We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely relaxed hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Parco Del Sole

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Parco Del Sole to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Parco Del Sole
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via dei Gerani 1 | Corso Italia, 80065 Sant'Agnello, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 18 Hotels in Sant'Agnello
Wicklow, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lovely relaxed hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2009

This is a really nice hotel, rooms cleaned twice daily, lovely pool area. Downsides; no mini bar in room so nowhere to chill your bottles of water. The hotel didn't allow you to bring water etc into pool area if it was bought elsewhere. No atmosphere in the evening in hotel.
We stayed there for 2 weeks which was way too long. probably suit older couples.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    231
    103
    56
    34
See reviews for
135
243
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2009

The hotel was set in lovely gardens with lemon trees.The service was excellent, the staff couldn't do too much for us.
The resturant food and atmosphere great.The only down side I can say is the room overlooked the pool which was great but the balcony was blocked by a wall either side which made it cramped for two people.ST Agnello is an excellent place to see pompeiii ,Naples or Herculanium.Use the trains to go to pompeii, the station is only a short walk away, the train station is right outside pompeii, and the train costs were cheap approx 3euros return

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2009

All in all a good hotel. Room was spacious but a little old-fashioned but that didnt matter too much. If you get the Curreru Viaggi bus (can drag on due to traffic 1.5 to 2 hours) from Naples airport it is 10 euros pp and it takes you about a 5 min (flat!!) walk to the hotel.
A real plus for the hotel is the pool, it is very spacious and clean. Absolutly spot on if you want to chill out by the pool for a day.

From the hotel you can either have a very pleasant 15 minute walk into Sorrento or there is a shuttle service (runs about 4 times a day each way). A bit of advice, if you do like a fairly cheap drink there is a pub opposite the hotel and a bar just outside. A pint is 4 euros wheras in Sorrento you are talking 6 euro plus.

The train station for St Agnello is about a 5 minute walk and you can get to Sorrento, Pompei etc on that.

As for visiting Capri we got the Hydrofoil boat for 27 euros each which may not have been the best idea. To really explore I recommend hiring a self-drive speed boat (holds 5 people) as we did on Friday. It is fairly expensive £200 for the day (that has gas, insurance etc included) but definitely recommended you can take the boat quite a way out (we got all the way to Amalfi) and stop at the pleasant other towns on the way. Beware that when you get into the harbours you will need to give about 10 euro for them to park the boat. Luckily, we met another couple a few days before and we split the bill so not so bad!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durham,
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2009

We were pleasently suprised following our late booking by the impressive drive and fountain at the entrance and were able to access our room at 1200 noon following a early morning flight. The complimentry chilled bottle of champagne was a refreshhing start to our hols. Our room was a little small, and the hotel a little dated but it was very clean and the staff were very helpful. Unfortunately if you want a late lunch make sure you get it before 1430 as food is not available between 1430 and 1900 hours. which for a four star hotel was a little dissappointing.The al carte meals in the hotel were very good with fresh salads and pastas for starters and a choice of four or five main courses. Plenty of fresh fruit and gateaus for deserts. Drinks at the hotel were a littlre pricey with beer at 4 euros and a bottle of wine for 12 to 20 euros, but this was probably cheaper than the norm in Sorrento. The hotels courtesy bus to Sorrento worked well. Entertainment on an evening was limited but the hotel pool was very refreshing with plenty of sunbeds and towells avaialble at all times
We did a number of trips and were initially undecided to go with Thomsons or find our own way. We went to Pompei by using the train from the local station (five minutes walk) 3 euros return and the Pompei station was only 50 metres from the entrance to the site. 12 euros entrance and we were in with no waiting. Guides were available at 10 euros per person but we did our own thing at our own pace and felt this was better. A must see visit.
We booked with Thomsons to do the Amalfi drive and this was the best trip 33 euros but you pay extra if you want the boat trip 10 euros and lunch 13 euros. Both were very good. Our guide Giovanni was an absolute scream and made this a great trip. Amazing veiws and very beautiful scenery
We found our own way to the Isle of Capri, catching the bus from outside the hotel to the port and then catching the ferry to the island. Easy to do and again very beautiful. Well worth doing.
Must do,s are the welcome meeting. Alan our rep who was very good talked to us for about 20 minutes with no pressure to buy trips, then walked us all around St Agnellia before taking us in the courtesy bus to Sorrento and walking us around their. A great introduction to the area and would definetely recommend this particularly if you don,t normally do welcome meetings
Overall we had a great holiday, enjoyed our stay at the hotel and would recommend both the location and the hotel. One down side is the road outside the hotel is v ery busy with narrow footpaths so no pleasure in walking out on a night

