We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly but gracefully decaying” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mami Camilla

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Mami Camilla to your Saves list
Mami Camilla
Via Cocumella 4, 80065 Sant'Agnello, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 19 Sant'Agnello B&B and Inns
Stockport, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Friendly but gracefully decaying”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We have just returned after a week at this B&B is Sant Agnello.

Pluses include the excellent breakfast, served in the dining area which is also shared by the family - and a hopeful dog! You really can't fault fresh orange juice, cappuccino, ham, sausage, cheese, scrambled egg, cereal (muesli or corn flakes) and a nice selection of bread, pastries and home made preserves (sometimes supplemented with what they cooked the previous night at the school). Our room (no.7) was pleasant enough, and had a nice view towards the hills behind Sorrento. The owner chauffeured us to the station to catch the airport bus, rather than allowing us to book a taxi. (Taxi fares are a rip off - 15 euros to do the mile and a half into Sorrento - and as the advertised line C bus service past the hotel doesn't actually run, it's either a taxi or a 20 minute walk into town.)

The minuses - and these worried my wife more than me - were that everything had seen better days. They fixed the broken shower fitting after we complained about it - but clearly it had been broken for ages, and unless you complain, nothing gets fixed. Also the maid was supposed to leave shower gel, but never did - even though we went downstairs several times asking for some. The whole place - from the rather dowdy fittings in the bedroom to the crumbling rendering on the building - has that air of rather more than gentle decay. However that's at east made up for by the friendliness of the owners, and in the end that's what really matters.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    43
    14
    4
    12
See reviews for
8
52
17
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

My husband and I stayed here on our honeymoon. Our room was fantastic! It was on the roof with a private bathroom and ice cold air conditioning. The B&B is a quick walk to a restaurant on the edge of a cliff. We enjoyed a beautiful sunset while we ate there. Definitely take advantage of the cooking school and the Capri boat trip! We did both, and they were amazing. We actually got to swim inside the Blue Grotto. The dinner we had at the cooking school was absolutely phenomenal and quite a steal. The center of Sorrento is a bit of a hike, but the walk is beautiful so we didn't mind. A fantastic place, we would love to return someday!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherborne
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We had a very pleasant stay of 4 nights. The breakfasts were really good with a full range of options every morning. Sadly we didn't have enough time to try the evening meal (4 courses) offered each night at the cookery school (18 Euros), but we didn't hear anything detrimental. The staff are very pleasant & helpful. We had a large family room at the back of the hotel which made it quiet at night and in the morning as the road at the front is quite busy. It is at least a half hour walk to Sorrento main square, but there are bus options. It is only about a 5 minute walk to the seafront & there is a lift to get you down to the beach. San Agnello is a less touristy option than Sorrento and still has all the amenities and transport.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

I stayed at Mami Camilla in the hostel room in May 2012 and return again in September 2012 staying in a twin BnB room with my father. I found Mami Camilla's to be one of the most charming BnBs I have ever visited. On my first visit I booked for two days and enjoyed myself so much that I extended my stay for almost two weeks. On my second visit, we extended an extra night again! Within a couple of days you are on first name basis with all the staff especially the lovely and accommodating Laura and Tomaso work take care of the front of house.

The rooms are clean and comfortable, the common area is a great place to relax and meet other travelers, the garden is quiet and perfect for catching some sun and reading, the wifi is strong and consistent and it location is great. About a 15 minute walk to Sorrento town center but far enough away to enjoy the quiet and sleep well.

They also offer a range of great activities (but without the hard, pushy sell). I took the day boat trip to Capri as well as took part in their famous cooking classes. Both were truly memorable experiences and value for money.

I highly recommend stay at Mami Camilla - in fact, WHEN I visit again, I wouldn't even consider staying elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

we had a good experience at this fantastic place. had the opportunity to eat dinner with "chefs" and "chef to be" enrolled at this unique cooking school. The Owners are very pleasant and become your friends.

Room Tip: any room is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

A charming place run by a charming family. Clean, comfortable, relaxed, helpful and friendly.......and as if that wasn't enough you get a great breakfast and the option of being taken to the cooking school for an evening meal cooked by the students. This was a cracking evening out: a four course meal for 18 euros, very reasonably priced wine and beer, interesting company with the other guests and students and all washed down with Mami Camilia's limoncella, which was the best we tasted (and we tried a few).
Thank you for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batzra Israel
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

We booked the place and the cooking course ,just by reading the website.It was mauch more then expected . Nice place Waking distance from Sorrento and Sant'Agnello centers. The rooms where nice cleaan Breakfast was good. The family that runs the place were helping .Chef Biagio and Chef Palmira were just great with a lot of knowledge ans patience shared their knowledge. great place ,great food !!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mami Camilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mami Camilla

Address: Via Cocumella 4, 80065 Sant'Agnello, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sant'Agnello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Sant'Agnello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family style B&B a very comfortable, relaxing place to stay. There are many ways to see the South of Italy. We'll take you with us, as part of our family, to see this special world through the lens of its food, its artisans, and its culinary traditions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, HostelBookers and Tingo so you can book your Mami Camilla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mami Camilla Hotel Sant`Agnello
Mami Camilla Italy/Province Of Naples

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mami Camilla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.