25 minutes which is fine if you like walking and helps walk off the excesses of the lovely Italian food but may not suit those who do not like walking.There are however some nice restaurants and bars in Sant Agnello as well. Breakfast in the hotel is relaxed and plentiful with a range of cereals, juices ,fruit, yoghurts and pastries and daily changes. The evening meal we had on the one night we ate in the hotel was from the set menu and was very good too. We also thoroughly enjoyed the spectacle of the weddings held on 4 of the nights we were there. Hotel Corallo is the perfect place for a romantic break and we would highly recommend it and would hope to return one day.

Room Tip: Spend a little extra and go for a sea view room, it's a must when staying in Sorrento.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Stayed with a family group of 10 in July when it was very hot and would have loved a pool - so be aware no pool at this hotel! A beach is very close however but we didn't try it! I don't think this should put you off however except in perhaps only in peak summer and the relatively low cost, lovely rooms and amazing views from our rooms which shared a terrace definitely made up for that. Breakfast was included which was excellent. We enjoyed watching a couple of weddings during our stay from our terrace - oh to be a guest!!! We even brought in our own takeaway pizzas and had a great evening complete with live entertainment! We didn't try the walk into town because of the heat but my guess its more like 20-25 minutes. Bar drinks are pricey but no more so than the rest of Sorrento! All in all I would definately recommend this hotel. Bad pillows were the only bad aspect of the whole experience and reminded me of a Novotel!

Room Tip: Rooms 329-331 share the terrace and excellent for travelling groups.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We spent 10 days in this hotel in july. I'm pretty picky about hotels because I worked several years in luxury hotels and restaurants so I have a professional look about it.

I must say that this trip will stay lively in my heart. We were received with so much courtesy and warmth. Everything was impeccable in every detail. From reception to the maid through the bartender ... everyone was quiet, polite, knowledgeable and always here ... listen to us. The room was wonderful and always fresh. Twice a day, staff changed the towels. The private terrace offered us every day a magnificent view over the bay of Naples and Mount Vesuvius.

The hotel is quiet, decorated with care and taste. It is not locatedin the center but in 5/10 minutes, you reach the little train station. If you like walking, you can even walk to Sorrento (15/20 min). This is a very pleasant walk and so did we each day!

You have just few stops by train Herculaneum and Pompeii and just have to go to Sorrento to take the boat to Capri or bus to the Amalfi Coast.

Thus, were we in a quiet area while being close to everything. The hotel is very very very romantic (!!!) and what a pleasure to have a breakfast on the terrace watching the boats and the sun rise over the sea .. The buffet is complete and the team that serves you is absolutely adorable! Smiling, fast and in your care.

I clicked "excellent" for the swimmingpool because you just have to walk 5 minutes on a little path to reach the public beach...

I not only recommend this hotel but I also will return to Corallo with an evident pleasure!

Eva

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Stayed at the Corallo for 5 nights in June. The hotel met all our expectation's with splendid views, nice decorated rooms and public areas as well as it's friendly, professional and always very attentive staff.

Breakfast surprised us positively, also the set menu dinner can be recommended.

The Corallo is a perfect choice with it's walking distance to central Sorrento, value for money, magnificent views and comfortable rooms. This hotel is not for those looking for a private beach or swimming pool at the hotel, for all others we can recommend the Corallo.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Corallo Sorrento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Corallo Sorrento

Address: Nuovo Rione Cappuccini, 12, 80065 Sant'Agnello, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sant'Agnello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sant'Agnello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Corallo Sorrento 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Corallo, located in the town of Sant'Agnello, is a 4 star hotel situated on a clifftop with panoramic terraces and views of the Gulf of Naples, Vesuvius and the Sorrentine peninsula. The centre of Sorrento and Tasso Square with its characteristic alleys, is just 2 km away and can be reached on foot or by public transport. In 1910 this elegant patrician house became "Hotel Cappuccini", a meeting point for artists and intellectuals such as the great Luigi Pirandello, who stayed here in the 1930's. The recent renovations have enhanced an exclusive blend of past and present ensuring the hotel provides a beautiful backdrop for a relaxing holiday - an ideal place for visiting Naples, Amalfi, Positano, Ravello, the islands of Capri, Ischia and Procida, the archaeological excavations of Pompeii and Herculaneum and Vesuvius. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Corallo Sorrento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corallo Hotel Sant Agnello
Hotel Corallo Sorrento Italy/Province Of Naples

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Corallo Sorrento, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.