We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautifully decadent” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel la Pace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel la Pace to your Saves list
Grand Hotel la Pace
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Tordara, 10, 80065 Sant'Agnello, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Sant'Agnello
Shipley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautifully decadent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

I had a lovely stay here in June: the room was perfect for my needs, and even though the view from my balcony wasn't a sea view, its advantage was a more peaceful view of orchards rather than the hotel car park, even though a more spectacular distant view of the sea. The service was excellent and the breakfast gave me a full range of possibilities, from continental to full. I didn't have dinner there as the menu for that was uninspiring. The restaurant staff went out of their way to be helpful and gracious even though the 'Stepford Wives'-type muzac was a bit soporific. The spacious feel of the lounge area and the ornate furniture gave a luxurious feel to the hotel and the reception were welcoming and helpful. The only downside for me, which is why I didn't give the full 5 stars, was the size of the pool, which was a little disappointing for someone who likes a good swim but for a quick dip or for children, it was great! The whole pool and bar area was beautiful. Thank you for making my Sorrento stay so enjoyable.

Room Tip: Back rooms have orchard and hillside view, whereas front rooms have view of pool and bar area, car p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    195
    122
    36
    18
See reviews for
118
345
14
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Hotel is very "grand" indeed. Lobby's big and looks fancy with an old feeling to it. Our room had 3 beds and it was big but the light on my bedside was broken so the room was a little bit dark. We only stayed here for 1 night so we decided calling the reception to fix the light would be a hassle. Elevators were small and takes a long time to get to you. The hotel had a really nice view from the pool. Could basically see the whole Sorrento. Location is a little bit far. Might need a shuttle going to and from the town.

Dinner and breakfast buffet were also good. Overall, I'd stay here again. Ask for a room facing the front. There's nothing to see at the back.

Room Tip: rooms facing the front/pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

The staff is very very welcoming, the rooms are clean and nice ,especially if you have a trace.

The food is very good and almost every evening there is a show near the pool.

The only problem is that it is far from the center of Sorrento , so you must use the Hotel Shuttle.

In general is very recommended.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

This hotel is very grand, the rooms are spacious and very clean, the bathrooms are good with lots of hot water, clean white towels with complimentary toiletries.
The one thing that let's the hotel down is the food, for 5 star hotel the food is definitely not 5 star, it is very repetitive and boring and you have to decide what you require for the following evening, like being back at school. The younger waiters could do with more training, the more senior ones are overloaded with work and could do with help.
On the whole this hotel is good and they do their best to please you. Please note this hotel is around 3miles out of Sorrento and they do provide a courtesy coach otherwise a taxi is required at a cost of 20 euros each way.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view and haggle the price!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We stayed 4 nights in a balcony room. Room is spacious by Europe standards and the balcony over the pool a nice plus. We used this as a base for Pompeii and Amalfi coast and it was just a bit inconvenient. We walked to the train station (under a mile) to get to Sorrento, Pompeii, Herculaneum- but would have preferred to be in Sorrento as that is better for restaurants, etc. Breakfast offerings were good, but we didn't notice the eggs-to-order table off to the side until after we had eaten the last morning.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fareham
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for one night as we were bumped out of the Art Hotel gran paradiso for the night as they were overbooked and we had no choice but to stay here for the night.. We were told this was a five star hotel and in many ways with large rooms and good facilities. We were in a standard triple room which was very comfortable but a bit dingy with no view but there were some lovely rooms with views and double rooms did have large double beds. The pool area was disappointing and the pool was quite cold. The pool bar was nice and the restaurant for breakfast was good with a very good choice of food and drink including sparkling wine. the hotel is outside Sorrento in Sant Agnello so you would need to use the hotel bus service which was quite frequent to get into town. Staff were friendly and welcoming and we would have been very happy to have stayed here for the remainder of our stay. it is a bit too far out of town but it is a very nice hotel.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

My Wife and I have been visiting Italy for 10 years now and Sorrento is by far our favourite place. Our friends got married last Wednesday and it was a truly memorable day, very special for all involved.

My Wife and I decided to stay at the La Pace again (it is 3 years since we stayed last!) I have to say it has improved, and I gave it 5 stars last time, the place is brimming with class and style and the staff (a number of whom where there 3 years ago, which I think says a lot for the management of this special hotel) are brilliant, they really make you feel special and can not do enough for you.

We chose to stay for dinner for the Tarantella show, what a good choice, for just 30 Euros the buffet was fabulous with everything for everyone (my Wife said the cakes where to die for!)

The show itself was also fabulous, an absolute MUST if you stay here.

Room Tip: All the rooms are exceptionally clean, with excellent air conditioning and are very "roomy"...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Grand Hotel la Pace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel la Pace

Address: Via Tordara, 10, 80065 Sant'Agnello, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sant'Agnello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#10 Luxury Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#12 Romantic Hotel in Sant'Agnello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel la Pace 5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel La Pace has been built combining extraordinary ideas from the past historic luxury and today’s contemporary amenities. When you first step into our magnificent lobby, with its grand scale and splendid detail, you might think you’ve been transported back to the 20th Century, when great Hotels were built with marble and stone, not glass and steel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Grand Hotel la Pace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sant Agnello
Grand Hotel La Pace Sorrento
Grand Hotel La Pace Italy/Province Of Naples

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel la Pace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.