We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We were delighted with every aspect of this hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alpha Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Alpha Hotel to your Saves list
Alpha Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale dei Pini 15, 80065 Sant'Agnello, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Sant'Agnello
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“We were delighted with every aspect of this hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Hotel Alpha was recommended to us by friends as a comfortable and convenient place to stay in Sorento and we were not disappointed The service was excellent particularly in the restaurant and bar. The food as really good and there was plenty of choice.
Our room was very clean and well furnished.

Room Tip: All the rooms appeared to be well located and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpha-Hotel, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Alpha Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Guests,

Many thanks for taking the time to write this nice review on Trip Advisor.
We are glad to learn we met your expectation and you were satisfied with our food, service and accommodation.

We hope to welcome you again in the future.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

785 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    538
    180
    57
    8
    2
See reviews for
167
485
3
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Just back from another fantastic holiday at the Alpha.
This year the weather was against us with thunder, lighting and torrential rain and wind during our two week stay, but all the staff in the Alpha were their same sunny helpful selves.
Again at the helm we had Salvatore who still manages to run a tight ship even although there were new staff members, the food as always was of the very best and expertly served.
We cannot thank them enough for making our stay so enjoyable, nothing was ever any trouble and there was always helpful advice on hand.
The housekeeping was excellent with everything replaced as needed and we hired the fridge which was great for cold drinks and snack lunches.
This year we went to Naples to ‘Da Michele’ the oldest Pizzeria in the world. That was a great experience. you have to take a ticket and queue, but it was worth the wait.
We also went on a trip to Ischia and after lunch visited the Mortella Gardens, beautiful flowers, great cafe, very relaxing afternoon.
The Alpha has an amazing ambassador in Salvatore who is so kind and genuine and welcomes everyone with the same friendly smile.
We are grateful to all staff for their interesting conversations and helpful inter action with us, ensuring that we will return to this superb hotel.
Pauline and Ian (Dragon Tattoo)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpha-Hotel, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Alpha Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Pauline and Dear Ian

It's been a pleasure to have you here again. We are glad to learn that also this year you enjoyed it with us. Thank you so much for this lovely review.
Your review is a pure moment of pride for us , since you are witness that we love our job and love our Guests , and we always do our best to make them feel in a friendly place with relaxing atmosphere.
Warm regards and see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

From the moment you enter the reception you feel very welcome.We have been to this hotel five times and we would not go anywhere else in Sorrento. We have been to other hotels but this is the best so friendly and the staff can't do enough for you.The rooms are cleaned every day and the breakfast are excellent the so much to choose from as for the dinner's such a selection and the staff are wonderful especially Salvadore who could not do enough to please.I would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devizes united kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Having read many positive reviews of this hotel, we were really looking forward to a relaxing break. I will try to give a fair and balanced view of our stay. The main problem for us was the continual excessive noise. We had actually gone to the trouble beforehand of e mailing the hotel and asked if we could have a quiet room having read about noise problems, and this e mail was acknowledged by them and we were told by the hotel that they would do their best to meet this requirement.
Well I have to say, upon arrival, not only did we not get a room on the 'quiet' side of this hotel, we actually got what I think, must be the NOISIEST room there (Room 116) !!! We were as close to the road as any of the rooms could possibly be (just above the delivery entrance to the hotel) and we were also above the kitchens with all the associated noise that goes with that. We went straight down to reception and expressed our disappointment (particularly as we had gone to the trouble of e mailing the hotel prior to going away) and asked for a room change and, at first, the receptionist having looked at the computer, seemed hopeful although she didn't commit, but she said she would need to talk to the Manager first and told us to come back after our evening meal.
We went back to reception after our evening meal and were told that we would have to stay in this room until Monday (3 nights in total out of 7) until there was a changeover. I had felt from the receptionist's initial comments that there was hope and that an option may be available , however, the Manager for whatever reason did not agree to a move (maybe it would have involved an upgraded room) . As a result, we barely slept for the next 3 long nights which meant that the days were somewhat spolit as we felt so tired. I did also mention this again the next morning and tried to see if we could move but we were told again that there were no other rooms available until Monday. There was a continuous roar of Vespa motor scooters day and night right into the small hours. By trying to close this noise off, It was still impossible to sleep because the air conditioning was so noisy and rattled (and got louder after the first 20 mins) so you either had the doors open with the loud traffic or the noisy air conditioning!!
On Monday we changed room to the 'quiet' side and the room was fine.
On a positive note the hotel and bedrooms were kept spotlessly clean and the restaurant was very good. I'm sure the Head Waiter, Salvatore, is one of the main reasons that this hotel gets good reviews. He is a gentleman and very attentive and 'on the ball', with nothing being too much trouble. Breakfast can be taken outside on the terrace which is nice apart from the traffic noise.
The pool is lovely and surrounded by orange and grapefruit trees but again spoilt somewhat by the noisy road outside. You do eventually get used to it when by the pool, but for the money we paid, I would look elsewhere when returning to the Sorrento area. We actually live on a main road so we are fairly used to traffic but not at this level.
We booked with Thompsons and, if you look very closely you may see mention of a road but we could not have envisaged the impact this would have. Another holidaymaker suggested that the only way he could sleep at night was to drink loads!!!!
Although the hotel is within easy reach of Sorrento, it is not possible to go in for an evening without missing your meal at the hotel as the last train back is 9.40 p.m. and the last bus just before 10 p.m. (apparantely this bus does not always turn up and walking back is dodgy due to narrow pavements). Having enquiried, taxis cost about 25 euros from or to Sorrento which, for the distance involved is excessive.

