We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value good location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Caravel Sorrento

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Caravel Sorrento to your Saves list
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Crawford 61, 80065 Sant'Agnello, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Sant'Agnello
Peoria, Illinois, Usa
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good value good location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

While some here viewed location as a negative, we viewed it as a huge reprieve after the hustle and bustle of Rome, and even downtown Sorrento can be very loud. The views from our third floor balcony at this location were spectacular and that's what Sorrento is about. Hotel offers free regular shuttles to main part of town, which is only a 5 minute drive. It's walkable as well. Hotel food is good, big variety at breakfast, much of the staff were friendly and speak and understand English quite well. We especially liked the information they provided upon arrival, including water taxi and shuttle bus timetables - something we did not encounter at any other Italy hotels. Towels were skimpy we assume is related to high humidity, but we picked up a pool towel (for 2 euro) which did a better job. The hotel and room was very clean and nicely decorated. Pool looked nice but weather was too cool during our visit to use it. Where they could have improved is air temp control - though was not an issue for us since we opened the outside door at night for cool air. We highly recommend Hotel Caravel.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

726 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    496
    179
    46
    3
    2
See reviews for
165
430
16
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Stayed here for one week. Reception staff found us a room with a balcony (10 euros extra per day) after we asked to change. Breakfast was fine evening meal very limited and always luke warm. Head waiter didn't speak all week and the young bald waiter was surly and too busy laying tables for the next meal to do his job properly which should include filling coffee jugs and fetching more cups. Pool area clean and outside seating in garden fine too. Hotel med down the road have a good band in the evening and restaurant on sea front does good food with superb view.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in September 2013. The hotel is clean and has ample facilities - pool, bar, sun terrace, game room etc. although everything feels slightly dated. The location is about 1.5km from Sorrento itself, but the hotel has an excellent shuttle back and forth which is quite regular. The breakfast is average at best, although the staff are exceptional - we moved rooms due to a poor bed with no issues and every staff member was friendly. Also, parking is available but costs 10 euros per night.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We can't add anything to the last three or four positive reviews of this hotel: we found everyhting as described previously - including the only (minor) negatives of the towels and the lack of a courtesy tea/coffee tray in our room. Against that, we arrived on a hot day after a long coach trip from the airport, too early to be shown to our room, but instead invited to sit out in the shady garden with a complimentary cool fresh glass of orange juice, until our room was ready!
In short, 5* for location, staff, cleanliness, superb dining experience, meals, comfortable beds(we like them firm!), constant hot water, hotel amenities, shuttle bus, etc. If ever we return to the Amalfi coast, this is where we would stay. If you want more details of our excursions, tips for travel, etc., feel free to email us at: pcjms@hotmail.co.uk.

Room Tip: Our room was on the 2nd floor facing the rear. It was quiet, but some air-conditioning noise from t...
See more room tips
Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

This was our second choice of hotel after reading reviews here on tripadvisor, we are so glad we stayed here, the holiday from start to finish was wonderful,from the moment we arrived to when we left, we found the staff friendly and helpful, from the reception staff through dining room and cleaning staff we found no glum faces. Pino ( the maitre d') was a lovely man and the dining experience was very smoothly operated, the food was delicious (the hand made pasta the BEST we have ever eaten), the portions aren't large but we found them ample,the breakfast buffet had plenty of selection, you would be hard pressed not to find something to eat, and even though a previous reviewer commented that the fruit salad was tinned, so what?we eat tinned fruit at home, though on one occasion it was amazing to see a lady my age (just over 60) picking the cherries out of the fruit salad! There was plenty of fresh fruit to choose from apart from bacon, egg, cheese, cooked meats (the list could go on). We were lucky in the dining room as we didn't have to share a table, but that wouldn't have been a real issue for us, nice to have a table for two though. The bedroom wasn't huge but ample, after all we were only in it to sleep and get changed, the bathroom was a decent size and kept immaculately clean, in fact the whole hotel was clean. A nice bonus was the light meal we had waiting for us when we arrived at 10pm. it was most welcome, and a member of the dining room team had stayed behind to serve it to us. The reception staff were all lovely, (I wanted to bring Grazia home with us! and wish her well for her future in the hotel business). The rooftop sun terraces were a lovely place to sit and nice and peaceful, with super views from the 5th floor one. The walk into Sorrento wasn't as hazardous as we thought it might be and apart from two occasions that was the way we always made our way into the town, the other two occasions we used the hotel shuttle bus once and the train the second time. If we had one criticism it would be that when we came to pay the bill for our extras for our stay, we were charged for a bottle of wine that we hadn't had, and we felt as though we weren't really believed when we picked up on it, however the money was deducted from the bill. One other "thing" the wifi service is really good there.

Room Tip: Some rooms overlooking the garden don't have balconies but a nice outlook, even from the second...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

Great location away from the hustle bustle but not to far out if you want it, friendly staff, good selection at meal times breakfast and evening meal (4 courses), room was spacious, clean and comfortable. Nice friendly staff some a bit too friendly on your last night ;-). The meal seating arrangements put you with other people so helps forge friendships easier ( great idea) would recommend to anyone.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stokenchurch, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Stayed here for 7 nights, hotel is in great location - in quiet residential road although walk to top of road and you are in Sant Agnello, near the train station for Pompeii/Naples etc.
The hotel offers a free shuttle bus to Sorrento which is so handy. Reception staff, especially Grazia and Michael, were so friendly and heloful, nothing too much trouble and they were also happy to advise us about our trips out etc.
Breakfast was good, although the usual over cooked streaky bacon which seems to be the normal in hotels abroad.
Rooms were good size, very clean. We had a comfort room with balcony. Only complaint would be that tea making facilities were not automatically included - they were an additional 4 euros a day!
Overall I would certainly stay here and again and would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Caravel Sorrento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Caravel Sorrento

Address: Via Crawford 61, 80065 Sant'Agnello, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sant'Agnello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#6 Luxury Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#7 Romantic Hotel in Sant'Agnello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Caravel Sorrento 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Caravel Sorrento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caravel Hotel Sant Agnello
Hotel Caravel Sorrento Italy/Province Of Naples

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Caravel Sorrento, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.