We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bella, bella, Cocumella” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Cocumella

Save Saved
You added Grand Hotel Cocumella to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Grand Hotel Cocumella
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   via Cocumella 7, 80065 Sant'Agnello, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 18 hotels in Sant'Agnello
london
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Bella, bella, Cocumella”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

we've just spent a carefree and casual 4 days at this lovely clifftop hotel. the breakfasts which we ate on the open air terrace were substantial with heaps of pastries and cakes to tempt us. Coffee was slighty variable in strength, on one morning, it was a little weak for my taste. we ate in the restaurant only once and it was fine, although there was not one starter that i fancied. the bread and olive oil was a fabulous substiture however and the wine was lovely. our room, a junior suite to which we were upgraded - a nice surprise - was cool and comfortable with good quality bedding and lots of character. the bathroom although spotless was a little small and dated, but provided everything one would need.what we loved most though were were
a) the fabulous gardens. just enchanting really and a lovely wide terrace with sweeping views of the bay
b) the frequently empty large swimming pool with constantly attended bar, hmmm 4pm prosecco anyone?
c) the lovely staff

grazie mille to all there. we really did chill out.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    84
    21
    9
    8
    9
See reviews for
21
62
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Taunton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

Having finished a food show in the UK my wife left for Gatwick at 1.30am we arrived at the hotel in our hire car at 11.30 to be warmly welcomed by Stephen the hotels GM. At 1.00pm we were enjoying a fabulous Spaghetti Vongole on the beautiful Terrace by the pool. We have never relaxed so quickly!

We stayed 4 nights in this beautiful hotel taking a taxi inthe evenings into Sorrento (15 to 20 euros) and travelled to Pompeii and the Amalfi coast in our own hire car. The concierge recommended some great restaurants.

Our room was spacious, comfortable and quiet. The gardens beautiful and the service from all staff excellent. We would certainly stay again.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

We are second time guests at The Grand Hotel Cocumella and will definitely return next year. We have stYed in many 5 star hotels and best hotels around the world and we highly recommend The Cocumella. When we arrived we were greeted like old friends by Stephen and his wonderful staff. The Hotel is even better than we remember it and the staff were polite efficient and extremely friendly.
The gardens surrounding the two lovely swimming pools are stunning and the lift takes you directly to the clear waters of the Bay of Naples where you are able to sun bake and swim.
The Cocoumella is far enough away from the tourist madness of Sorrento, but still within easy walking distance to visit.
The rooms that we have had both visits are very clean and the bedding is luxurious. It is also Quiet and you can always find a private place in the garden to relax.
We have found the food to be fresh and of an excellent standard. Whether it is lunch on the terrace or in the Restaurant the service is excellent.
By the way, we have read Stephanies review and we cannot believe that she stayed at The Cocumella.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

My family and I just returned from a two week trip to Italy- spent three nights at Cocumella. Hotel is an old Monestary which was refurbished. The grounds and gardens are spectacular. Our room- an oceanfront suite with an enormous balcony and private jacuzzi was very beautiful- clean and confortable. As far as other comments about the hotel being "far from the water"- it is as oceanfron as you can really get- all of the hotels are on a very high cliff- there is an elevator which takes you up and down to the beach- or there is also a pathway in the side of the cliff that you can take- great exercise climbing back up!

Stephen the general manager was very polite, friendly and professional- he even called me here in the US prior to our arrival when I was having a bit of difficulty communicating with the concierge via e-mail.

He arranged for us to take a private sail to Capri for the day on the tall ship Vera- it was our son's birthday- a truly wonderful and memorable experience. Antonio and Biagio the ship's captain and mate are the best- they were extremely friendly and were most gracious in accomodating my son's requests. Biagio prepared and served a wonderful lunch and they even had a birthday cake for our son. I would highly recommend chartering this ship.

As far as the service goes- as we found at all of the hotels we stayed in - don't expect the same service you are used to at 5 star facilities in the US. European service is just different- not quite sure exactly why this is the case- perhaps the fact that most Europeans and visitors don't tip much or anything at all (which is customary in most of Europe) leaves the waitstaff and hotel staff with little incentive to provide the high quality service we are used to in the US. But in comparison to the the service we experienced elsewhere in this trip- it was on par or better.

The food was wonderful- there was a wonderful party the night we arrived in celebration of the Virgin Mary (A holiday in Intaly)- drinks, appetizers, buffet meal with everything you could imagine and live music with dancing which took place on the oceanfront terrace- very enjoyable.

Hotel is not in Sorrento- but in the town right next to it. Quick cab ride to the main piazza in Sorrento which depending on traffic cost anywhere from 10-15 Euros each way for all 5 of us. We had a car- but it was too much of a hassle to drive and find parking- recommend taking a cab instead.

We did wander out into the piazza in S'ant Agnello- met some very friendly cafe and store owners .

We would most definitely return to Gran Hotel Cocumella on a future visit!

Room Tip: the ocean front froom with balcony and jacuzzi is wondeful- upstairs loft bedroon with king bed and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

I went to the Cocumella repeatedly over the years. While the prices are towards the higher range, I find them to be justified. What stands out is the staff's friendliness, and I would like to especially mention the chef concierge (who seems to be working 24/7) and can satisfy your every wish.

Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

This is an absolutely wonderful hotel. It's location is easily within walking distance to downtown. They upgraded us to a suite when we arrived. The staff was very attentive. The view was hard to beat! We plan to stay there again when we go back.

Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

We called in for a short 5 night break after the Hotel was recommended by Amex.
The location is staggeringly beautiful and the view across the bay from the top of the terrace is breathtakingly wonderful.
Our suite was in tip top condition and the balcony allowed a relaxed wake up in the morning. The Coculmella breakfast is something to behold!
The staff are so well establshed into the fabric of the hotel that you cant imagine how the place would function without them. The English manager, Stephen, is a the picture of elegance and gracious conveviality.
We took the day out to cruise around Capri on the lovely wooden Vera 1880 Sailing boat and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Hotel Cocumella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Cocumella

Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Cocumella Italy/Province Of Naples
Address: via Cocumella 7, 80065 Sant'Agnello, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sant'Agnello
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#10 Luxury Hotel in Sant'Agnello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Cocumella 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 16th-century former monastery sits on the coast overlooking the Bay of Naples. A hotel since 1822, it is a tranquil retreat with beautiful flower gardens that end at the cliff's edge, fine cuisine, a swimming pool and a superb sailing boat which can be chartered. The ambiance is sophisticated yet relaxed and peaceful. Rooms and suites with beautiful walnut furniture, marble chimneys and frescoed ceilings. 15 Minute walk to Sorrento town centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere, Splendia, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Grand Hotel Cocumella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Cocumella, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.