We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It could be better” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel la Pace

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel la Pace to your Saves list
Grand Hotel la Pace
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Tordara, 10, 80065 Sant'Agnello, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Sant'Agnello
Lausanne, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“It could be better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2009

The hotel is in a quiet location. The facilities are OK. However, the service is far from that of a five stars hotel Grand Hotel Pace boasts to be. The breakfast is mediocre and a spremuta di arancia was served that was watery and tasteless.
Worst, one of the drivers of the shuttle to Sorrento was very rude.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

619 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    184
    110
    35
    17
See reviews for
113
321
13
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Mids, UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2009

Upon arrival in Sorrento, we were unhappy with the awful location of our original choice and subsequently asked to move to the five star hotel in the same chain of establishments. The hotel itself certainly tries hard to look like a five star, but upon closer inspection there lay numerous disappointments.

Although the reception staff were generally polite and helpful, the demeanour and attitude of the waiting staff left a great deal to be desired. During breakfast on our first morning, it seemed that the request of an espresso and a cappuccino was far too much trouble for our waiter. We then overheard another member of the staff mimicking a guest’s mis-pronunciation of the word “espresso”. It is a shame that the staff could not appreciate the attempt of others to speak their language and their laissez-faire attitude was tiresome and basically, rude. Tables were not cleaned promptly and although there was a fair choice of food, the quality was lacking, especially the watered down fruit juice, dispensed from a machine. Nor would I recommend the restaurant. The food was nothing special and obviously bought in bulk and made from sachets.

My partner and I were given a top floor executive suite. OK, there was a sitting room and a corridor, but some of the balconies overlooked the mountains and pylons, in addition to having a dog constantly barking, noisy motorbikes and an occasional smell of horse manure. Servicing of the rooms was pretty erratic; a fruit bowl appeared two days into our stay and the turn down service appeared once. In addition, the bedroom was very noisy and our sleep was accompanied by ambient banging from all around us. This did not improve, even after we complained in the early hours during our first night of interrupted sleep. Onto the bathroom....having double sinks does not make a hotel five star! The shower curtain was mouldy along the bottom, there were black marks on the wall where the shower rail had been moved so often and it was IMPOSSIBLE to regulate the temperature of the water. We complained about this and nothing was done, so we spent the rest of our stay stepping in and out of a freezing/boiling shower.

The pool area was crowded with children throughout the day and absolutely deserted during the evening. There was no welcoming communal area as such and this was a surprise as we were so far away from civilisation. This is a major point to consider when booking this hotel. It is a fair distance from Sorrento (there is nothing in Sant Agnello) and it is impossible to walk into town. There is a free shuttle service, although it doesn’t run as frequently as it should. This is something the hotel needs to address as the taxi journey is extremely expensive (£25.00 plus for a one way journey) and the drivers reach ridiculous speeds on the street approaching the hotel, so fast that it can spoil your evening!

This review may seem over-critical but I expect MUCH more from a five star hotel, at the very least, a shower with warm water at a regulated temperature! We ate our final meal of our stay at the Bellevue Syrene hotel – a true five star in many respects with tremendous views over the bay towards Vesuvius, expensive but marvellous food. Grand Hotel La Pace is not a five star hotel by any standards and although the prices reflect this fact, I have paid less to stay in much better three star hotels in Italy.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2009

We stayed for 10 nights, July 4-14, 2009, and enjoyed it immensely! Great peaceful, clean, and safe place to stay. Saw previous reviews but got such a good deal on price thought we would decide for ourselves when we arrived. ln Europe a 5 star rating means they have spa facilities. They do. Hotel has elevators. We got a double room with view of old country garden wall with lovely flowering vines and Mountains in the background we could open our french door to hear the lovely singing of birds. They put fruit basket and spumante in our room. The room was pleasant and clean with plenty of towels for all needs. Room service was consistent. We had a fridge and safe in the room and plenty of closet space and drawers. Comfortable beds, we opted for twins pushed together, and it was fine. We had great air conditioning. If you need to iron, they have an designated room you can go to for that, as it is not allowed in the individual rooms as they are very fire safety aware. Breakfast buffet was abundant and well organized by staff, with wide variety of food. It is served from 7-10am daily and is included in room price. It is all you can eat and includes cappuccinos, espresso's, champagne, bottled water and juice choices. Hot fresh real scrambled eggs, bacon, boiled eggs, tons of fresh pastry's, fruits, yogurt favors, breads, toaster, meats and cheese's. Wait staff are attentive friendly and hard working! They speak English. Pool is clean and wonderful to lounge by all day! It has views of bay of Naples from a distance, and vineyards on hillsides and mountains. Lunch is available by pool area, upstairs from reception. Lunch choices are good with local fare such as seafood or caprese salads or pasta or pizza or omelets, or burgers, fries etc. Bar is open for breakfast, and also for lunch 11-2pm. Bar is open for drinks from 10am till 12:00am midnight and has good variety. Beer in Plastic cups permitted by pool, but you get glass in the actual pool area bar. Pool towels provided by bar daily and clean! Pool closes at 7:00pm. Hotel shuttle (included in room price) is on time and sometimes early, so be Prompt by 10 minutes. Rides are free! Rides to Sorrento are 9 and 10,am and at 4,6,8, and 11pm. Ride takes about 7 minutes. Each ride drops of and picks up at each point. If you miss it, you will pay $25 euro for taxi. Sorrento is a beautiful romantic walking city. They do have bus & circumvensia train avail, but you must walk a distance or take cab to hotel from train station, it is uphill. Dinner at the hotel is great value and comparable food to local restaurants. They provide gluten free pasta upon request! Loved our stay at hotel. Highly recommend! Great for families and couples alike and very international! Dress up for dinner! Very pleasant good quality roomy European hotel! Loved Sorrento & surrounding areas.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2009

