We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular way to spend a few hours ( unique tour)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Frantoio Gargiulo

Frantoio Gargiulo
Nastro d'Argento, 9 | fraz. Trasaella, 80065 Sant'Agnello, Italy
081 807 2300
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 16 Attractions in Sant'Agnello
Type: Factory Tours, Food & Drink
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Experience in the world of the Extra Virgin Olive Oil in Sorrento. We show a tipical Sorrento's garden with olive trees and many other fruit tree. We explain the tecniques of Olive Oil production and we make togheter a technical oil testing. We produce many kind of extra virgin olive oil and special oil with lemon and orange, two typical fruits of this area. The excusion has 4 steps: the garden, the old machines for production , the new tecniques of productions and the oil testing.
florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Spectacular way to spend a few hours ( unique tour)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

When we told our tour guide Gaetano (Sorrento House Tours) we wanted to do something different, he recommended we consider a visit to Frantoio Gargiulo especially since we were in the month of the pressing of the olives. He was on the mark with the suggestion. We had a wonderful time touring the grounds of the grove and the original house. Vittoria is so passionate and proud of her family's business that it was evident this was more than a "tour." We were never rushed and she shared with us not only the family history, pointing out the various stone buildings and what they originally housed. We walked the grove, and when she noted our interest in all the other fruits and herbs that are grown, she started to point them out and allowed us to pick and smell and try everything. We sat in the tasting room forever tasting oil blends and laughing with her. Noting our interest in cooking, she shared recipes for the many varieties of the oils. We felt so welcomed. As was shared by another reviewer, it was hard not to purchase a little bit of everything. We did and the shipment arrived shortly after our return home. They are all incredibly delicious and it makes every meal exquisite in taste. It's obvious that this business is a passion. We highly recommend this experience to anyone looking to do something different, to get away from the crowds of tourists and to anyone wanting to get a taste of the region's incredibly wonderful olive oil.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    5
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Excellent Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

My wife and I had an excellent tour of the old and modern practices of making olive oil and the management of the olive garden. This family operation has a rich and interesting history. Their passion for the olive oil "art" is very evident. They also provide a very interesting tasting session. You cannot leave the place without buying some of their unique blends. I was also impressed later that night when we went to the top rated restaurant in Sorrento (Delfino), where they served bread with the Gargiulo oil.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very authentic Italian experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We had a lovely time at Frantoio Garuiulo visiting their Olive grove and oil factory. Vittoria was a lovely host as was Raffaella. We enjoyed the look into their family history and business. All of the oils were wonderfully presented and we enjoyed the tastings and the insight into the olive oil business. We just couldn't contain ourselves with the 4oz limit for the airlines, so we made a large order that arrived at our home in the US less than 2 weeks after our visit. We are looking forward to hosting our own tasting of our Italian treasures.

My only suggestion would be to ask Vittoria at the time that you book the tour to arrange a car for you. The taxi driver we took to the site charged double what Vittoria's friend did to return us.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Now you know how to make olive oil”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

We turned up in the middle of a power cut, farmers arriving with olives that couldn't be pressed, all pretty stressful and they were cool about it, phoned someone to come and take us around, very informative tour and tasting.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales, uk
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Well worthwhile”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

We visited in early October 2011. Some olive oil production was underway but not yet in full swing. Vittoria was a delightful guide who took us to the olive grove, passing plenty of other productive trees and sampling their fruits and nuts along the way. The old family home was preserved as was and gave us a glimpse of times gone by. We arranged the visit via our hotel receptionist and were collected and returned by car - no charge for this. We completed the visit with a tour of the factory and a tasting session. At no stage did Vittoria try to sell products to us - they sold themselves by the obvious quality. We bought several items but were frustrated by the limitations of a 20kg luggage allowance and will certainly order online when current stock runs out. We certainly left with much more awareness of olive oil production and felt like tv chefs sourcing our own produce.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frantoio Gargiulo also viewed

Sant'Agnello, Province of Naples
 
Sant'Agnello, Province of Naples
Sant'Agnello, Province of Naples
 

Been to Frantoio Gargiulo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Frantoio Gargiulo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.