We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“COFFEE!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Pergola

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel La Pergola to your Saves list
Hotel La Pergola
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via I Rota 13, 80067 Sant'Agnello, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 18 Hotels in Sant'Agnello
Bude, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“COFFEE!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

A friendly small hotel, a 15min walk to the center of Sorrento, not much road noice, but town and country noices to be heard! Take ear plugs!
FOOD was not good, not sure if catering for an "English" market, but very bland. Coffee was awful, for breakfast it was in a vending machine!! Even in the bar it was weak!
Rooms were small, but ok, need a blooming good clean. Tissues were left in the reception area on the floor for a few days!!!
Staff were very friendly, but everywhere we went the Italians were friendly. excellent holiday, but hotel food was a real let down

Room Tip: Just wear ear plugs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    87
    36
    19
    20
See reviews for
52
130
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derby
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

My Daughter and I stayed here as a last bonding holiday before the apron strings were cut and she went off to University and It didn't dissapoint. From the moment we arrived we were made very welcome, the staff can't do enough to help you, our room was adequate for our needs, fresh towels every day and smiling maids. The restaurant was efficiently run by the wonderful Raffaello, who's dry sense of humour made us chuckle. the pool was lovely especially to dip into after a hot day's sightseeing, the view's from the roof terrace were stunning. The highlight of the week is the 'romantic' evening where food is served on the terrace buffet style, delicious and tempting array of traditional Italian food. we would recommend to any one looking to stay on the Amalfi coast as a base for exploring the area. thankyou also to the two Anna's, Daniella and Guisepe. :)

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, Lancashire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

We had a weeks stay at La Pergola, it was a nice friendly hotel the staff where very proffessional, the food was good - good choices for every meal - the only downside was our room - it was very clean but we where put in room 18 at the back - we had bins under the window & staff constantly filling them - as the room window was on head level to the staff they could look straight in, so we had the option of leaving the shutter down all the time or having the curtains closed - not what you want on holiday. We asked to be moved but as the hotel was full this was not possible, but they did arrange a few hours free air conditioning a day for us. Saying that we would visit this hotel again as everything else was good - we did find the fact that you couldn't pay cash for drinks etc as we went along a small problem - I had to keep an account of everything we spent to ensure we could pay for it at the end of the week, there tallies & my tally matched though. In conclusion we would definitely visit this hotel again but we would pay the extra for a balcony.

Room Tip: Pay for a balcony - or request to be at the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

This is a great hotel - the staff are extremely helpful and friendly. The food was amazing - fresh and authentic; struggling to choose each day, all options were tempting and the choice never let me down. Convenient for Sorrento centre and Sant'Agnello centre, walk or use buses nearby. Handy for the train to Naples, Pompei and Herculaneum. This is not a noisy area, other than the usual noise you would get in a small town. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the back with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

Just returned back from a weeks stay at Hotel La Pergola. Was a little dubious on arrival to the hotel from reading previous reviews, but after arriving was soon put at ease.
The staff at the hotel were all so friendly and went out of their way to help you, the reception staff were very helpful and knowledgable, the resturant staff catered to all needs and the cleaners did a superb job every day.
The first night was a little interuptted by the 2 cockrels, but after the first night we didnt hear them hardly at all.
There is a lovely little pier about 5 mintues down the road which overlooks over Naples and the bay.
The main square is good 20-30 minute walk away but is very well worth it.
I would definately recommend this hotel and if I return to Sorentto I will definately return here.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

La Pergola hotel may be a small hotel compared to many of it's competitors, but what it lacks in floor space it makes up for ten-fold in hospitality and catering.

Initially the size of the room worried me slightly, it wasn't like the cavernous rooms supplied by the all-inclusive chain hotels, but this worry soon passed after I realised that very little of my time was spent in my room anyway! It was clean, practical, had all the furniture you needed and a functioning en-suite bathroom - it even had a small balcony with a table and chairs.

The food was exquisite, classic italian menu with a range of pasta, risotto, calamari and other traditional Italian foods. You were neither overwhelmed with an over-crowded buffet nor starved of a choice, it was all table service and a choice of 3 dishes for starter, main and dessert - all of which were as tasty as each other!
During our stay we experienced the Italian festival 'Ferragosto' (Assumption Day) and we were treated to a 6 course meal with a cocktail and nibbles at no extra cost to our stay, needless to say I have never eaten so much in my life.
The staff were all very friendly and approachable and the communal areas of the hotel (including the roof terrace) were very well maintained and kept clean at all times.

The location of the hotel was also convenient, while staying out of the busy centre of Sorrento (also the highly expensive centre of Sorrento!) we could easily walk there from our hotel for a night out or a day's exploring, with the added bonus of having the smaller village of Sant'Angelo just a five minute walk away for all our basic needs. Sorrento has a main train station which you can use to travel to Pompeii, Herculaneum and for trips into Naples. All sites are very close to the stations along the way so no need for expensive excursions or bus trips when you can go in your own time.

I would strongly recommend this hotel for any food-lovers and for those who do not want to bother with a hire car on holiday as there's no need in this location.
Those looking for a lazy holiday of sitting by the pool and relaxing in the hotel room would perhaps not appreciate La Pergola as while it does have a pool, it is mainly as a means to cool down rather than swim a few lengths!

The best holiday we have ever had and I would definetly return - 10/10.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

This Hotel is fantastic value. The menu did not repeat over 14 days and the food was superb. The staff were all great but the chef is five star.Every meal time was a delight with super varied choices. Ok the Hotel may be criticised for being a little noisey (cockerels, traffic and the odd dog) but this is part of the charm for this area and in fairness if you buy the air conditioning and close the windows you wont even notice. A short walk from Sorento centre the Hotel is ideally situated. I would return again without hesitation.A nice touch was that although we arrived late evening they had a meal waiting for us which was super. Many thanks to all the staff. Peter Butler UK

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel La Pergola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Pergola

Address: Via I Rota 13, 80067 Sant'Agnello, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sant'Agnello
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 18 Hotels in Sant'Agnello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Pergola 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel La Pergola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Pergola Hotel
La Pergola Sorrento
Hotel La Pergola Italy/Province Of Naples

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Pergola, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.