We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Garden

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Villa Garden to your Saves list
Hotel Villa Garden
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Nuovo Rione Cappuccini 7 | Sorrento, 80065 Sant'Agnello, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Sant'Agnello
Manchester
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2009

We can only repeat and confirm all the great reviews that this hotel has received. We arrived 17th July for a 10 day stay and greeted in such a way that we immediately knew we were going to be well looked after in a relaxing, clean and friendly atmosphere. The real bonus, room 105, yes, 10 days in room 105 with that sprawling balcony, sea view and sunset, this made it difficult to hand the key back after our stay. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff and they offered good advice on local restaurants that served up the best fish dishes in Sorrento, try "Zin tonio". Close to the hotel and nice and quiet is Moonlight Restaurant, great food at a reasonable price and reliable. The snacks by the pool whilst a little on the expensive side were very nice and again served up by the friendly staff. Thanks to the two sisters who run this hotel and their mother who makes a different cake every day which were a delight. It is rare to find such quality of staff, but as they are mainly all family members and long term employees then you understand the level of expectation. We would like to thank you all at the hotel for the service, the laughs and the high standards you adhere to.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    31
    9
    3
    0
See reviews for
43
173
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2009

What can I say – this hotel was perfect. My husband and I have just returned from our honeymoon in Italy where we spent six nights in this fabulous hotel. It is hard to know where to start with our praise of this hotel. We had a front sea view room with a balcony which was so big it was more like a terrace. We had views out over the med and could see Naples and Mount Vesuvius. We could also just see Sorrento to the left of us. It was amazing at all times of day and night and I especially recommend staying on the balcony one evening to see the sun set with a glass of Prosecco. The view literally took our breath away.
The rooms were clean and beautifully decorated and the staff were very friendly and extremely helpful. The hotel only has 19 rooms so the staff always recognise you and when we were there (in early July) we sometimes even had the pool to ourselves and could always get a sun lounger each. The pool was lovely with lots of sunny and shaded areas all day long and the hotel provides towels for you to use. You can also order lunch and drinks by the pool which was lovely and refreshing.
The breakfast was amazing and you could order things like poached eggs on toast or fried eggs and bacon as well as having the very varied buffet (where you could even squeeze your own orange juice with beautiful fresh oranges!). For a surcharge you can also have breakfast delivered to your room – we did this one day and had it on our balcony which was absolutely amazing. The hotel don’t usually provide dinner but while we were there they had a special evening on the Saturday night where you could book to have dinner by the pool and try local cuisine – the food was beautiful (and there was plenty of it!) and the local Neapolitan music was lovely and very entertaining!
If you can drag yourself away from this beautiful, peaceful and amazing hotel then you can go into Sorrento itself. It is about a 20 minute walk but you can also get a regular bus (for which you can purchase tickets in the hotel – worth asking for a day pass if you’ll be using it more than three times in the day). The hotel can also help you organise day trips to Vesuvius, Pompeii, Capri and Ischia (as well as other places). We had our car so drove to Vesuvius and Pompeii. We also went to Capri but did this ourselves (you can get a regular boat from Sorrento) as the day trip the hotel were offering seemed a bit overpriced although I’m sure it would have been lovely!
If you hire a car (which I would not necessarily recommend as they do drive slightly crazily down there – but we had fun!) they do have a few passes letting you park for free outside the hotel – but these are obviously on a first come first serve basis.
As you can probably tell by now I cannot praise this hotel enough and had a truly amazing time there – made perfect by the beauty of the hotel and surroundings and the helpfulness and friendliness of the staff. It’s worth noting that if you stay for a long stay (we stayed for 6 nights which was classed as a long stay) you can get a 10% discount on your room. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and everyone and will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2009

We arrived in Sorrento without a reservation so we were lucky to find this Hotel in San'Agnello with an availablility!
The rooms were sparkling clean and modern with a fantastic view. Although I did not use the pool, it was a great area to relax and have a bite or a drink after a day of sightseeing. The staff was very pleasant and the breakfast room and service was excellant!
Othere comments:
It is a bit of a hassle to walk to the centre of town or to a restaurant. They told us it took 20 minutes at the front desk when we checked in, but in fact it takes about 35 minutes. The bus is not reliable, and we were charged 20 € for a taxi.
We also asked the staff to recommend a restaurant (not tourist trap), and they recommended http://www.zintoniomare.com/. I would not recommend it myself. The starters were really good, but the main meal wasn't the best and it was expensive. You pay for the view of the ocean. If that's what you want then that's okay.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2009

