We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delivers a sound performance in every aspect” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Majestic Palace Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Majestic Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Majestic Palace Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corso Marion Crawford 40, I-80065 Sant'Agnello, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Sant'Agnello
Beverley
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Delivers a sound performance in every aspect”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

This is a package tour hotel, and with most people on half board it is what it is. That said for mass produced meals the standard of cuisine is very good. There was only one meal which was poor, I suspect it was Chefs night off. In every other aspect the Hotel was sound. It was clean, efficient and with good staff. The location close to rail and bus made travel to Pompeii etc very easy and cheap. Be warned that the Positano bus gets full by St Agnello, so go one stop on Circumsevania to get the bus in Sorrento. For eight Euros upgrade the City Bus tour offers us a decent alternative. Get the boat back from Amalfi
to Sorrento, it is one of the most beautiful trips I have seen.

Room Tip: Go for high floor for views. Standard Thomson offer is in the basement, and I personally didn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    186
    58
    24
    6
See reviews for
127
268
4
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

From the moment we arrived to the moment we left the staff were fantastic. The guys on reception were always helpful and nothing was too much trouble. Nice people doing a hard job. The food was excellent and the waiter service brilliant. Angelina and Pepe served us the majority of the time and they couldn't have been more helpful. Good luck with your exams Pepe. They really do have an unenviable task of pleasing the guests and making their stay pleasurable. The pool is very deep but there is an area to the side where you can sit and take in the rays. The Amalfi Coast is fantastic but the buses can be a bit scary. A visit to Capri is a trip worth taking and make sure you take a boat trip around the island. The ticket office adjacent to the boat landing platform is the best option. It's a large boat and takes to the waves better than the smaller boats. The Majestic Palace is quite away from Sorrento so take the buses. Doesn't cost a lot and well worth saving the 30 minute walk. Buses at the back of the hotel (turn left out of the hotel) run straight into the port. Buses at the front, on the main road, run into the centre of town. Sometimes you have to wait for them but not a real problem. Only down side were three of the guests. One old rather short man, accused me of taking his sun chair when there was no-one sitting in it. Boy, could he go on. Time to get a life. Guests said that he was a very rude man. Another chubby woman who had nothing to do with the argument joined in and said that we had sat on 5 chairs since they had been there. Must have been watching us. Very sad….. The worst was a rather overweight brit who after the argument said in the morning at breakfast to new guests that it was much more civilised now, referring to the sunbeds. What he neglected to say was that he was always first in the queue in the morning and he and his wife left their sunbeds for hours at a time. Other guests also said that he was a hypocrite and they would go out of their way to avoid him. They all must base their holidays on whether or not they can get a sunbed. Anyway it was the end of our holiday and it doesn't detract from this marvellous little hotel. If you get a chance go there you won't be disappointed. Make sure you visit Tony's bar at the top of the road. Brilliant place and Tony is a fantastic Italian.

Room Tip: Chose a room at the back if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