The hotel is a little too remote from Sorrento and, having spoken to fellow holiday makers who were staying in Sorrento, there are quieter hotels in the side streets in Sorrento where you are in easy reach of bars and entertainment etc. Just be aware of this information before you book as there is little by way of entertainment here (we are over 50 by the way) and the bar was desserted by about 10 p.m. at night as most people had either gone out or gone to bed.

Room Tip: It is not always possible to get your choosen room location as we found out to our expense - be awa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpha-Hotel, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Alpha Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Guests,

We are sorry to read that your stay with us has not been very pleasant.
The Hotel Alpha is located next to the road that goes back and forth from the center of Sorrento. Sometimes it happens to be a little busy, especially at peak times, when the Sorrentini go to work or come back.
We actually receive many email from upcoming Guests, and we really try our best to satisfy all the requirements, and considering that this is high season a very busy period for us,sometimes it is a little complicated and not always possible; nevertheless we never say "no!", we only ask for some patience while we sort it out.
Actually we hope, if you will decide one day, to come back to Hotel Alpha and give us a second chance, you will see we really worth it.
Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billericay, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Can't rate this Hotel highly enough it was truly brilliant! We booked via Thomson, 'Small and Friendly' range. The Hotel was spotless, our room was large, well appointed. quiet and with a large balcony overlooking a lemon tree orchard and mountains. The staff were amazing and very friendly, and certainly nothing was too much trouble. The setting of the hotel was perfect, within gardens and a lovely pool, there was never a need to put down your towels on the sun loungers (as some irritating people do in some hotels)! It's a little far from the centre of Sorrento, but we are keen walkers and it took us 25 mins right into the centre. Not a problem at all because there is a really cheap bus which stops just outside the hotel (you simply buy bus and train tickets from reception), and a train, which takes about 3 mins possibly 10 minutes walk away.
One of the best things about the hotel was the food which was amazing! Staff were brilliant, we went half board so there was literally no need to eat elsewhere! Menu very varied, and loads of it.
We normally go self catering in apartments etc.but this is a hotel not to be missed. So much to do in the area. We had eleven nights and managed, Mt Vesuvius, Pompeii, Herculaneum, Amalfi coast drive, Naples and a boat trip to Capri with snorkelling. You must go up the cable car in Capri!

All in all a great Holiday. Well done Hotel Alpha and Thomson! (Plus special mention for our rep Sam, she was great)!
Peter and Chris

Room Tip: There is an annexe so possibly best to ask for one in the main hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

We returned from a brilliant week staying at Alpha Hotel Sorrento last week. It was faultless from the flight to the hotel. The Head waiter could not have done more for us. He and his staff were so kind and went the extra mile to make your stay very special...thank you. We chose to see the various sights using local transport and it was very easy. The only slight problem we had was we didn't realise there are several bus companies and we didn't always have the right ticket for the bus that came along! But by the end of the week we had more or less used them all up. The train was easy to use but you do need to validate your ticket in the little orange box on the wall on the platform. Capri was expensive to get there but lovely. Head to Ana Capri on the local bus but it was packed hot and a little unnerving when the locals on the bus were crossing themselves! The chairlift up to Monte Solaro is worth it but make sure you get a clear sunny day for the view. Shope in Ana Capri were lovely..Capri was crowded I would recommend to go early. Pompeii, Herculanium and Vesuvuis were fabulous but again you need an early start to avoid the crowds.Hotel was quiet and excelllent. We would love to go back but may be at a cooler time of year because there is a lot to do and see. Thank you it was one of the best holidays we've had as a family...my teenage daughters agree! It's not a beach holiday and probably more suited to families of older children. Thank you! Mark and Cathy

Room Tip: Wifi and airconditioning works but a little inefficiently in rooms but it didn't bother us at al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

This is the second time we have stayed at The Hotel Alpha, the first time was 4 years ago & it is stll as good. Everything about the hotel is excellent. The food is amazing with a good choice of menu each night. All the staff make you feel special, they are so friendly & helpfull & nothing is too much trouble. The hotel & bedrooms are kept spotlessly clean & the gardens & pool area are beautiful. Although this is a small hotel, there are lots of lounge & terrace areas to sit & quite areas for those who just want to sit & read.
We often walked in to Sorrento approx 30 mins but you can take the bus which stops outside the hotel or take the train which is 1 stop to Sorrento, the train station is about 5-10 mins walk from the hotel. Most of the days out we did ourselves, Pompeii & Hreculaeum by train. Pompeii is huge & you would need nearly a full day to see everything. The only trip we did using Thomsons was to the temples at Paestrum & Solerno where alot of the soldiers in WW2 were stationed. This trip was 42euros each & was well worth the money. The temples were quite breathtaking as was the crypt in Solerno. We stayed at the Alpha for 14 nights & loved every minute of it.

Room Tip: Room 203 overlooks the pool & you can see the sea in the distance
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Alpha Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpha Hotel

Address: Viale dei Pini 15, 80065 Sant'Agnello, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sant'Agnello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#5 Luxury Hotel in Sant'Agnello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Alpha Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Alpha Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpha Hotel Sorrento
Alpha Hotel Italy/Province Of Naples

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alpha Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.