We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like a home away from home” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villa dei D'Armiento

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Villa dei D'Armiento to your Saves list
Villa dei D'Armiento
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   Corso M.Crawford 79, 80065 Sant'Agnello, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Sant'Agnello
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Like a home away from home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

I booked the villa for the second leg of our Italian adventure, and after spending two days in the hustle and bustle of beautiful Rome, we were looking forward to the chilled out luxury of Sorrento.

We were advised to get the train to Sant'Agnello and managed to follow signs pretty much right round to the villa, which is located right next to a gorgeous viewing spot. You can see right over the water. It took us roughly 15-20 minutes to get there.

The house is every bit as stunning as I was expecting from the images on the website, it really didn't disappoint. The furnishing and decor is so tasteful and pristine. We checked in with the super helpful Emeliana, who was a pleasure to deal with throughout the holiday, and always on hand for us to ask questions to. She was never once pushy or intrusive, she just let us get about our business and was there if needed, which in my opinion makes the perfect hostess.

We were lead outside the main building to the suite outside in the lemon grove, which was just stunning. It has its own outdoor shower, table and chairs and two sunloungers. Two glass doors opened out into the garden and the bed was huge, with a massive shower (best shower ever!) and couch for us to relax on. The bottle of prosecco I had requested was ready and waiting, with a bowl of olives, two chocolates and a welcome note.

Breakfast in the morning was delicious, and I came to absolutely love the croissants with thinly sliced hams and cheeses - I could eat that every day! The coffee was brewed to perfection. The only thing I would say was if you wanted a coffee during the day, they'd happily make one for you - at a price. I think it would be a nice touch to keep this small luxury free. Just my opinion though.

The pool area, and the general surrounding areas of the hotel, were just amazing. We didn't have very hot weather so unfortunately couldn't take advantage of that, but I can just see myself lounging there in the height of summer, G&T in hand. They provide towels for you too, if you wish.

We never ate in the hotel, and I got the impression that they didn't really want to take lunch or dinner orders, but the dining area around the outside pizza oven looked lovely.

The villa was a little far out of Sorrento for my personal liking, around a 25 minute walk through thin paths and sometimes unlit areas. Do not get a cab though - it takes around 4 minutes to get back to the villa, and costs 19-22 euros! Absolutely shocking! Sorrento is just stunning though, and Sant'Agnello didn't have much to do, so you'd have to go there.

Overall, I loved the villa, and I loved Sorrento. It is pricey, and this is probably a more expensive alternative to a hotel, but it's so, so worth it!

Room Tip: The suite outside was amazing, but we did get a lot of ants in the bathroom because the doors were o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    21
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
132
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Solihull, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

The Villa is set in the most stunning location. We took the train to Saint Agnello and it took us about 15 mins to walk to Villa dei D’Armiento. We booked the Junior Suite but were given the Terrace Room with its own private lift – I was very impressed. However, not half as impressed as when I walked onto one of the 3 terraces adjoining the room and took in the panoramic views of Mount Vesuvius and Sorrento. 360 degrees of gorgeousness!!! It did help that we had 26 degrees and clear blue skies in October. The Terrace Room has the whole top floor of the building and the terraces have their own sun loungers and chairs, along with showers on the terrace – we only needed to leave the space to eat!!

The bedroom itself is pretty petite, but this is more than compensated for by the Terraces. The en-suite is beautifully done and with a view of Vesuvius it really can’t be beaten!

The staff at D’Armiento spoke excellent English and were very helpful. In particular the lady that was on late and night and early morning was just superb in helping us get the airport bus from Saint Agnello back to Naples – we’d have never found the bus stop without her directions and even though its not possible to book the bus she rang the company to inform them which bus we’d be getting from where so as they could expect us.

Breakfast on the sun terrace in the gardens was stunning – the gardens are very mature and just beautiful, we were blown away.

The room had a fridge and minibar and Sky TV which was great as we got Sky News and BBC World Service so we could catch up on what was going on in the world! There was a pool at the Villa, which we didnt indulge in as we couldn't move from the sun loungers on our own private terrace - we felt we had to make the most of it!!

