We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a really good hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Florida

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Florida to your Saves list
Hotel Florida
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   vico Primo Rota, 3, 80065 Sant'Agnello, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Click for details
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Sant'Agnello
GreenLeadersSilver level
scotland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“a really good hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

we stayed in a hotel just round the corner from this hotel last year and enjoyed our holiday so much we decided to return to Sorrento again this year (first two weeks in September). When we went to book, the other hotel had no availability so we booked the Florida instead as it appeared very similar. It is, but for various reasons we enjoyed it even better. There is a good atmosphere around the pool (not noisy at all) which is the central part of the hotel, with a bar that was nice to sit at during the day or evening (with food at lunch time). Evening meals in the hotel were ok and we had no complaints with them on the nights we ate there, and the staff do really well, but Sorrento has so many good places to eat that we ate out most nights.
The rooms are fine, with good air con.and do what they are supposed to do. A good shower too.
We had no complaints with the hotel or staff at all, and if you go here you won't be disappointed.
It isn't 5 star but if you are paying the sort of money that we did, you should be looking for a really solid hotel, clean and friendly, with a good pool and somewhere ideally situated to chill out when you want to, after hot days spent visiting Capri, Naples, Pompeii, Amalfi etc. The Florida meets this without any doubt.
There are comments on previous reviews about distance into the centre of Sorrento but it is a 15 minute walk, either on the back road which is quieter (with pavements) or straight along the main road , where there are a few bits with narrow pavements, but that's just the way it is in this area. It is a pleasant enough walk with cafes, restaurants and bars intermingling with the shops all the way. Banana Split bar was especially popular !
And don't forget Sant' Agnello with its own assortment of restaurants and bars only 5 minutes away.
Sorrento itself is a tremendous place with so much going on and a whole host of places to visit quite easily by public transport.The hotel is well placed for both trains and buses.
We probably won't be back in Sorrento again having been twice, (although maybe not) as there are so many other places we would like to visit, but if we do go back we wouldn't hesitate going back to the Florida. Thanks Michel we enjoyed it very much,.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    87
    39
    20
    17
See reviews for
57
121
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stroud, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Family run by a very attentive helpful range of staff. We were in room 106 which was at the back away from the pool area. The advantage of this was to be in a double glazed quiet room. A 15 minute walk to the railway station meant an excellent location for visiting Pompeii and Vesuivius. A bit further into Sorrento itself allowed us to explore some lovely backstreets, the port and stunning views. Capri is a must via a 25 minute ferry ride. Do go to the top and ascend by the chair lift. A very sedate ride allows stunning views back over the whole Bay of Naples. The Amalfi Drive was exhilarating with a different view around every corner. Do NOT think about driving it yourself unless you have nerves of steel!
The only thing I hated was the midges that bit me day and night. Lots of repellant needed.

Room Tip: Rooms 101-106 round the back have no pool view, but are really peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Lovely place, friendly staff, excellent breakfast, . A fair walk form the station but the directions on the hotel website explain how to use the bus. Our room overlooked the pool and garden, it receive a wifi signal which was useful. The pool was great you could even watch the Sorrento football team doing their physio! It would be better if the pool stayed open later than 6PM. Wood cooked pizza party on Tuesday evening was very pleasant in the lemon grove.

Room Tip: Ask for room overlooking pool, 49 is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

a very nice hotel but we arrived late and once booked in was told that a dinner was waiting in the restaurant,turned out to be two cold omelletts and boiled potatoes wrapped in clingfilm,we was so hungry that we ate them,we went back to reception and was left to struggle back down the stairs while the male receptionist just stood and watched,not a good start after a long flight.our room was very basic but to the side which overlooked the lemon grove and the pet dog fowling the seating area every morning,the owner just basicly left it there till the evening when he got someone to clean it up.we was bombarded with ants on our balcony which were reported but left to me to deal with,food was very much the same every day,cold boiled eggs for breakfast,toast cornflakes.poolside menu was much nicer.very nice pool which was checked and clean,it was a 3 star hotel so we didnt expect to much,if the owners had paid attention to detail,i e fridge in room and a kettle would have made such a big difference,it would be a good idea to take a travel kettle and tea and coffee as there is no shop even remotely close to the hotel and involves a good 20 minute walk at least for any refreshment,the hotel would definately benefit from an on site shop which would have made a lot of difference,we all found the buses somewhat confusing,on our 1st day our thomson rep took us in to town for our welcome meeting and also a free walkabout,we was on the assumption that we would be taken back to our hotel but wasnt and although it was pouring with rain and got soaking wet we was just left in the town centre,the excursions we went on was capri and the amalfi coast drive which was amazing,best to go on an organised trip as some tried to do them on there own but got in all sorts of mess,overall we enjoyed our holiday,to sum up more attention to detait,the staff showed they cared more and could do with an on site shop,and for the dog to do his business else where.two restaurants nearby overlookiing the volcano,cant remember the names but head right out of the hotel along the road then left only about 10 minutes walk nice food,the retaurant down on the beach has to be reached by a lift which takes you down through the rock,this one was more expensive and not so nice as the one above,3 star hotel and thats all you get,

