We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, silent, cozy hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Caravel Sorrento

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Caravel Sorrento to your Saves list
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Crawford 61, 80065 Sant'Agnello, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Sant'Agnello
Gomel, Belarus
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful, silent, cozy hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

Wonderful, silent, cozy hotel! Fine hotel! Friendly and kind staff! Spacious light rooms which perfectly clean, all is very convenient. A breakfast very good. An arrangement of hotel the fine. A silent, green, cozy place, near to Sorrento. There is a shatl-bass which goes to Sorrento, very often goes. There are public transport stops from which it is possible to reach both to Sorrento, and to Meta, and Piano. The railway 7-10 minutes from hotel. Nearby the sea and a beach on a pontoon. From a hotel terrace a fine view of the sea, Capri, Vesuvius, Naples and a delightful decline!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

737 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    501
    183
    48
    3
    2
See reviews for
169
435
16
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Just spent a really relaxing week at the Hotel Caravel. Very quiet with easy reach to the busy centre of Sorrento. We found all the staff very friendly and helpful. The hotel is kept spotlessly clean the maid who looked after our room was always cheerful and seemed to enjoy her work. The swimming pool was also maintained well and very clean. Good choice of food each evening and a nice relaxed waiter service to the table. All the waiters would take time to greet you each meal time. Good base for exploring Sorrento and surrounding areas. Really fantastic sunsets over the sea for those romantic moments! Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

We stayed six days and we had a wonderful holiday. We had a room with balcony with a lovely view over the sea and Vesuvius. The hotel stuff were very nice and helpful. The room was clean and spacious and the bathroom very nice. We recommend half board tough there are not so many restaurants close by. Of cause there are many restaurants in Sorrento, it takes about 15 minute walk into town. Hotel is near the station and it takes one hour with train to Naples and from Naples to Rome it takes one hour with fast train.
The area Sant'Agnello/Sorrento is breathtaking.

Room Tip: Choose a superior room, it's worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

We stayed 5 days and loved the area. The rooms were very clean. We booked two rooms for our family, but one room was around the corner from the other. This made it a little difficult to share toiletries. We enjoyed our stay and the front desk was very friendly and helpful. We did not like a couple of things; we don't like to pay for internet service. It was a very nominal amount but should have been included. We were surprised that entrance into the game room was also an extra charge as well as using beach towels. The shuttle bus is a plus, but there are large gaps (2 hours) at certain times during the day that it does not run. All in all it was a nice place to stay

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lochgilphead, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

This was our first time in Italy and very happy we chose the Hotel Caravel.We were there for 2 weeks in May.
The room we had had a balcony not sure i would have liked one without the balcony.The room was a good size and bathroom very nice.Maid service came every day and the maid we had was always smiling and singing lovely girl.
We stayed on a half board bases and only ate out twice only because we wanted to try some where in Sorrento to eat out.Food in the hotel was of very good standard always something different on the menu.All the staff in the restaurant we brilliant and very friendly especially Raffaele and Antonio.
The walk into Sorrento took only 15mins and was a nice easy walk.The hotel bus was very regular and ran on time.
The bar staff were fab and made our nights sitting chatting to them,
always made you feel very welcome and wanted to here about you day.Big thankyou to Massimiliano [Max] Maria-Laura and off course Giuseppe.
Overall the Hotel was an excellent base for a trip to Sorrento.
Only thing I would change would be the entertainment at night, could be doing with something a bit more lively.Once again thankyou all for a fab holiday and we will be back.

Room Tip: Book a room with a balcony not a standard room.Spoke direct to hotel after booking with Thomson and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

Spent a fantastic week in Sant'Agnello for a friend's wedding. A great base for Sorrento, about 15 minute walk into town. Hotel does provide regular free buses, although I didn't use. However, get ready to walk single file along the roads with few pavements & ladies you need flat shoes the roads are cobbly (I usually live in my heels and they stayed in the suitcase!) Back to the hotel- rooms are comfy, clean. Would have been a nice touch to have tea/ coffee. Plus they need more plug sockets (had to unplug TV to do my hair!) and more towels, need one for body & one for hair! Friendly and down-to-earth staff- they helped my friend with some wedding planning- taxis/ flowers etc. Max at the bar always very pleasant, and they happily allowed a group of women (friends in other hotels) to visit on the wedding morning to get the bride ready. Food- breakfast good (but poor coffee) Only ate dinner twice- first night was amazing, second night very good- have seen other reviews, there is plenty of food and good choice (4 options) although I would have like to know ingredients as I have dietary requirements. But no complaints about the food. I also heard that some people are sat on a table with strangers, but this didn't happen to me (I would not be impressed) Although breakfast always busy,the hotel didn't feel crowded, spent a couple of days by the nice pool but most of the week was spent exploring the beautiful Sorrento. Think that sums it up, not 5 star hotel but enjoyable, nice, friendly - very good experience! Would recommend

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

We stayed 3 nights in May and the hotel was perfect. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The room was immaculate and the bathroom luxurious. Breakfast was a self-serve affair with many choices. We enjoyed the outdoor seating and the wonderful pool. There were some great neighborhood restaurants within walking distance. All and all, I would recommend Hotel Caravel due to it's quiet location and easy access to downtown Sorrento via shuttle bus.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Caravel Sorrento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Caravel Sorrento

Address: Via Crawford 61, 80065 Sant'Agnello, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sant'Agnello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#6 Luxury Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#7 Romantic Hotel in Sant'Agnello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Caravel Sorrento 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Venere, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Caravel Sorrento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caravel Hotel Sant Agnello
Hotel Caravel Sorrento Italy/Province Of Naples

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Caravel Sorrento, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.