We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Summer vacation option” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Majestic Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Majestic Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Majestic Palace Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corso Marion Crawford 40, I-80065 Sant'Agnello, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Sant'Agnello
Denver, Colorado
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Summer vacation option”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

4 night stay with wife and 23 yo daughter.Looking for access to sites and the Mediterranean. Found the hotel to be very nice and clean. Although breakfast seemed to be geared to visitors from Great Brittian, it worked just fine for us too. Centrally located to visit the Amalfi Coast, Pompeii and Sorrento itself. For us the best part was a 2-3 block walk to the Sea with a nice facility to hang out on the water. Contrary to what some others have said, found many great places to eat within a few blocks and walking to Sorrento itself for dinner was enjoyable and provided additional dining options.A very nice experience and good choice. We highly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    186
    58
    24
    6
See reviews for
127
268
4
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

from the moment we arrived at the majestic palace the staff where courteous and efficient. dinner had been kept for us as we didn't arrive till past ten and check in took minutes.

the hotel is full of beautiful objects and paintings and has an 'old world' feeling about it. it is clearly very well run as everything works so well; the staff are efficient, the rooms are clean, and front desk never flustered. if the rooms where given an overhaul this could be a five star hotel. and can you please put full length mirrors in the rooms!

we where on half board, which included a 4 course evening meal. although i wouldn't say the food was bad, it wasn't great, just good enough to keep having it as it was included. although the staff more than made up for it and the breakfasts where very good but take marmite!

We had planned to explore at night but the bar area was lovely and the bar so well run, not to mention they had great cocktails, that we only ventured out one night all week. But i didn’t feel that i had missed out.

we travelled with Thompson’s, i don't usually do packages but it was painless and the transfer was just over an hour by coach. the traffic in Sorrento can be terrible and can make a short journey take hours, no-ones fault but it is something to be aware of. the train station is about a 5-10 min walk and trains run twice an hour and can take you into Sorrento in a few mins or all the way to Naples. the local bus is also twice an hour and is a few mins into Sorrento, otherwise you have a half hour walk. i wouldn't recommend the Thompson’s tours, they are hugely overpriced and not worth the effort when for a few euros you can go by yourself.

but all in all this was a very relaxing and enjoyable holiday and i would go back and probalby take the kids next time!

Room Tip: choose a room on a higher floor at the back of the hotel - garden view as it is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

As mentioned in previous reviews, the staff make this hotel special. Professional and polite at all times, you feel that they actually enjoy serving you!
As for the hotel itself, it is adequate and pleasant but does need some updating especially the corridors and rooms in the basement. We stayed in a basement room, which was fine for our needs and had some lovely antique furniture. However, a little more attention could be paid to cleaning. Although, it is always superficially clean (linens, towels) there was dust on the sockets, lights and under the bed. The corridors in the basement had a bit of a musty smell and some mould on the walls and cobwebs in corners. Not horrible, but felt a little unloved compared to other corridors. Try to upgrade if you can afford it.
Meals - generally very good and quality was of a high standard. Excellent service from all staff. They are a little hasty to clean up after you, though, especially after breakfast. More choice for vegetarians needed. Breakfast fine. Would be nice to have free water with dinner as become rather expensive.
Bar- expensive but superb quality. Cocktails are fantastic; in fact the best we had tried in Italy! Clean and lovely setting by the pool.Had no problems in settling the bill and you can insist on paying as you go.
Pool- large selection of sunbeds. Pool very deep but clean.
Location- quiet, set in a residential area with some lovely authentic shops (bakers, gelataria). We walked into Sorrento a few times, but a little too far for a daily visit. Local buses unreliable and overcrowded (although cheap) would be a fantastic idea for the hotel to provide a shuttle bus, even at a small charge.
Overall, a good hotel that we would probably return too but would stay in an upgraded room next time.

Room Tip: Upper rooms facing the garden are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

This was our first visit to Italy and what a visit it was! The staff in the restaurant were extremely accommodating and helpful as were the rest of the staff, who always made us feel very welcome.There were 4 course meals every night and a breakfast buffet every morning with a good range of food and drink. The room was comfortable and very clean. Outside our room we had a lovely shared terrace. The hotel is situated on a quiet street in Sant' Agnello with a bus stop and train station within easy walking distance. There is a swimming pool, which is deep (3 metres in places) with ample loungers and seats to relax in. We felt totally spoilt and I don't see why this hotel paradise isn't 5 star!!!

