We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“super hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alpha Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Alpha Hotel to your Saves list
Alpha Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale dei Pini 15, 80065 Sant'Agnello, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Sant'Agnello
Certificate of Excellence 2014
lancaster
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“super hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My aunt and myself have just returned from a week break here and I cannot recommend it highly enough. It is set in lovely gardens with a lemon and orange grove to one side and landscaped gardens to the other sides. The pool is a good size , I didn't get to go in as it was a bit chilly and rainy but the sun loungers are shaded by citrus trees with the biggest grapefruits I have ever seen. There are plenty of chairs and tables for sitting in the sun. The inside is spotlessly clean and comfortable with sofas and chairs. The menu is really good and varied both at dinner and breakfast. I genuinely didn't have anything I didn't like. The rooms are again spotlessly clean and comfortable with a lovely balcony overlooking the citrus trees and huge mountains. The staff are lovely, really pleasant and helpful. Particularly Salvatore and the waiter with the glasses ( ashamed to admit I don't know his name) all in all a lovely place. About 5 minutes up the street on the right is the railway station which takes you to Sorrento in about 5 minutes and Naples and Pompeii. Well worth going on the train to Sorrento as it's a 20 minute walk at a quick pace or 35minute stroll. I would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

792 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    541
    183
    57
    9
    2
See reviews for
168
488
3
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2015

everything about this holiday was excellent, located just far enough but within easy strolling distance of Sorrento. Railway station nearby ideal for excursions and to town centre, hourly bus stops outside hotel. Cannot make a review without praising the headwaiter and staff for great service overall the only thing that stopped us giving full marks was the beds were too hard.Would definitely stay again.From two 70 year olds who have holidayed for 50 years

Room Tip: balcony rooms overlooking pool have ideal position
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2015

Admittedly our honeymoon was in 2005 but we had the most perfect stay. The food, service and relaxed ambience made it a wonderful choice. Although it is a little way outside the centre of Sorrento, a regular bus route stops right outside the main door.
Our room, duecento sedici, had a great view over to Vesuvius.
Judging by the recent reviews, the hotel hasn't lost any of it's charm...maybe we should pay a return on our 10th anniversary this year! Hint, hint husband ;)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2014

Excellent holiday hotel. We arrived late in the evening but a full menu was still available. Breakfasts and evening meals were exceptional. We had decided prior to visit that if meals were not up to standard then we would use restaurants in Sorrento but this was absolutely unnecessary.

Staff very friendly and helpful. Rooms very comfortable.

Well located to Sorrento, Amalfi and Pompeii.

We have booked again for 2015.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2014

Other reviews have this one covered,

But in short it was a very pleasant stay.
We were upgraded to a superior room, which was very nice and came with its own balcony.

The food service was simply excellent.
real Italian dishes for dinner, and the choice was excellent.
We never ate the same thing twice.
Breakfast was good too, continental style buffet.

The hotel is in a good location for visiting other areas.
The train station is a very short distance away, and it is very cheap to use.
We used the train to Pompeii as it was significantly cheaper than using an organised tour.
A trip to Pompeii is about €2.20 each way and Sorrento is about €1.80 each way.

Although the hotel is within walking distance of Sorrento.
You can walk down the Corso Italia but this is a very busy road and will send you light headed with all the fumes.
There is the coast route - worth looking at a map first.
This way will take you through sant'agnello and you will get much nicer views and it takes about the same amount of time.

The road noise next to the hotel might annoy some, however we found this wasn’t really a problem.
There are plenty of places you can go, both in the hotel and outside that will get you away from the noise.
The hotel rooms have shutters which block out most of the noise.

All in all a very good stay with lovely views of the Bay of Napoli

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2014 via mobile

It has pretty much all been said, fantastic hotel, fantastic staff, beautiful part of Italy. We used the train to see Pompeii and Herculaneum it was fairly easy going, we found it easier to stand near the doors. We went on the Thomson trip to Vesuvius, this was an excellent trip, a little expensive and the 4x4 you travel In is just a bus with big wheels, and not that it bothered us but there was a bit of a trek to reach the top from where the bus stops, quite steep and dusty but all part of the fun. For Capri we just walked to the port, grabbed a couple of tickets and jumped on the boat, easy enough. We did Amalfi on the coast to coast bus, part of the hop on hop of red bus company, worked out about 16 euro, you pick it up outside of the train station.

Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2014

Attentive, caring and professional. That comment applies to all the team at the hotel especially Salvatore who although extremely busy ensured he always greeted us and enquired how our day had gone and what we were planning to do next, he had lots of suggestions to help. Hotel is very clean and our room (125) was quiet with good views of the mountains and overlooked the gardens. Food was great and of a high quality and so much of it! Beware, the starters are as big as the main meal so you wont lose weight here! Also a really good idea was that if you bought a bottle of wine and didn't finish it they corked it and put it back out for you the following night, brill! The hotel is situated a 30-40 minute walk from Sorrento, however the local area is good with good bars, try Bar Pina for the cakes and biscuits, its fab, we took a selection from here back home, everyone loved them!. There is a local bus to Sorrentto that stops outside the hotel if you don't fancy the walk. Walking does takes a little getting used to as the main road is very busy and noisy and sometimes there is no pavement, try the back roads they are much quieter, we walked every day (we needed to exercise to make up for all the good food at the hotel). The local train station is close (5 mins), you can get to Pompeii, Naples, Sorrento etc. easily. To get to the station turn left at the hotel entrance and head up the hill, the unmanned station is at the top, you can buy tickets for all destinations from reception, once at the station use the small box by the lines to "authenticate" the ticket, train travel is an experience, don't expect luxury, we travelled to Herculeanum on 1975 stock that was packed, dirty and graffiti ridden, very cheap so as always you get what you pay for. If you want a little more luxury if you go with Thompsons try their trips, expensive but good. We went with them to Pompeii and the Amalfi drive and it was well worth the cost and both are must do's. A couple of the guests used the local bus for the Amalfi drive but found it to be a little hair raising with the local bus drivers, you will see that Italians drive very fast and skillful but very scary to watch especially the death defying scooters , sit at one of the bars at the Piazza Tasso (main square in Sorrento) and you will see what I mean, by the way this main square is closed to traffic at night and its lovely to take a stroll with the locals. As mentioned we went with Thomsons and joined the rep for the walk around Sorrento, that was well worth it, we went to various bars, gelato (ice cream) shops and a fantastic restaurant that was the home of cannelloni, we got some discount vouchers and had some free samples of the local drink Limoncello. If you like it pop to the supermarket at the top of the hill by the hotel, its 7.95 there and great to keep in the room for a wee tot! If you want lunch you don't need to spend a lot, look out for the locals bars, try Bar Rita on the main Corsa de Italia road. From the main square walk away from the bars and main tourist area, Ritas is on the right hand side, watch the locals pull up on their scooters and run in for a quick expresso. All in all a good holiday with one observation, if you have not been to Italy before sometimes outside of the tourist areas you feel like your in a third world country with all the dirt, graffiti and uncared for buildings, shame as it really is a beautiful mountainous country with spectacular scenery.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the gardens are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alpha Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpha Hotel

Address: Viale dei Pini 15, 80065 Sant'Agnello, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sant'Agnello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#5 Luxury Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sant'Agnello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Alpha Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Alpha Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpha Hotel Sorrento
Alpha Hotel Italy/Province Of Naples

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alpha Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.