We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!.. Book Now!.. Don't Hesitate!..” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Caravel Sorrento

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Caravel Sorrento to your Saves list
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Crawford 61, 80065 Sant'Agnello, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Sant'Agnello
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Fantastic!.. Book Now!.. Don't Hesitate!..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Stayed for a week,which was not long enough! The hotel is fresh,comfortale and spotless. We upgraded for a larger room which had a lovely view. The beds are very comfortable indeed with free air conditioning,a safe and small fridge. The maids do a fabulous job too,in fact all the staff are very polite and extremely professional. The Caravel is situated in a good location with an excellent shuttle bus service to Sorrento, which was free,regular and on always on time. We booked various trips around the coast and Capri using the Ferries which are easily bookable down the Port.
We opted for halfboard option but we didn't always enjoy the meals but we are a bit fussy,so perhaps it was just us? I would love to return here again in the future and would highly recommend to friends and family.

Room Tip: Worth an upgrade for a lovely view and larger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

737 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    501
    183
    48
    3
    2
See reviews for
169
435
16
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

This hotel is set in a nice quiet location close to Sorrento..we stayed here 7 nites in late june on half board option..im not one for "dishing out" compliments but i have to say that the staff here are excellent..very friendly..very helpful and nothing is too much trouble for them..particularly reception..bar staff and dining room staff.
Breakfast buffet was delicious and plenty..dinner buffet and set menu also very good.we had superior room ( 25SQM ) which was spacious..clean and great views on the balcony of the Amalfi coast
the hotel operates a free shuttle bus into sorrento and back a few times a day..however Sant'Agnello rail station is a fifteen minute walk away and u can get to all the attractions on the rail network..the rail network looks decayed but it works and the trains always on time!

great hotel..loved my morning hour swim in the pool before the pool got busy
overall..nice and friendly hotel..well worth it..will go again

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

This was our second visit to the Caravel - we enjoyed it so much last year, that we rebooked again. We stayed 11 nights and chose the half board option once again. It was lovely to see the same faces around the place and I understand that many of the staff have been there a long time......good sign!

The Caravel is like a well oiled machine, it runs like clockwork and they are very efficient, it's spotlessly clean, very comfortable and we love the pool area, particularly the Jacuzzi section - a pure haven on the hot days!

We were very lazy this time around as we had done most of the touristy things last year, so we just relaxed most days and almost always took the free shuttle to town in the evenings, it is a little quite at the Caravel in the evenings, but that seems to suit most, so not a problem.

I would definitely stay again when we return to Sorrento.....can't make it next year as have other family commitments.

The only suggestion to improve things I can suggest is to offer a half and half "half board" offer, for example, if you book for 8 nights, you can have 4 with half board and 4 with B&B, allowing you to sample some of the local restaurants on some of the evenings. Although the food is good here an great value, it would be nice to have the odd night out.

Thanks again to everyone at the Caravel.

Room Tip: We chose a superior room that got the morning sun, which meant we could enjoy a drink on the balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

This hotel has views of the ocean (we were on the 4th floor, ocean facing) which were pretty as we watched the sunset. The hotel is on the less expensive side for hotels in Sorrento area but charge for things like beach towels, Internet, etc which was annoying. The rooms were fairly clean and of moderate size. My husband and I only stayed one night and did have the buffet breakfast which was not great but ok as they offered a basic buffet breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We spent 11 nights in the caravel from Late July until early August this year. The hotel is clean - very clean . It is well situated and it has very friendly and efficient staff. The rooms are bright and clean and the beds comfortable - no issues there at all. The rooms are not massive - we had a superior room on the 4th floor and it was good but not a lot of spare room if any there.the view was good over the pool and you could see the see and the sunsets so it was all we had expected.
the reception staff were very good - always happy to help as were the bar staff and the guy who sorts the pool out - always ready to help find you a sunbed. that's the one issue there sometimes - not always there is a shortage of sunbeds but I personally didn't have that problem so no complaints from me.The food was good and the restaurant staff were very obliging and helpful .The waiters are friendly but very professional as in particular was the Maitre D' who runs the restaurant very well indeed. Overall a very good holiday at a good standard hotel that is worth recommending to friends.