My family and i have just got back yesterday from staying in this hotel for two weeks, first impressions of this hotel is old Italian charm with marble floors in the public arears, statues, paintings and shandeliers.
The greatest assest of the hotel is its staff who are all welcoming,helpful and friendly.
However this hotel is in need of a little re-furbishment as on first impressions furniture in public sitting rooms, ie the sofas look really good but when you have sat down you can see that the arms especially on the cream sofas are quite dirty and in need of cleaning.
We were allocated basement rooms as we had booked 2 rooms as we were a party of 2 adults and 2 teenage kids, the room i shared with my daughter was quite a nice sized room, however there were not many electric sockets and none of the adapters that we had taken with us and alot of them were new adapters fitted the sockets except for one in the bathroom. the bedroom furniture was of good quality but there are very few hangers and the ones there were what other guests had left behind, lucky that we had taken some of our own. The reading lights either side of our bed did not work and i reported this to reception but this was not resolved and on later expection realised there were no light bulbs and none were replaced during our stay. My husband and son stayed in room 19 and their room had the same problem with there not being many sockets and the adapters not fitting aswell and not many hangers in the wardrobe. He also had to move rooms after the 1st week as other guests in the room next door were noisy with loud music and tv on late at night. His new room next to ours was room six that was a bigger room with a bath and seperate shower cubicle but the shower did not work properly and the shower tray had black dirt or mold in the corners and again the same problem with the sockets.
Our cleaner was very nice and friendly and changed our towels virtually every day, however the bedlinen was supposed to be changed twice a week but i am afraid to say that my white sheet was on my bed for at least 10 days(I know this because there was a make up stain on the sheet)
On my daughters bed the top cover was freid in the middle with a hole in it.
The pool area is nice and the sunbeds have individual sunscreens that you can manouver around to suit yourself that is nice, the pool does not really have a shallow end as such but does have a jaccuzie at the corner by the steps.
The breakfast at this hotel is the best meal as its buffet style with the usual fare you have although scrambled eggs were on every day and i am not sure how these managed to be rock hard every day. But there are other nice things to have there.
The evening meals are up and down at this hotel, the things they do well are pasta, ravioli, risotto and some of the fish is good so long as its not in their sloppy thick wet batter, meaat dishes were tough and often chewy and other guests we spoke to were also disappointed with the food at this hotel, some of the sweets were nice. You also have to reserve the time you wish to eat each morning. You can if you wish have 2 starters instead of a starter and main.
The wine at this hotel is expensive starting at 20 Euros a bottle but you can buy a glass of wine, however at the begining of the holiday the glasses were large, on our last night they had changed everyone's glasses to a smaller glass.
We came to this hotel to celebrate our silver wedding anniversary and this was stated on our holiday confirmation, we had read previously read on trip adviser that the hotel acknowleges celebrations, however our anniversary was not acknowledged and our anniversary was on the 8th July, we took our cards with us to open and they were put in my room, my daughter even mentioned it to the matridee at the evening meal and he did ask me if this were the case andthat was it, later in our holiday we were talking to another couple who had booked a balcony room as it was their anniversary on the 10th June, they had flowers in there room on arrival and was sent a bottle of champagne, other guests celebrating birthdays had a cake with candle bought to them at their table as a surprise and the couple who also celebrated their silver wedding advised they had spoken to a couple who were on honeymoon who were also in basement rooms had no acknowledegement of this either so it must only be balcony rooms that had celebrations acknowldged by the management!
The resort is mainly residential with a few bars and a train station that you can go to sorrento and to naples, pompai and herculaneum. Do not bother booking the Amalfie drive with Thomson, they charge 110 Euros per person, there is a travel agents by the train station were you can book most of the excursions with much cheaper than thomson, ie 35 euros initally for the amalfie drive, then if you wish to book the boat trip around the coast 1Thomson charge and its the same excursion.
Pompai and Herculaneum is just 5.20 euros return on the train and to go into both sites its 11 Euros per adult and no charge for under 18's but take id for under 18's.
To go to sorrento go on the train its just 1.30 Euros each way and less crowded and quicker.
Sorrento is very nice with bars and shops and nice views although its very busy both in the day and at night, avoid the restaurants thomson recomomed as they are more expensive and drinks in the area are expensive. Taxi fare from sorrento to the hotel is 20 Euros or you can walk back and it takes approx 30 mins to walk from the hotel, there are 2 routes, one along the main road and the other is by turning left out of the hotel that is much better and you do not breath in all the car fumes.
Despite what i have written we have had a nice holiday and have had a nice anniversary, hwever i do not think at present the hotel is of its 4 start rating based on other 4 and 5 star hotels we hav e stayed in previously.

Room Tip: Book a balcony room for the best views and service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geppi R, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Majestic Palace Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Jayne63,

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel for your special holiday in Sorrento.
We do apologize for the inconvenience and some trouble you had during your stay, we are very sorry and some of the things you reported have been already changed or modified.
Regarding the anniversary and honeymoons, are reported to us directly by thomson, in your case we didn't know nothing, we had any report from the travel agency. We don't arrange complimentary cake, flowers or sparkling wine depending on the type of room booked but only under a request and a report from thomson.
We suggest to our guests when there are inconvenience, doubts or question to take contact directly with our Front Desk Staff in order to resolve any problems as quickly as possible.
Hoping to welcome you back soon