We stayed four nights at la Pace. The staff were very good, Nice pool on second floor with plenty of sun loungers and umbrellas. Bar and snck bar was good. Breakfast was a mixture of continental, offerings, nice cakes, with bacon, cooked frankfurters and scrambled eggs as an option. Did not eat in the resutaurant.
Rooms well equipped and cleaned with fresh towels every day.
With the exception of the pool the hotel seemed to be empty most of the day apart from breakfast time.
Walk to local shops/restaurants in Sant Agnello takes about 15 minutes, walk back uphill!
English spoken throughout, hotel (and so it seems Sorrento and Sant Agnello), staff fluent and my attempts to speak Italian were answered in English.
Free bus to centre of Sorrento and return during day and evening, which was very good (and left exactly on time).
The hotel made for a great short break.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2009

I arrived at this hotel not expecting much as i had read reviews that it was no where near a 5 star hotel and it wasn't. On arrival to the hotel located in the hills(not actually in sorrento) the lobby in the hotel is fantastic.it is huge and has a piano bar and plenty of seating areas.
Our room was only a standard room and was small but it was clean which is all that matters and we had fresh towels and sheets every day. We were givena bottle of champagne and fruit bowel when we arrived, champagne was only cheap but a nice gesture. The wifi in the hotel is an outrageous €22 per day, and there is no other service so be prepared to pay if you want it. the shuttle bus that runs to sorrento town centre is reliable but be warned the driver doesnt wait around and a few times he left 5 mins early, especially on pick up from the town.
The pool is really nice and the snack bar beside the pool is reasonable and they dont take cash, they put everything on the bill.
overall this is a nice hotel located 10 mins(drive) outside of sorrento.. there is no way you can walk to sorrento town, as it is so hilly and narrow/dangoerous and would take a long time time.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tel aviv
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2009

We payed for a sea view and we got a roof view and were told that that is the panoramic view. So we payed much for nothing!
Worse of all was that for 4 nights we could hardly sleep because we heared the people next door (especially the one that like to take a shower at 6 a.m. so we heard the water running and it was really loud) and above (for 2 nights we had a lady who loved to walk around the room untill 2 a.m. with her high hilled shoes. The other 2 nights there was a little child who had difficulty to sleep and so did we). After the first night we asked to move out from the room and we got the very polite answer of 'sorry madame. Tomorrow'. Each day we asked to move out and each day we got the same answer so offcourse they did nothing about it. The bathroom was dirty and very inconvenient. There was only a narrow shower (and without a bathrobe and slippers as they promise) with a very stained curtain so i had only quick shower because it really felt bad to stay longer at the shower. Definitely not what you expect at a 5 stars hotel. Brekfast was not tasty at all. The juice was made of water and some kind of powder and coffe and tea were also bad.
The only good thing that i can say is the free bus to town few times a day because the hotel is far from the city and the taxi service is 20 euro for one way.
I definitly expect from a place that call himself '5 stars hotel' to be clean, quite and to give the guests what they payed for. Certainly not a good value for the money and very disappointing! Not recommended!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2009

We loved this hotel, it was so warm & welcoming considering it rained for most of our stay!! It is out of the way, but this was what i wanted,so it suited us. We caught the Shuttle bus(free)provided by the hotel most days into Sorrento & then caught it back, or we got the train back & walked to the hotel (10min walk). I did walk once to Sorrento, it takes a good half hour, its a bit hair raising & it stinks of car fumes, so i wouldn't recommend that.
The food was amazing, i gained weight!! The rooms were spotless & very pleasant. We didn't use the beautiful pool due to the poor weather.
I would visit here again.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel la Pace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel la Pace

Address: Via Tordara, 10, 80065 Sant'Agnello, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sant'Agnello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#11 Family Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#11 Romantic Hotel in Sant'Agnello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel la Pace 5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel La Pace has been built combining extraordinary ideas from the past historic luxury and today’s contemporary amenities. When you first step into our magnificent lobby, with its grand scale and splendid detail, you might think you’ve been transported back to the 20th Century, when great Hotels were built with marble and stone, not glass and steel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Venere, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Grand Hotel la Pace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sant Agnello
Grand Hotel La Pace Sorrento
Grand Hotel La Pace Italy/Province Of Naples

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel la Pace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.