Location wise this worked well for us. It was remote enough to be pretty quiet and turning right out the hotel the café on the corner had probably the best views in the world – we spent several hours enjoying a beer or cappuccino and people watching with Sorrento in the foreground and Vesuvius behind us.
Taking a left out the Villa it was only a 15 – 20 mins walk into Sorrento. Walk straight past the first Piazza you get to (there will be bars and music and invariably a younger crowd) and carry on 2 mins to the main Piazza – fabulous restaurants and a lot better ambiance and atmosphere. Here Bar Faurno and one opposite both have Gluten Free menus – I didn’t expect that at all. In Bar Fauno I had wheat free tortellini…heaven!!! We walked back to the Villa every evening (15 – 20 mins) in the dark and it is lit all the way and we felt very safe – albeit the pavements get abit narrow!

The décor, service and ambiance in Villa dei D’Armiento were just fantastic. I had high expectations of the accommodation just outside Sorrento and Villa dei D’Armiento absolutely didn’t disappoint. I would highly recommend and if/when I go back to Sorrento I will stay here again.

Room Tip: I cant imagine there are bad rooms - if you want to chill out in the sun with the most stunning view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We had a fantastic stay at this lovely boutique hotel. It's located on a quiet street, the rooms are beautiful and clean, the gardens are gorgeous and the staff are amazing. I would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ra'anana, Israel
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We have just returned from 3 nights at this charming villa.
We booked a deluxe room which was spacious and very elegant, with crisp white linens and good towels and robes. Our room was on the 1st floor with a large terrace and view over the tropical garden. The bathroom was stylish with a large 'rain shower' but as there was no door the floor got soaked after every shower. The entire villa is beautifull, and decorated in white and green with modern and antique furniture.
The free wifi worked rather sporadically (as in almost all the hotels we stayed in)
Breakfast was good and served in the lovely garden, with eggs made to order. A little too many per-packaged items for an up-market boutique hotel especially the 'long-life' milk.
Every one of the staff was extremely friendly and went out of their way to be helpful.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors probably have views of the sea and Sorrento
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford-on-Avon, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

5 day stay in this stunning villa on the outskirts of Sorrento. Beautiful gardens and pool with a lovely room with views to Vesuvius. Maria and Emiliana could not have been more helpful with advice on trips, restaurants and driving. If you visit try the local Moonlight restaurant or the Buffalito Inn in Sorrento. Only advice if you are flying into Naples dont bother with car hire just taxi to Naples station and use the Vesuviano train. Sat Navs dont work and driving is a nightmare.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

This is a charming family villa on the outskirts of Sorrento in Sant'Agnello, which owner Pierluigi D'Armiento has converted into a lovely boutique hotel.

We stayed for 5 nights and had a room on the second floor with excellent views of Vesuvius and the bay of Naples.

The villa and rooms are scrupulously clean and beautifully furnished as well as being very comfortable with large beds, bathrobes and good quality towels and linens. We loved the modern bathroom with rain shower.

Breakfast was lovely and served in the beautiful gardens.

The staff (especially Emiliana and Maria) were all very friendly and helped us with suggestions on restaurants and visiting Capri. Nothing was too much trouble and they made our stay very enjoyable.

Can't recommend it highly enough!

Room Tip: Our room had a balcony but we noticed that some rooms on the first floor had access to a lovely sun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wading River, New York
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We spent 4 days of our Italy trip at this beautiful villa. There are not enough adjectives to describe its' beauty, charm and comfort in addition to a staff that is top notch, helpful and personable beyond compare. About a 20 minute walk from the town of Sorrento, so it is outside the major congestion. Extremely clean, breakfasts were more than adequate with the option of ordering lunch or dinner in advance to be served either in their stunning gardens or indoors. We would certainly desire a return visit if in the area!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa dei D'Armiento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa dei D'Armiento

Address: Corso M.Crawford 79, 80065 Sant'Agnello, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sant'Agnello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#4 Family Hotel in Sant'Agnello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa dei D'Armiento 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa dei D'Armiento is a new Maison De Charme in Sorrento Peninsula. The Boutique Hotel is a beautiful example of an ancient liberty style construction, finalized at the end of the 18th century and restaurated in the 2010. The Villa is simply a small corner of paradise where people can relax in its green garden with swimming pool and it's far 50 meters from the sea and 1km from Sorrento center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Venere, MrandMrsSmith, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Villa dei D'Armiento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Dei d`Armiento Hotel Sant`Agnello
Villa Dei D'Armiento Italy/Province Of Naples

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa dei D'Armiento, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.