We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Club Sorrento

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Club Sorrento to your Saves list
Hotel Club Sorrento
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Cappuccini 14, 80065 Sant'Agnello, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in Sant'Agnello
Portsmouth
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We have just come back from 2 weeks at this hotel. Clean, friendly and above all, a superb location. Close to the train station and bus routes, near to lots of little shops and not too far to walk to the sea for stunning views over the Bay of Naples..plus some excellent hotel restaurants to choose from for stunning food. It is next to a lovely little square where you can sit at Il Buon Buccone and enjoy a reasonably prosed glass of wine and a snack whilst watching the totally mad antics of car and scooter drivers as they head for Sorrento and Naples. (The owners, Franco and Theresa are a delight!) The church in the square is definitely worth a visit.

Back to the hotel...the swimming pool is small and not the sort you would want to sit around all day, but, is great for a refreshing dip after a long day at Pompeii. We went everywhere on public transport. Tickets can be bought from the little tabbachi 2 minutes from the hotel. There are quite a few places to eat lunch and dinner if you do not want to stay at the hotel. Jolly Pub is fantastic value with excellent pasta. We had one meal at the hotel. It was OK but nothing to rave about. Other people said the food was good on other evenings but we liked to get out and about. The shower was clean with plenty of hot water. Don't expect amazing views from the balcony...interesting, is probably the word I would use. Don't be put off by people saying the train was noisy...you get used to it and it stops running at about 9.30. Can't hear it when your doors are closed. Our sleep was never disturbed. And if you don't like the sound of church bells..Don't go to Italy! So, to sum up, a very reasonably priced hotel, clean, welcoming and lovely staff. We got the bus outside to the Amalfi Coast, got the train to Naples, Heculanea and Pompeii...no problems. You can walk to Sorrento in about 15 minutes but it is quite busy during the day and the pavements are not what I am used to in Britain.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the pool with a good view of the train going by!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    88
    57
    26
    60
See reviews for
61
155
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Club, Sant' Agnello, July 19-Aug 2 2013. It was our first trip to Italy and didn't know what to expect. We read some good and not so good reviews on this site for the hotel but as always, decided to find out for ourselves. Were we disappointed with our stay? No way. The hotel was clean with rooms cleaned and fresh towels every day. The hotel has free wifi (which I could only use in reception), free air con and free safety deposit in rooms. We were a little concerned knowing the rail track ran past the hotel by just a few feet but it was nothing to worry about, we hardly noticed the trains going by or the church bells that ring every 15 mins, you soon block out the noise. We were picked up at the garage by Mario who then took us to the hotel 2 mins away. On arrival we met Luigi, Marco and lowra, very friendly and nothing was ever too much trouble for them.. They were always polite and helpful. We stayed on the second floor, poolside, which we thought would be rather noisy but never was. The hotel is ideal for travelling to Pompeii, Erculano and Mr Vesuvious. If you want a small and friendly hotel to stay in this area whether a package or 'do it yourself' short break, this is the place to stay.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor poolside are ideal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakewell, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

When we arrived at the petrol station we were greeted by Luigi who took us in his own car to The hotel Where we met Marco his brother, Mario his dad and his mother, the food was sublime and the soups were in my mind the specialities This was father excelled by the fact the menu was changed daily.
The rooms were clean and lovely but lacked character in my opinion(though that is about to change after the winter renovations) but the fact Luigi especially and the whole family that run the place cared about every individual health and happiness of every individual along with the pool were the things that stood out for me!
The pool was sublime but sometimes crowded(however they are adding another on the 5th floor overlooking Vesuvius with amazing views in the winter renovations).

Overall It was an amazing stay and a sad farewell. I only hope of returning after the renovations to see the place and, the people that became my friends!

Room Tip: We preferred overlooking the pool on the 1st floor bur the 2nd floor would be amazing too but the vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Club Hotel Sorrento
I stayed here recently and I would really recommend this hotel.
It is a family run hotel with very friendly and always helpful staff.
The hotel is very clean, rooms cleaned and towels changed every
day. It is a good value hotel. It has a pool to the rear in a tranquil
surroundings. The friendly & genuine approach of the staff
make me want to stay at this hotel again when i go back to
Sorrento one of the most beautiful places in the world.
It is a 10-15 minute walk into Sorrento centre but you can catch
the local bus outside the door. The food is very reasonably priced
at 12 euros for a 3 course evening meal. Drink is also cheap here.
The friendly family atmosphere will leave you with wonderful friends
and lifetime memories.
HB

Room Tip: Choose room to rear with balcony overlooking the pool or to the front with a balcony with a pleasant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is located within a 5 minute walk from saint Angello train station(the stop before sorrento).

You can walk to sorrento centre in 10-15 mins which was quite nice of an evening.

The rooms are very basic but clean and comfortable and all we needed for a short break.

The staff are very friendly especially the guy who works the night shift and breakfast, he made our stay very welcoming.

Breakfast was good.
The pool is small but good enough! It was also nice and quiet.

I would definitely recommend this hotel if your looking for quality accommodation at a reasonable price

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We have just finished our stay here and would recommend the hotel wholly. This is clean and comfortable accommodation this has the look and feel of a top hotel. This is also a good value hotel other hotels in and around Sorrento can be at more cost. In addition to having good sized rooms, tranquil surroundings the hotel is close by to the circumvesuviana line for getting to attractions and bus stops. The staff are very friendly too. There are set menu dinners and the dinner room can be full because the food is good.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

My wife and I have just spent our honeymoon in this hotel and it comes highly recommended - admittedly it is not five star but the food and drink is very good value (12 Euros for a three course evening meal, 12 Euros for a bottle of wine and 3 Euros for a large beer). What sets this hotel apart from others I have stayed in is the service; so friendly and nothing is too much trouble - it's a place where they know you by name. They work tirelessly around the clock to make you holiday stay happy and memorable. Luigi (the elder statesman) even joined us for a drink during late sessions in the bar, although he did fall asleep on occasions. The pool area is very pleasant and meticulously clean. There were one or two irritations, i.e. television in the restaurant. I appreciate some people like this sort of thing but soft Italian music would have been infinitely preferable. Please note this hotel is in Sant'Angello a fifteen minute walk (minute on the train) to Sorrento itself. However, this worked to our advantage in actually getting around and seeing the sights. Overall this a 3 star hotel giving a 5 star service.

Room Tip: There are just one or two rooms close to the swimming pool and if you are older in years, and look t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Club Sorrento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Club Sorrento

Address: Via Cappuccini 14, 80065 Sant'Agnello, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sant'Agnello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#13 Romantic Hotel in Sant'Agnello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Club Sorrento 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Club Sorrento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sorrento Hotel Sant Agnello
Club Hotel Sorrento
Hotel Club Sorrento Italy/Province Of Naples

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Club Sorrento, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.