Hotel Villa Garden is about a 20-30 minute stroll from Sorrento in a residentaial area of Sant Angello. The moment we arrived at the hotel I felt peace and calm settle over me. The exterior is beautifully maintained as are all areas of the hotel. From the moment I walked into the hotel i was happy with our choice of hotel to spend our first anniversary. The reception is small but bright and airy, the staff are so amazingly friendly and nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are light and bright and spacious with good furniture and tasteful decor. Some people have mentioned the showers were of the hand held variety. This no longer seems to be the case and the 2 rooms we saw had full showers with lots of different settings etc. the bathrooms are well maintained and spacious enough. The breakfasts are buffet style with a decent enought choice and the option to have a cooked breakfast if desired. The views from the breakfast room are amazing too. There is a choice of sandwiches, hamburgers, fries, salads etc. The bar is open all the time it seems and the lounge room/bar area is relaxing with well maintained with lovely furniture. I thought the pool/pool area may have been a bit small from pics i had seen, but when we arrived and saw it there were no issues there either. I reluctantly admit i am a bit of a hotel snob and i like to stay in nice hotels when abroad. I was concerned that this hotel may be a little small as i prefer the blend rather than feel people are 'in my face' but this is seriously not the case. the hotel is amazing. go!!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2009

if your planning a trip to southern italy and are looking for peace and quiet in a comfortable hotel thats spotlessly clean and serves an excellent breakfast in a dining area with wonderful panaramic views. look no futher check this one out!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2009

We stayed at the Villa Garden hotel for three nights in May of 2009. First of all, the staff was so warm and helpful and welcoming that we found it hard to say goodbye(especially Gabriella). The hotel itself has every amenity one could want and the views are jaw-dropping from every room. The breakfast was spectacular and the breakfast room is like no other, perched above the sea. Immaculately clean and not one of those huge hotels where you are just a number. This is much more intimate with very personal attention to every detail. It's walking distance from the center of Sorrento and a real sanctuary we didn't want to leave. We will be back!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2009

A little late writing this review as we stayed here in 2006 for our honeymoon!

The hotel is small (but not too small) and the staff are so friendly and helpful - we stayed in the Ninfea suite and could see the sea from our bed and Mount Vesuvius from the window of our living areas.

It was September so fairly quiet and we had the pool to ourtselves somedays, a nice place to have lunch btw the staff bring it out to you and set you up a little table.

There are a couple of restaurants nearby and ther eis always the walk into Sorrento - which is quite long and windy but nothing to complain about. I personally found sorrento really touristy and not what I expected at all so I was glad we chose Sant Angello.

Would recommend and will defintely be going back at some point in the future.

  • Liked — The beautiful views
  • Disliked — Not a huge choice of restaurants in the surrounding area
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Villa Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Garden

Address: Via Nuovo Rione Cappuccini 7 | Sorrento, 80065 Sant'Agnello, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sant'Agnello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#8 Family Hotel in Sant'Agnello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Garden 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Garden is a refined boutique hotel located in the Peninsula of Sorrento, on a rocky spur directly above the sea. The breathtaking panorama one enjoys from the Belvedere encompasses the entire Bay of Naples, with the majestic Vesuvius, the gentle hills and the picturesque villages dotted along the coast immersed in the luscious green vegetation. A real corner of Paradise, where the ancient Romans built a splendid villa and where the great European painters of the 17th and 18th century came to seek inspiration for their magnificent paintings. Today this is the ideal place for relaxing and romantic stays, to discover Sorrento, Capri, Pompeii, the Amalfi Coast and other gems of this blessed land. The villa has been completely restructured but in full respect of the original architecture. It's 19 rooms are finely furnished, many of these have balcony and sea view. The personal care of the owners, the courtesy of the Staff, the intimate and elegant atmosphere, make of Villa Garden a "Hotel de Charme". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Venere, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Villa Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Hotel Sant Agnello
Hotel Villa Garden Italy/Province Of Naples

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.