We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surrounded by citrus groves” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alpha Hotel

Save Saved
You added Alpha Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Alpha Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale dei Pini 15, 80065 Sant'Agnello, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #5 of 18 hotels in Sant'Agnello
Kingston
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Surrounded by citrus groves”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

We chose this hotel after reading many good reviews and were not disappointed.

This is a smallish (50 beds) hotel, so lacks some of the facilities of a larger one, but that is more than compensated for by the wonderful staff and excellent dining. The food is pure Italian, with a large wine-list of local wines, and the desserts are superb. Lots of people have mentioned the friendly maitre d', Salvatore, who never takes a day of during the season and clearly loves his job. He speaks English, German, Spanish, French as well as Italian!

Our room was furnished with an antique desk but was otherwise rather plainly decorated and on the small side. But it was clean and we had a view from our balcony across lemon groves to Mount Vesuvius.

We were pleased we did not hire a car and we took everyone's advice to go on a coach tour of the stunning Amalfi coast rather than try to navigate there ourselves. But for all other trips, the train station was just 5 minutes walk away. For 2.10 euros we could travel all the way to Pompeii or Herculaneum. If you are 65+ take your passport with you for free entry to the historical sites and museums.

The centre of Sorrento was a 30 minute walk away or 2 minutes on the train. (Hint, at Reception you can buy the E3 train tickets costing 2.10 euros for longer train journeys, but they are not allowed to sell you the E1 tickets at 1.10 euros for the short trip to Sorrento. Instead they offer the tourist ticket which costs 2.40. Go to the ticket office at the station or to a tobacconist if they are shut)

In Sorrento find the Foreigners Club, which is a bar on a terrace with magnificent views over the town and the Bay of Naples. It is situated behind the tourist information office.

Room Tip: Rooms to the side have views across the Bay of Naples and miss the road noise (which is not excessiv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

708 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    475
    171
    51
    9
    2
See reviews for
143
420
3
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nice, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

We spent 5 days at the Alpha Hotel.
The Hotel location is excellent, away from the "big noice" and just a two minutes ride by train to Sorrento center.
Nice and well mainained garden and swimming pool, but - the most impressive and important thing that we will keep with us, is the Hotel stuff.
Starting from the Hotel Manager, Mrs. S.Cafiero, through reception stuff -Giovanna and Isabella. Always ready to help, to suggest, with a lovely and smiling "BUONGIORNO",not to forget the restaurant and bar stuff, leaded by Salvatore and Rocco. - very professional and kind.
Thank You, and -hope to see you again.
Albert

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

We took this holiday on the strength of the rating and reviews on trip advisor. It wasn't a great start, we found our room outdated and tired. The duvet cover had much of the stitching pulled apart. The shower cubicle and shower looked like it needed renewal, and the mini bar was overpriced. Having said that, these were very minor issues, and were far out-weighed by many good, even great points. The food was very tasty and varied. All the staff I met were very friendly, professional and knowledgeable. Salvatore is as excellent as all the good write-ups about him. Gennaro, gennarino, Rocco, Igor, Sara, Angelo, and all the others were great too. The grounds of the hotel were lovely. Everywhere was clean and well maintained. I would have loved to give 5/5 for this hotel, only our room let it down.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

Forget Pompeii and Capri: the cuisine here is awesome. We were going to eat out a few nights but after the first supper we were back every evening like a shot. The dining-room is presided over by the wonderful Salvatore who can (and does) chat comfortably in five languages and chooses (and discusses) all the wines himself. His nephew, Rocco, has the same smiling eyes and helpful attitude, and runs the bar. They both seem determined that everyone (including themselves) should be having as much fun as possible. And did I mention the food?

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

Part of a Page&Moy package holiday.Rooms very spacious if you have a pool view with nice balcony. However situated on a very busy road junction. Sant'Agnello is not a very pleasant suburb of Sorrento. However it's a good location only 15/20 minutes walk into Sorrento if you know the way!!!!! 30 to 45 if you follow the map( No local bars out of season). By train easy access to all sites.
Nice hotel but a little pretentious. Head waiter very condescending and arrogant.
At breakfast choice reduced as week progressed due to smaller guest numbers. Salad buffet and breakfast buffet items not replenished when emptied.
Room 204 very spacious., whirlpool bath +shower,some rooms shower only!

Room Tip: Avoid rear rooms go for pool view although these mean you also have road noise and local growers bur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dronfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

The Alpha Hotel was an ideal base for a sight - seeing holiday. We spent a week in August and the weather was hot! We made the mistake of walking into Sorrento a couple of times when we would have been better conserving our energy by catching the train in as the walk to the beach and back is enough when the weather is hot. We spent a day on the beach near to the hotel which was much nicer than any beaches in Sorrento. Its worth paying for 'deck chairs' or sun loungers hired from local bars as you can then also use the toilet facilities and showers. Its also nice to sit by the grand marina in Sorrento with a local beer. The train station is just up the road less than ten mins walk from the hotel. We caught the train to Pompeii and Herculaneum. Its best to remember to validate your train ticket prior to getting on the train to avoid paying fines. A trip around the Amalfi Coast is a must - so beautiful! Also a must to go on a bus trip up Vesuvius. The walk takes about 30 mins from the bus and not easy in the heat but the views are outstanding over the Bay of Naples. Sunhats and water is required and insect sting relief spray as one or two people were stung by wasps! Its strange to look into the volcanoe's crater but a bit disappointing. Of course you have to remember that it is just dormant!

The hotel is quaint in that the rooms are traditionally furnished, the bathroom dated but still ok. Its expensive to hire the fridge in the room for cooling your own drinks! On the plus side the hotel was very clean and we had a lovely view of the hills overlooking Sorrento from our window. The staff are very welcoming especially Salvatore the Head Waiter / Restaurant Manager. The service in the restaurant is impeccable and the food is excellent. We arrived late in the evening and were offered a large platter of food even though the restaurant was closed. Most people dressed for dinner - smart /casual except for the minority. The drinks are very pricey though!
The pool area is small and difficult to actually secure a lounger in the sun but pool adequate for a swim and kept nice and clean.

Not a place to stay if you like to be entertained in the evening but definately the place to be for hospitality and great food.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

We have just returned from a week's stay at the Alpha Hotel. The decor of the hotel is attractive and it is very clean and well presented. All the staff were friendly, polite and helpful. There is an excellent range of food at breakfast, both hot and cold.
The evening meals were always a pleasure,with a wide range of beautifully cooked food. The standard of service from the staff in the restaurant was exceptionally good which added to the enjoyment of the occasion . Our bedroom was attractive and spacious and the bathroom was well equipped, with a particularly good shower.
All round an excellent hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Alpha Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpha Hotel

Address: Viale dei Pini 15, 80065 Sant'Agnello, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sant'Agnello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#5 Luxury Hotel in Sant'Agnello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Alpha Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel, Tingo, Travelocity, Despegar.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Alpha Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpha Hotel Sorrento
Alpha Hotel Italy/Province Of Naples

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alpha Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.