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2009

We stayed at the hotel for 10 nights. The reception area and staff are lovely. Breakfast was a fairly typical european buffet with cereals, bread, rolls, pastries, cheese, cold meat, fruit and boiled eggs with bacon, hot dog type sausages and scrambled egg. We didn't eat in the hotel except for breakfast and chose instead eat outside for lunch or dinner as any food or drink bought in the hotel has to be charged to your room rather than paid for at the time. Hotel is about 5 mins walk from centre of San't Agnello. Very good and cheap local train service running from Sorrento to Naples (includes Pompei). We were coming from Rome, got train to Naples then the local line to San't Agnello. Turn right when you come out the station and follow the main road and you'll reach the hotel on your left. Come out the hotel and turn left and a 20 minute walk along the main road will take you into the town of Sorrento. There's also a 4 x daily shuttle bus from the hotel to Sorrento. Room was a decent size with AC, in room safe and large bathroom and small balcony. It has a small TV but only English channel is BBC world News. There's a twice daily maid service and towel service for the pool. The pool area was quite small. It was fine when we were there with pleanty space and sun loungers but I imagine it would get very busy in the height of summer. There are a few local restaurants, shops, cafes and a supermarket but we went into Sorrento most nights (would highly recommend La Laterna on Via S Cesareo).

Overall no complaints about the hotel but if I went back to this part of Italy I would stay in Sorrento as we like to try different places rather than eat in the hotel all the time and you are a bit limited with San't Agnello. Would probably also get an appartment rather than hotel to ake the most of the fantastic local produce!

Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sale
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2009

We visited this hotel in the first week of june 2009. The most important thing is that it is situated in a large garden which means you are away from a very noisy main road. The hotel is situated about 20 minutes walk from sorrento centre, however, the hotel does provide a shuttle bus service which was very punctual. The food was OK, with a choice of 4 starters and 4 main courses with a choice of dessert. They also provide 2 buffets during the week which were very good. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Our main criticism was that the communal areas such as the corridors need new carpet and decoration, however, this didn't detract from the overall experience of the hotel. We had a large balcony which we requested, yet some other guests were disappointed with their balcony arrangements. If we were going to visit sorrento again, I would be quite happy to stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merseyside
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2009

This is a nice hotel in pretty gardens.
Cleanliness - Excellent - room cleaned perfectly each day, fresh bedlinen twice weekly, fresh towels daily.
Pool - wonderful, lots of beds and pool towels free.
Restaurant - Cool clean and very good staff
Food - Quite good, good selection each evening and nicely presented. Salad bar and puds on a buffet basis. Fresh and wholesome.
Room - Nice and big, Lots of storage space and hangers,large balcony, large bathroom., free aircon.
Staff - wonderful.
The downside is that the hotel is on a very busy road, nose to tail every day all day. It is quite stressful to come into the road and walk anywhere at all, due to noise, smell and fumes from traffic.
Also, there are 2 buffet nights in the restaurant. The food is excellent and plentiful, however the Maitre insists no one goes to the buffet until everyone is seated. You can imagine the pandemonium. It would improve things if he would allow everyone to go to the buffet on arrival, therefore alleviating the crush. Maybe its his idea of a joke?
Use the free shuttle bus, it will save you a fortune, the busses are now 2e each person each way. Trains are 2.20e return into Sorrento.
I would recommend the hotel, but be prepared for the traffic.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Parco Del Sole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Parco Del Sole

Address: Via dei Gerani 1 | Corso Italia, 80065 Sant'Agnello, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sant'Agnello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Sant'Agnello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Parco Del Sole 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Parco del Sole has been built combining a classic Mediterranean style with all modern comforts. It stands in a private park, (that belongs to the hotel), among a luxurious vegetation of lemon and orange groves. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Despegar.com so you can book your Grand Hotel Parco Del Sole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sant Agnello
Grand Hotel Parco Del Sole Italy/Province Of Naples

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Parco Del Sole, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.