Overall, a lovely hotel! Bravissimo Majestic Palace!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geppi R, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Majestic Palace Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear MattyA500,

Thank you very much for choosing the Majestic Palace Hotel for your holiday in Sorrento.
Thank you so much for your lovely review and for sharing it on TriAdvisor! We are very pleased to know that you appreciated our hotel and in particular our location, your room, pool, food and our Staff!
Hoping to welcome you back in the near future

Grazie

Best Regards
Giuseppe Cannavale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

This was our third visit to the Majestic Palace and once again, the Hotel reminded us why we came back once more.

The Hotel is superbly clean and they had made some nice improvements with the addition of an outside dining area and improved the look of the Bar. The Hotel was extremely clean as always and the grand statues and marble never fails to invoke a sense of marvel.

The Hotel's real jewel however is the Service. They are extremely pleasant and should you have any request at all, they always come through for you with the upmost elegance. Enzo and the Team in the Dining Room are superbly efficient, Danilo behind the bar is a star and Antonio who tends to the Pool and other duties is a real gentleman.

I notice some visitors criticise the rooms. What I would say is that they are true Italian style and a refreshing break from the samey UK style. I would recommend however, that you book a Balcony room.

In summary, if you want a true Italian style Hotel, with excellent service and good food; visit the Majestic Palace.

We look forward to our return.

Room Tip: The Balcony rooms are the best option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geppi R, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Majestic Palace Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Ally M,

Thank you so much for choosing our Hotel for the 3rd time for your stay in Sorrento!
We are very pride to read your review and your lovely words, because we know that our work is appreciated by our guests and it's gratifying for us!
Looking forward to welcome you back for the 4th visit...

Grazie and Arrivederci
Giuseppe Cannavale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We've just returned from the Majestic Hotel on this our first holiday to Italy. We'd read previous comments here on Trip Advisor and had high expectations which were not disappointed. The hotel was very well-kept and well-furnished both outside and in. The pool area was well-equipped with an ample amount of sun loungers with a bar open throughout the day and was very popular with all the guests! The fully air-conditioned rooms were equally well-furnished and comfortable. A twenty minute walk to Piazza Tasso in Sorrento was pleasant and encompassed some spots to unwind overlooking the Bay of Naples or relax in one of the lemon groves. Close to the Circumvesuviana station for Sant'Agnello was also ideal for catching a cheaply priced train to Naples and Pompeii amongst others. We enjoyed the food for our evening meals but perhaps some more variety would make it even better. The restaurant and bar staff should be commended for their friendly persona especially to Danilo who was very friendly and efficient and served us with a smile each night.

A thoroughly enjoyable holiday made all the more worthwhile by the Majestic Palace Hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geppi R, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Majestic Palace Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear frankayak,

Thank you so much for choosing our hotel and for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.
We are very glad to know that you had a great time here with us and we really hope to welcoming you back soon!

Grazie

Best Regards
Giuseppe Cannavale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Didn't stay here but went to the entertainment a few times and with permission, were allowed to use the pool when it was quiet.The pool/ bar area is very attractive as is the inside of the hotel. Lots of rooms with interesting and tasteful decor to sit in and relax. It is in a quiet street off the main Naples to Sorrento Road so easy walk to buses and train station. Quite close to the sea as well. Definitely stay for the entertainment when 'Soul Food' vocalists are playing. They were superb! The staff were absolutley wonderful, especially Vincente and Daniolo who made us feel really welcome.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Majestic Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Majestic Palace Hotel

Address: Corso Marion Crawford 40, I-80065 Sant'Agnello, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sant'Agnello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#10 Romantic Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#11 Family Hotel in Sant'Agnello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Majestic Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immersed in a big park by citrus groves and beautiful villas, the Hotel Majestic Palace welcomes its guests in a refined and warm atmosphere at the same time. Thanks to its location, within walking distance from the sea and the main square of Sorrento, the Hotel is the ideal starting point for discovering the most beautiful and evocative sights of Sorrento area, Amalfi, Capri, Pompeii, etc., to spend in short, a seaside vacation culture or relaxing moments. Built in a Mediterranean style, the Hotel Majestic Palace has large indoor and outdoor spaces. Attention to even the smallest details, the Majestic Palace Hotel offers to the guests excellent services and facilities: pool restaurant at lunch, pizzeria, Don Geppi Restaurant open for dinner, swimming pool with Jacuzzi, solarium, beauty center and possibility to enjoy beautiful excursions by sea and by land. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Majestic Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Majestic Palace
Majestic Palace Sorrento
Majestic Palace Sant Agnello
Majestic Palace Hotel Italy/Province Of Naples

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Majestic Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.