We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, shame about the church bells!!!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Club Sorrento

Save Saved
You added Hotel Club Sorrento to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Club Sorrento
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Cappuccini 14, 80065 Sant'Agnello, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Sant'Agnello
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, shame about the church bells!!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

The Hotel Club has excellent friendly and accommodating staff but is, unfortunately, let down by it's proximity to Corso Italia (the main road into Sorrento which is very busy) and the church and it's loud bells just 20 metres away. We had a small double room at the front and I didn't sleep well for our 3 night stay even though I am normally a sound sleeper. For the price, compared to the central Sorrento hotels, this hotel is good value for money, but there are some drawbacks. Apart from the noise, the breakfast is copious but the coffee is instant machine coffee (in Italy!?!), its a fast 20 mins walk into the centre (downhill, but more like 30 mins uphill coming back) and its along the busy Corso Italia. Other routes exist but are not as direct. All in all, I would have paid 50% more and stayed nearer to the centre in a quieter road.

Room Tip: Try a room at the back overlooking the pool to reduce road noise from Corso Italia, but I don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    83
    57
    26
    60
See reviews for
57
152
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Although Hotel Club has an official three star rating ,my wife and I would rate it as having five star hospitality ,courtesy of the legendary Frank and the rest of the staff here who make every effort to make your stay an enjoyable one

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

My partner and I stayed here for a week in Sept 13, and loved every minute. The hotel is small and although the bar area was recently refurbished the rooms were small and characterful. What made this hotel visit fantastic though was the staff...nothing was too much trouble. From the moment we arrived we were treated like old friends. From breakfast service to midnight drinks one of the two brothers was always at hand to attend to you, and take an interest in your day. The food was fresh, homemade and great. They even told us the best way to get to all the local attractions and even transfers to the airport when we left.
As the staff are so friendly so were the people that stayed there. It fostered a great atmosphere of home from home. Also there is no way to describe the night porter Franco, he was great and every hotel should have one.I have never laughed so much in a hotel bar....We fully intend to go back as we felt so welcome. It was such a great location to get into Sorrento town centre, pompeii etc. See you next year.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights with 4 other friends and we had a total of 4 rooms. The single rooms were the size of a small closet, the doubles not much bigger. The rooms were clean, the English speaking staff very helpful, the lobby very bright and clean and the breakfast was excellent. I will admit I was disappointed in the rooms after reading all the other reviews here but they are clean and functional.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

I went to the hotel club in this summer with my friends ....

As soon as we arrived, we felt like we were home, people there are very nice and friendly, the rooms were absolutely clean and tidy, the food was a dream...(main course, starter and even cakes were very tasty,,,all homemade from fresh products!!!).
We will positively go back...Hopfully next summer again!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Hotel club is a good 3 star hotel that is clean, reasonably well appointed, produces good quality simple Italian food, has an incredibly well priced bar and is well situated for the trains and buses to explore the stunning region. The one thing that sets it apart is the supreme hospitality and professionalism of the staff. Franco, Luigi and Marco made us feel like royalty and nothing was too much trouble for them. Thank you hotel club for your part in a truly fantastic holiday!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

I can only say great things about this family run hotel they could not do enough for us was half board and the food was of excellent quality I agree with the earlier comments that the rooms are small and quite basic but with all there is to see and do in the surrounding area you really don't see that much of the rooms. Yes you can hear the trains and the church bells but they do not continue through the night so do not affect sleep in any way. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel and on my next trip to this area I will certainly be looking to book this hotel

Room Tip: Try for a pool facing room the other side of the hotel appeared to overlook the road not quite as at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Club Sorrento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Club Sorrento

Address: Via Cappuccini 14, 80065 Sant'Agnello, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sant'Agnello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#13 Romantic Hotel in Sant'Agnello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Club Sorrento 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Orbitz, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Club Sorrento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sorrento Hotel Sant Agnello
Club Hotel Sorrento
Hotel Club Sorrento Italy/Province Of Naples

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Club Sorrento, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.