We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Italian hotel, well located with friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Londra

Save Saved
You added Hotel Londra to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Londra
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Cocumella 12, 80065 Sant'Agnello, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 18 hotels in Sant'Agnello
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very Italian hotel, well located with friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We spent a week at the Londra at the end of June/early July 2013 and found it to be clean and comfortable with lovely staff. The decor is typically Italian so if you are looking for a shiny Hilton style finish this might not be for you, but it suited us perfectly well - we weren't in Italy to sit and look at the room! The beds are huge and very comfortable. We had a room facing the road side (with a balcony) and yes when on the balcony you can hear the traffic, but this is hard to avoid in Italy with all the mopeds buzzing around. It wasn't overly loud and didn't bother us at all.

The walk into Sorrento took us 15 minutes (we are a couple in our 20s) and is very straightforward.

The pool is a reasonable size for a small hotel and there were plenty of sun loungers to go round on the couple of occasions we wanted to use them. We sat and had lunch by the pool one afternoon and the pizza was very nice. We didn't have any evening meals at the hotel but the breakfast was fine - pretty standard continental breakfast with the added option of fruit tarts and cake.

The staff were all friendly (particularly the barman) and always available.


Overall Hotel Londra is great value for money, and we had no problems at all.

Room Tip: If you want silence ask for a poolside room and avoid landside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-Hotel-Londra, Manager at Hotel Londra, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Guest, we really want to thank you for sharing your experience at Hotel Londra on TA. Your opinion counts for the others subscribers of TA but count more for us. It makes us feel great, cause we achieved our main goal : Good customer experience. We hope to see you again at Hotel Londra and in our beautiful town Sorrento.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    43
    51
    37
    23
    18
See reviews for
39
82
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Recently returned from a five night stay in hotel Londra. Prior to arrival I was apprehensive as I had not stayed in 3 star before and I had read some bad reviews but I could never have anticipated the exceptionally poor standards which we experienced at the hotel. On arrival the manager didn't so much as smile but instead proceeded to rant at me for having sent a request for a balcony. If I had only known how pathetic the balcony was I would not have bothered but ultimately her behaviour was a disgrace in the hospitality industry. To make a long story short things went from bad to worse...the management at this place are clearly all consumed with taking money from customers wherever possible without investing anything into improving the services. The décor is from a completely different century, no tea making facilities, no fridge, paper thin towels, crap wifi, a whopping 7 euro a day for air-conditioning, which is essential in these incredibly stuffy rooms. When I asked for an iron another member of staff barked "NO"...how can this be acceptable, it would only cost a small sum to provide a single iron for people with suitcases full of wrinkled clothes. I could only count two friendly members of staff while the others were an absolute disgrace, never even saying hello and always staring and watching your every move if you dared sit by the pool for a few minutes. I have never seen a shower so small in my life...showering became a burden and myself and my mum are not big but god forbid if one was as bending over is not possible in these dangerously small showers. There is absolutely no atmosphere at this place...clearly many guests shared our sentiments and chose to spend as little time as possible there so it is like a ghost town particularly at night while over the fence in a hotel of the same star rating guests were buzzing around enjoying the musical entertainment provided. The pool is small and the only pool I've ever encountered that is not tiled but surrounded by green paint which I got all over my swimsuit...the manager did manage to supplement me for the cost of replacement but like seriously I was not the only one that this happened to so would they not consider improving things for paying customers. I used the pool once only. Luckily we were not on half board as the breakfast was highly inadequate with the same soggy tarts presented for the week, cold tea, rock hard bread, barely no fruit and basically nothing appetising. I was so disappointed as we had been looking forward to this holiday for ages and the hotel really dampened our spirits and I cannot understand how this establishment can maintain a 3 star rating when the 3 star hotels next door are worlds apart with beautiful gardens, well maintained pools, nice windows and balconies and the staff couldn't have manners as awful as those we met. The londra is a good 20 minute walk to the main town and of course the hotel wouldn't dream of meeting customer needs by providing a shuttle...that might require effort and the staff just don't care enough. I strongly advise people to avoid this hotel as Sorrento is a beautiful place but coming back to this dump is dreadful.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are the same incredibly dated décor and tiny bathroom. Don't bother with a balc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Grazie Salvatore, una sperienzia unica, bel albergho e se mangia molto bene. It was great experience, nice familiar hotel and excellent meals. It might not be as modern as you want but the service makes up all what you need! Salvatore was very efficient, we didn't have a place to stay the first night and he helped us stayed in a four star hotel for the same price.

Room Tip: Try to ask for your room away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-Hotel-Londra, Manager at Hotel Londra, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you, thank you, thank you. On behalf of all the staff here at Hotel Londra, i thank you once again for sharing your holiday experience on TA. We all hope to see you again in Sorrento
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Stayed here recently with hubby .The Hotel is EXTREMELY dated. We found the services you would expect just not available. The only time that a snack was available was between 12 pm and 1.30 pm in afternoon, tough if you were peckish at any other time! Also there were other small things which could easily be put right with a bit of effort , no safety deposit box in rooms which was an awful pain , no hairdryer , no kettle, no fridge (unless you paid extra), no shuttle bus to Sorrento and it was a good 20 min walk each way . On the up side the rooms were kept very clean and towels changed daily . The beds were comfy enough and we found the breakfast ample, we went on a B&B basis and chose to eat out in Sorrento every evening so can't comment on evening meal . All in all we paid a very fair price and didn't expect a 5 star experience , we only really went there to put our heads down and it was indeed very adequate for that . The staff were pleasant and the barman Anthony was a little gem , with a permanent smile . It was very clean and as long as you know what to expect , basic services and a bit of a time warp , really it's grand . P.S. The pool area is very pleasant and well kept also , we had asked for a balcony and that turned out to be a good move as I believe the rooms at the front were very noisy .

