We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel in Sant'Agnello” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel la Pace

Save Saved
You added Grand Hotel la Pace to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel la Pace
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Tordara, 10, 80065 Sant'Agnello, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in Sant'Agnello
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Good hotel in Sant'Agnello”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Strong sides:
1) The quadruple room that I’ve ordered was upgraded to a huge suite with a big shower room and Jacuzzi
2) The room was always clean, the surrounding of the pool and the lobby were as well on a regular basis
3) The price of the room for week was relatively cheap
4) The hotel is located 10 minutes drive from the center of Sorrento – Is it worth it or not, I can’t really tell
5) The breakfast was very tasty, the ingredients were always fresh and the variety of dishes changed every day. The service of the breakfast team was impeccable.
6) A bus shuttle that takes you free of charge, several times a day, to the center of Sorrento and back
7) The front desk service was great. They were helpful were needed. Everything that we needed and asked for was replied instantly to our full satisfaction.
8) Nice fitness room + Sauna + Jacuzzi
9) Big and free parking space for dozens of cars

Weak sides:
1) Wi-Fi low quality and accessibility were horrible. You can use the internet only in the lobby and in the pool area (not in the rooms!). Even in the “allowed” locations, the quality and stability of the Wi-Fi were totally off.
2) The maintenance of the building (for example the room’s internal porch) needs serious improvement
3) They should rename their swimming pool to leisure pool. The picture in the website is misleading, the pool is very small.
4) Kitschy design – I didn’t like it at all, but is my personal taste

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    162
    99
    28
    15
See reviews for
100
281
13
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

My partner and I have just got back from a 9 night stay at Grand Hotel la Pace and had a lovely time. It is an older style hotel but is clean and the staff are friendly. We paid extra for a sea view room which was worth it and the room was spacious and had a balcony.

The breakfast was nice with pancakes and omlettes made to order. We ate at the snack bar a couple of times which was also nice. We did not try dinner as there are so many lovely restaurants in Sorrento.

There is a shuttle bus down to Sorrento but be warned that this gets very busy in the evening and the bus was often packed with people standing. Also worth getting there early as it did leave earlier than expected on a few occasions.

Our only criticism is the pool. It was ok but quite small and not the most attractive pool area. There was also a house being renevated next door (which I know is no fault of the hotel) but there was lots of banging and crashing.

Overall we really enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend Sorrento.

Room Tip: Pay for a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunbridge Wells
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Currently barred from long haul flights due to medical reasons, most of my trips this year have been to European destinations. This time I chose Grand Hotel La Pace in St. Agnello, near Sorrento on the Neapolitan Riviera. The Hotel has a very impressive foyer, and my room was spacious and comfortable with a great view of the Bay of Naples from the balcony. Staff at reception were coldly efficient. On the other hand, staff in the restaurant were warm and friendly. Mr. Rino, the head waiter, was most helpful, and Miss Kika in the hotel bar made me feel most welcome. My only criticism of the hotel is the room service. In North America and the UK to qualify for 5 stars, twenty four hour room service must be available. In the Grand Hotel La Pace, advertised as 5 star, room service is only available for a few hours a day. Not a serious problem, but perhaps something to be considered.

Room Tip: Rent a room with a balcony overlooking the hotel pool and your Wi-Fi is free.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tetbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

Just back yesterday from aweek stay with family and two kids (9 and 4) I recommend an upgrade to a panoramic room as the views are great. We had a car so location fine and only a five minute drive away from the centre of town. Pool is fantastic and is not deep so perfect for a young family! Staff were friendly and the breakfast was perfect. A lot of choice when compared to other hotels in Italy. Broad mix of people staying and we had a great time. Would strongly recommend to all age groups.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
county down
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

I am staying in this hotel at the minute and cannot fault it. Yes it is out of Sorrento, but if you did your research you would know this before you booked. The shuttle bus goes from the hotel to sorrento and back many times during the day, the last one is 11pm from Sorrento. The hotel is exceptionally clean and well maintained. The pool closes at 7pm, but by that stage the sun has gone down anyway. The pool bar stays open until 11.30/midnight. the hotel is not for anyone who is used to a lively, young holiday, everything is quiet here, it is mainly for relaxing in. The snack food is reasonable. The one thing that is annoying is that they do not accept money at the bar, everything is charged to your room. Bring plenty of money, sorrento is expensive! Breakfast is very reasonable, yes there is canned fruit,but also many fresh fruits on offer, pancakes and omlettes are made to order, there is plenty of choice. A beautiful hotel which is very reasonably priced for Sorrento.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Canada Flintridge, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We stayed at the "Grand" Hotel La Pace in June with a Central Holidays tour. It was the first night of our trip and not a very nice welcome. Our group had to sit separate from other hotel guests and we were given a menu with three dinner choices. It did not appear that anyone I spoke to enjoyed their meal. The breakfast buffet was worse, with soupy eggs and strange tasting fruit from a can. A can!! With all of the beautiful produce in Italy! The hotel is not convenient to downtown Sorrento so you have to take a shuttle or cab. The appearance of the hotel is nice and the rooms are OK, but the pool closes at 6:00pm (on warm summer nights??) The WiFi situation is ridiculous; you have to practically sit on the lap of the person at the front desk to get reception! It was a less than Grand beginning of our trip.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Beautiful hotel - in a beautiful part of Italy! We took advantage of the shuttle bus into Sorrento (10 minutes)
Make sure you ask for room overlooking the sea – amazing views!
Great restaurant – beautiful food!! and great full breakfast!
Great staff who are very friendly and helpful.
Great location to base yourself and then visit Isle of Capri, Pompeii and Mt Vesuvius

Room Tip: Definitely overlooking the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel la Pace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel la Pace

Address: Via Tordara, 10, 80065 Sant'Agnello, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sant'Agnello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#11 Family Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#11 Romantic Hotel in Sant'Agnello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel la Pace 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel La Pace has been built combining extraordinary ideas from the past historic luxury and today’s contemporary amenities. When you first step into our magnificent lobby, with its grand scale and splendid detail, you might think you’ve been transported back to the 20th Century, when great Hotels were built with marble and stone, not glass and steel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Venere, Priceline, Tingo, Agoda, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Grand Hotel la Pace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sant Agnello
Grand Hotel La Pace Sorrento
Grand Hotel La Pace Italy/Province Of Naples

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel la Pace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.