We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic, clean hotel with friendly staff.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Pergola

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel La Pergola to your Saves list
Hotel La Pergola
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via I Rota 13, 80067 Sant'Agnello, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 18 Hotels in Sant'Agnello
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Basic, clean hotel with friendly staff.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We enjoyed 11 nights at La Pergola in August 2013. This is a basic, quiet hotel and you get what you pay for (this was one of the cheapest hotels we could find in Sorrento). Food OK, basic table d'hote menu in the evening with the option to go to a restaurant in centre (still limited menu as part of half board but nice setting and location). Room small but clean - we had no view or balcony but again in Sorrento, we didn't expect to. It is a 20 minute walk on a busy road to get to Sorrento centre.

Good points:
All staff were very friendly and welcoming (including Restaurant staff, cleaning staff and Reception).
Clean and room towels changed everyday
Option to go to Cafe Latino in central Sorrento for dinner as part of half board.

To address some of the comments made by others:
Hotel bar prices were the same as everywhere else in Sorrento and whilst they did charge for ice, they did not seem to mind people buying alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks at supermarket and drinking on sun terrace and by pool.
You do have to pay extra for air con but this has been standard in most European holidays we have been on recently.
The solarium was open - there were lots of loungers and chairs on the roof terrace for sunbathing as well as covered area.
People complain about the TV but is this really what you visit Sorrento for?
There is no entertainment in the hotel but there is plenty in Sorrento.

Italy is expensive. Especially compared to Greece and you just need to trake this into consideration when looking at value for money.

Room Tip: Pay for the balcony if you want it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    87
    36
    19
    20
See reviews for
52
130
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Morecambe, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

the staff was fantastic. we went there with so many places to see and did not leave Sorrento, we loved it so much we are planning to go back with our daughter next time. The only down side to our seven days was the frogmarch that the Thomas cook rep took us on, once we meet them in town (round the bars and clubs that they use),the third day we was there, and that was after she charged us ten euros each but you don't get a receipt for, and every where she took us we had found for our self's already!!! Also The rep was not at the hotel a lot but you get a office telephone number you can ring if you needed help.( and good luck with that).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

This is a lovely, friendly hotel set on the outskirts of Sorrento with wonderful views of the Bay of Naples and Mount Vesuvius from the rooftop solarium, where one can catch the hot Italian sun's rays whilst enjoying a drink brought up to you from the bar. With only 36 rooms the genial staff get to know their patrons very well and soon become good friends. The rooms, most with balconies, are en-suite. Although there is air-conditioning available, there is an additional charge for its use (up to 10 euros per day). In front of the hotel is a medium sized pool and sun terrace plus a delightful garden terrace shaded by orange trees. The meals at La Pergola are first rate; Continental breakfast and Silver Service in the evening. The food is fresh and beautifully prepared and presented all under the watchful eye of Raphaelle, the Head Waiter, who made us feel really welcome.
This hotel is ideally situated for visiting Pompeii, Herculaneum (Ercolano), the Amalfi Coast, Naples and the stunning island of Capri.
This is a hotel I would gladly return to.

Room Tip: Rooms at back of hotel are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raunds, England, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

I paid for me and my mum to spend a week in hotel la pergola for her 50th birthday. After reading negative reviews I was very worried. We went between 16th and 23rd of august and we loved it. The rooms were basic but very clean. Maids come and clean the room every day when you say it is okay to do so. The food was delicious. We do not eat fish and the head waiter Raffeal offered us other dishes instead. The pool was small but lovely and relaxing. The rooftop is amazing.

The only negative we had was thomas cook charged us for a balcony however most rooms had balconys and we could hardly fit the both of us on the balcony.

We are shocked at the negative reviews. the staff were helpful and we would recommend it. Please do not be put off. we are ready to go back already!