Room Tip: most rooms seem reasonable,the rooms overlooking the pool were nice but not much privacy from the po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Shields
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We just retuned from a week in Sorrento at this lovely family run hotel. Its right on the edge of Sorrento within 15 min walk of the centre. There are also good restaurants, bars, etc very close to the hotel if you only want a 5 min walk! The folks at the Hotel Florida did their very best to make us feel welcome & comfortable. The pool & gardens are extremely pleasant; orange & lemon trees everywhere with pretty landscaping & flowers. The rooms were spotless & we had a nice big balcony overlooking the pool. The hotel put on a pizza night outside in the lemon grove complete with wood fired traditional pizza oven which was great fun. There was also a gala dinner set up around the pool with very pleasant live entertainment. Thank you to Pepe, MIchele, Vincenzo, Roberto, Sonia & of course Kim ( the family pooch) for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We stayed at the Florida Hotel for two weeks at the end of August with our 11 year old son. We had a lovely stay and have never been made to feel so welcome anywhere before. Allt he staff were great, special thanks to Vincenzo, Pepe, Roberto and Michel and Kim the dog!
We had a lovely large pool facing room in the Annexe which was well cleaned with plenty of storage space.
Even as a fussy eater out son found something to eat ever night and certainly didn;t go hungry.
The food was always hot and tasty. Breakfast was a nice continental selection and always plenty available. We really really enjoyed NOT having the cooked English Breakfast option!
The Gala and Pizza night by the pool were grea fun and very special, all the staff throw themselves into it with great enthusiam. My son got to make his own Pizza in the oven with the loveley lady owner and the pizzeria, he had a great time and didn't want to leave.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a small friendly relaxed base to stay. I can't think of anything they could do to improve anything and I hope they stay as they are.
Ps my son and husband very much enjoyed watching the Napoli v Palmero match in the bar with the staff especialy as my son had his new Cavani Napoli shirt on! Hope to go back and stay again.

Room Tip: Pool facing, above the bar have bigger balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

I recommend this place to everyone!! The workers are great there and it's such a great place to relax at! It is very close to where everything is which was great. The food and drinks were delicious and the workers were fabulous!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Florida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Florida

Address: vico Primo Rota, 3, 80065 Sant'Agnello, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sant'Agnello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#6 Family Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#12 Romantic Hotel in Sant'Agnello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Florida 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Florida, with familiar conduction from three generation, is a charming resort surrounded by a traditional lemon and orange garden, located in a pleasant and calm residential area of Sorrento.The Hotel Florida is the ideal place to spend a quite holiday, the green citrus groves and the panoramas of the Sorrento Coast, the gastronomic specialities or the fantastic walks and excursion will make your stay in the Earth of the Sirens’ land unforgettable.Sorrento historical center is 20 minutes walking distance. Within 300 metres away there is a typical Sorrentine beach “La Marinella” and a splendid terrace overlooking the sea. Here a charming scene is opened thanks to which it is possible to admire the bay of Sorrento, the entire Gulf of Naples and the Vesuvius. The shopping area of Sorrento or S.Agnello it is only ten minutes on foot.The Hotel Florida has its private swimming pool with wide solarium (free sunbeds), snack and cocktail bar, wide garden area. Private parking.Rooms are classically decorated, and offer free Wi-Fi. Each comes with a satellite TV, a work desk and an en suite bathroom. All the rooms have a balcony, with views of the garden or of the swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelBookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Florida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Florida Hotel Sant Agnello
Hotel Florida Italy/Province Of Naples

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Florida, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.