Room Tip: Superior rooms on floor 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
197 reviews 197 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
1,321 helpful votes 1,321 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

As with all reviews we feel that travelers need to know the pros and cons of hotels. Caravel has very few cons!
The pros:
1. Hotel staff are lovely, friendly and helpful.
2. Rooms are clean and well maintained, and quiet.
3.The pool and jacuzzi are small but well maintained and were particularly welcomed by the family, as the temperature was 36-39 and a dip was very refreshing. Towels for the pool can be hired at 2 euros pp for week.
4.The breakfast selection was good and of a high standard. It was buffet style , and the hot food was hot (unlike "5 star" Nicosia Hilton, where we stayed in January-see review).
5. Restaurant staff ask you to select your evening menu choices each day at breakfast- a sensible idea to avoid food waste. There are usually a choice of at least 4 starters, 4 mains and 4 deserts. The house wines (red, white an rose (San Marco) are reasonably priced at 12euros, and of good quality. Beers (Peroni etc) at 3 euros are similar to most Sorrento restaurants.
The restaurant staff are particularly pleasant and cheerful, ensuring that our meals were enjoyable.
6. We were a party of seven-two grandparents, two parents and our triplet grandchildren aged 16. We wanted to see the crater of Mount Vesuvius, but the only tour went on Mondays and was expensive at 33 euros pp + 10 euro entry fee. Our tour company had included three tours in the package holiday- so Monday was spent at Pompeii. We looked at independent travel and enquired at reception about the cost of a taxi for 7 for the Tuesday. They were very efficient, and arranged an excellent taxi firm and driver which cost less than the tour. It was much appreciated.
7. We had an early flight to UK on the Saturday and the hotel provided a packed breakfast that day, and the restaurant staff provided hot drinks at 06.30 a.m.,- a kind gesture.
8.Tea/coffee making facilities can be provided at 4 euros per day per room, if you do not have travel kettle.
So what are the few cons:
1. Despite a notice at reception -"please do not reserve seats at pool by towels" regrettably most of the guests (from UK and other European countries) selfishly ignored this request and monopollsed the seating ALL day although they were not using it! Consequently no seating was available if you came back mid afternoon from a tour. I don't know how the hotel can resolve this problem.
2. Service at the Snack Bar was incredibly slow - over half an hour wait for a drink was quite normal. There are only apparently two staff there.
3. Although most of the courses on the evening meal were delicious, a few were a bit odd. The menu did helpfully state when frozen food was used, and which dishes were suitable for vegetarians.
4. The hotel is not in Sorrento, but Sant'Agnello, but they do provide a free shuttlebus (seats 8), bookable at reception into Sorrento (10 mins), and there are bus routes and a train station (Circumversuvio) from Sant'Agnello (although you may have to buy your train tickets at the local bar as the ticket office is not always open) -trains approx every 30 mins.
To summarise- this was our first trip to this region of Italy. Hotel Caravel is a good friendly base for your holiday.

Room Tip: Rooms at back face Vesuvius. Possibly better to go for room with balcony (but these are small).
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newry, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Just returned from a weeks stay at the Hotel Caravel, this was our first time staying in this hotel and in Sorrento. Hotel is in a good location, very well maintained and staff extremely helpful. We stayed on a half board basis, there was a reasonable selection of food for breakfast and evening meal. Rooms were clean, compact and air-conditioned - good shower! Rooms were cleaned every day.
Hotel is situated in a residential area of Sant'Agenello, this is approximately a 20min walk to Sorrento, narrow footpaths but no steep inclines easily manageable. Hotel operates a free shuttle bus into Sorrento a number of times during the day, there is also a local bus service which will take you into the main sqaure in Sorrento - runs frequently and there is a stop at the top of Via Crawford.
Jet ferry to Positano and Almalfi although much more expensive than the Sita bus quicker and more comfortable.
Overall great stay, would return.

Room Tip: A room with a balcony would be preferable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Caravel Sorrento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Caravel Sorrento

Address: Via Crawford 61, 80065 Sant'Agnello, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sant'Agnello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#6 Luxury Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#7 Romantic Hotel in Sant'Agnello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Caravel Sorrento 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Venere, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Caravel Sorrento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caravel Hotel Sant Agnello
Hotel Caravel Sorrento Italy/Province Of Naples

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Caravel Sorrento, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.