Grazie mille

KInd regards
Giuseppe Cannavale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I came here for 10 days as our first trip it Italy. The hotel was fabulous, with its old Italian charm. It was exactly as I had hoped for and more. The staff, service, food, accommodation, etc were 5/5; you could not fault their efforts to go above and beyond to make our stay a happy one. It was our wedding anniversary whilst we were there and we had flowers in our room and a complimentary bottle of 'good' champagne delivered. The views were magnificent and the room was very roomy and SO comfortable. The bed was excellent as I have back problems and was very pleased with the comfort and support. They have a visitors book in reception and one guest had been coming for 11 years and still gave it compliments. If we are back this way again we will certainly be staying here. Yes the shower cubicle could be renewed but that is the only fault I could find. Thank you Majestic Palace for such an amazing stay! Xx

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

hotel is much nicer than in the pictures. All the staff are fantastic, very friendly, cheerful and helpful. There were singers on two of the evenings who were fantastic but we didn't know about them til we arrived back and only caught the end of them the first time, maybe they could make it know that there would be singers. Also there was another evening where guitar and maybe sitar/lute? was played with a bit of singing in the dining room. The food was very nice - a small salad laid out each evening and then a choice of 3 or 4 starters and 3 or 4 mains that were served at your table and a few desserts laid out for you to choose at the end. Breakfast was continental but they did have a few cooked items such as scramble egg, bacon, tomatoes and beansand boiled eggs. There was also a toaster and superb coffee machine where you could help yourself to cappuccino, latte,hot chocolate,expresso and hotwater and milk. A few small points were that we were overlooking the pool, but room had a great tree outside so couldn't get any sun and the pool was quite small with a small sunbathing area as parts were shady because of the trees, and sorento was about an half hour into town walking but on bus maybe 15 if you don't get lost, this said we would definitely go back for atmosphere and kindness shown and not far from train staff or bus stop

Room Tip: don't have room 114, ask for 110 (both are overlooking pool and front of hotel) as this had a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

My family and I found the Majestic Palace Hotel to be everything that we could possibly need or want. First and foremost, Giuseppe, the concierge was amazing. We had a difficult experience with the people that ran the trip to Capri and he made sure that we were fully reimbursed. And quickly! The rooms were very comfortable and Giuseppe made sure our requests for location of our rooms were respected. The morning buffet was amazing, as well as the dinner fare. The pool was very enjoyable at the end of a long day of touristing! We only wish it could have been opened a little later than 7pm. Our only complaint is the showers in the bathrooms. They were kind of awkward in how they were situated, but that might be a European thing. We would totally recommend this facility to any of our friends and return there in the future.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Stayed in the majestic last week in June and first in July. If it wasn't for the staff and the meals it would have been 14 days too many. The hotel needs a make over big time. Our room had holes in walls and plaster coming off walls. Bathroom was 2 star at best. The hotel does not even have a ramp or decent access when you arrive. You have to haul your cases up a stair to get in. The surrounding area is dingy with poor footpaths and roads. If you get a chance to go there, don't.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Majestic Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Majestic Palace Hotel

Address: Corso Marion Crawford 40, I-80065 Sant'Agnello, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sant'Agnello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#10 Family Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#10 Romantic Hotel in Sant'Agnello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Majestic Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immersed in a big park by citrus groves and beautiful villas, the Hotel Majestic Palace welcomes its guests in a refined and warm atmosphere at the same time. Thanks to its location, within walking distance from the sea and the main square of Sorrento, the Hotel is the ideal starting point for discovering the most beautiful and evocative sights of Sorrento area, Amalfi, Capri, Pompeii, etc., to spend in short, a seaside vacation culture or relaxing moments. Built in a Mediterranean style, the Hotel Majestic Palace has large indoor and outdoor spaces. Attention to even the smallest details, the Majestic Palace Hotel offers to the guests excellent services and facilities: pool restaurant at lunch, pizzeria, Don Geppi Restaurant open for dinner, swimming pool with Jacuzzi, solarium, beauty center and possibility to enjoy beautiful excursions by sea and by land. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Otel, Odigeo, Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Majestic Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Majestic Palace
Majestic Palace Sorrento
Majestic Palace Sant Agnello
Majestic Palace Hotel Italy/Province Of Naples

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Majestic Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.