Room Tip: We stayed in 202 on the top floor. it was overlooking the carpark so a fair bit of noise at night, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

When we first arrived we were put in room 13, to say this room is the worst we have ever seen is being kind!! we opened the window and all we could see was an 8`foot high & 8 foot long recycling bin against the back wall within touching distance,the same night we asked to be moved but was told that it was late & that the director would need to approve it ?? The next day we looked out of the window & realised that the window is some 10 feet bellow ground level & all we could see is this massive bin, we raised the matter again, and eventually we were offered room 111 for an additional 8 euros per day the additional cost is for a balcony, please also be aware of other additional costs: 4.5 euros per day for room safe - 10 euros per day for air conditioning. Also be aware that room 111 & 110 are directly above the kitchen extractor fan and from 7 to 10 am & 5 to 8 pm both these balconies are full of cooking smells.
There is no entertainment at this hotel. the food choice is limited mainly pasta and on some nights there is no choice the only difference is that one night you eat in the garden.
first week the food was good (i am Italian & i like pasta) but the second week it went downhill.
The only thing that made the stay pleasant was the staff, ie night porter Vincenzo - restaurant
waiter Raffaello and Danniell they worked their socks off to keep the place going & earn evrey penny as they are well under staffed.
Before you say this is "nitpicking" this was my forth stay at this Hotel in the last 6 years and it saddens me to write this review as i will probably not return.
If you decide to go to this hotel keep in mind the room numbers & the additional costs
PS. THE STAFF IS WELL WORTH A VISIT.

Room Tip: Avoid the room numbers stated above
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

the staff was great and rooms where clean . Breakfast food good, dinner well think the chef's need to go and get cooking lessons most must meals where just uneatable good thing was we had a choice to go to another resteraunt which was great . Our balcony which we payed £42 each week for was very small could just about manage to sit out there together. we could not believe we had to pay for the air con at 10ero a day . Our bathroom had mould in it around the shower and the toilet cistern. The garden bar was never open and there was no enterainment at all . The roof terrace the shower up there did not work and the was no solarium which is advertise . I was glad i didnt get a room at the back of the hotel as it was a view of a car park but they payed the same for there room as we did and for the balcony. The price of drinks where way over the top in prices and you had to pay any extras at the end of your stay well it was a good job we kept hold of our receipts as we was nearly charged for wine we never had some one had book a bottle of winr to our room so keep your receipts . we did have a good hoilday it was just the hotel that let us down but once again the staff where great doing the best they could its the owner who let us down and his staff

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battle, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Where to start just got back from this hotel on Friday and have already been to see Thomas cook who we booked through , I am writing this so people are aware of what they Will get for there hard earned money not what you are told you will get through the brochures ,so here we go

1 . Be prepared to pay up to 80 euros for you air conditioning for 2 weeks

2. Make sure your booking shows a balcony or you won't get one and they are very small in some rooms ie: if you are 5'10 or above you will have problems if you both want to sit outside your room

3. Make sure you budget for your very small ( Argos ) type safe as this will cost you 4.5 euros a day ( 58.5 euros for a 2 week stay )

4. Terrace bar ? We was informed by our tour rep that this has NEVER been open ,if you want a drink go inside and order ( a small coke will cost you 3 euros and a glass of ice 1 euro )

5. Roof garden is very nice and relaxing and even though we was informed that it closed at 8 pm after a small word the power was turned back on to the lights and we had many an enjoyable evening.

6. There is NO solarium this is now staff accommodation ?

7. There is NO entertainment at any time unless you count the evenings listening too the entertainment from the hotel Florida across the road

8. Swimming pool is small but adequate but you will need to go to the roof to be able to tan as the chairs round the pool do not allow you to be able to do your back unless you are a yoga expert .

9. Tv/sat is abysmal we did not have either for our entire stay even though we informed the staff every day and was told that they would sort it out !

10. Rooms on the ground floor do not have balconies or access to a terrace so you will have to budget for air con

On the plus side the staff were brilliant and the food was ok for the star level of the hotel ,plus side the owner also has a restaurant in main Sorrento plaza that you can use instead of the hotel.the walk into Sorrento centre can be arduous if the weather is hot and the traffic can be quite intimidating at times.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel La Pergola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Pergola

Address: Via I Rota 13, 80067 Sant'Agnello, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sant'Agnello
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 18 Hotels in Sant'Agnello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Pergola 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel La Pergola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Pergola Hotel
La Pergola Sorrento
Hotel La Pergola Italy/Province Of Naples

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Pergola, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.