Room Tip: Avoid rooms at front as they are very noisy .
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-Hotel-Londra, Manager at Hotel Londra, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thanks a lot for sharing your review about us on Tripadvisor. We constantly try to improve our guest satisfaction.Our staff well trained to improve your experience with us, is always ready for a smile and a handshake to make you feel at home . We hope to see you soon in our lovely town Sorrento
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We decided to go Sorrento for a holiday with our nine month old baby. We had a perfect time. Baby Jack loved to swim in the pool, and the evenings on the terrace were lovely with the baby phone sitting on our table. The whole staff was very helpful, friendly with special thanks to Anthony and Antonio we had a perfect holiday.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-Hotel-Londra, Manager at Hotel Londra, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
This is what we pursuit. Customer satisfaction. Nothing else. We really thank you for sharing your opinion about us on tripadvisor. We really hope to see you back in Sorrento, and back to our hotel, where you know, you can find a special place and well trained staff, ready to satisfy youo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

My granddaughter and I spent a very pleasant week at Hotel Londra and we had a really great time. It was nice to have a swimming pool and there were enough sun loungers for everyone when we were there. The hotel is located on a main road just on the outskirts of Sorrento but the 15 to 20 minute walk into the centre is relatively level and wasn't a problem. There was some noise from the road but unfortunately the most noise came from young American guests! Fortunately I have done enough travelling to always have earplugs with me so it wasn't a problem. All the staff were very friendly and the food was good and plentiful. What I really enjoyed most was getting away from the usual 3*/4* hotels where you could be anywhere in the world. I felt this was a typically Italian hotel that was more like a family home.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-Hotel-Londra, Manager at Hotel Londra, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Rosie

thanks a lot for choosing Hotel Londra. We always try to make our guest feel at home, and as we can read we did uit quite well. We will always try to improve our services and guest satisfaction. We really appreciate the effort on writing a review about us on TA, We hope to see you again soon in Sorrento..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We stayed at the hotel Londra recently and found the hotel to be badly in need of a makeover. The taps and shower heads were very old and tarnished the towels thinner than a dishtowel. and the furniture marked and stained. The beds were very comfortable and the room was cleaned daily. The breakfast was not very inspiring with stale bread and very little choice the coffee was also cold. Don't ask for a boiled egg as it will cost you 5 euros. It was quite noisy as other reviews have said but this didn't really bother us. It is quite a long walk into the centre. Dinner at night was a combination of Italian food and cheap frozen food. They also insisted on bringing a plate with bruchetta which would have broken your teeth if you tried to eat it. The pool area was ok although they painted the edge green which I still have stains on my clothes from. The hotel staff were not over friendly but the one positive person and a huge asset to this hotel was Anthony the barman who had a permanent smile on his face he came across as a very genuine young man and interested in the needs of the guests well done to him and wish him well. The tourist trade is an industry which is something that the management seem to have forgotten. Their barman Anthony could give them some lessons on this. Their main interest seems to be how much money they can make rather than the satisfactions of their clients,.

Room Tip: They are all basically similar but probably best away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-Hotel-Londra, Manager at Hotel Londra, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear guest

we're really sorry to read your words. We try to improve our services constantly, as you can read in other reviews and we reach the goal pretty always . On behalf of all the staff we thank you for sharing your opinion on Ta and we really hope to se you back in Sorrento one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant'Agnello
Quiet, Mid-rang...
Show More
0.1 mi away
Hotel Florida
Hotel Florida
#10 of 18 in Sant'Agnello
4.0 of 5 stars 235 reviews
Quiet, Restaura...
Show More
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Pergola
Hotel La Pergola
#17 of 18 in Sant'Agnello
4.0 of 5 stars 241 reviews
Free Breakfast...
Show More
0.1 mi away
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
#6 of 18 in Sant'Agnello
4.5 of 5 stars 677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mid-range, Inde...
Show More
1.7 mi away
Hotel Metropole
Hotel Metropole
#74 of 96 in Sorrento
3.5 of 5 stars 196 reviews
Mid-range, Pool...
Show More
0.3 mi away
Hotel Club Sorrento
Hotel Club Sorrento
#13 of 18 in Sant'Agnello
3.5 of 5 stars 299 reviews
Charming, Pool...
Show More
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
#3 of 18 in Sant'Agnello
4.5 of 5 stars 769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Londra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Londra

Address: Via Cocumella 12, 80065 Sant'Agnello, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sant'Agnello
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Sant'Agnello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Londra 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Tingo, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Hotel Londra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Londra Hotel Sorrento
Hotel Londra Italy/Province Of Naples

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Londra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.