We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homish place in a fantastic location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Il Tulipano

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Il Tulipano to your Saves list
Il Tulipano
Via Nastro Azzurro 24, 80067 Sant'Agnello, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 20 Sant'Agnello B&B and Inns
Tel Aviv, Israel
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Homish place in a fantastic location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We knew nothing about the venue and where to stay for 3 days in the Sorrento area, and decided on staying in this B&B according to Tripadvisor reviews. Sometimes, one is lucky as we were. First the location is up in the mountains with gorgeous views, our room had such a view. The great welcome by Giorgio and his mother, Maria. Giorgio made every effort that we will get there without getting lost on the way. Then with instructions where to go and what to do around, and there is lots to do in the area. The room was spotless with all the amenities, good Wifi, fabulous breakfast with eggs laid by the chicken nearby. We could not say NO to Maria’s homemade pies, jams and cakes. YUMMY!! Just 2 minute walk there is a small supermarket- they will make you great sandwiches. And of course IL Rifugio great restaurant is just around the corner. If one wants to feel a real Italian atmosphere and at home this is the right place to come. For us it was an unforgettable vacation.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    12
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
36
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights. The place is nice, clean. Breakfast was good. Giorgio and his mother are affables and the atmosphere is homely. Location, as a start point for Sorrento or Amalfi coast is good.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Clean and comfortable. This is the perfect place to launch a Sorrentine Adventure from! Day trips to Positano, Amalfi (I loved this trip), Ravello (breath taking views) as well as in to Sorrento and Capri.
This is in a small town in the hills of Sant Agnello (Sorrento) that has panoramic views of the towns below, the neighboring mountains and of both the Bay of Naples and the bay of Salerno. It would be good to have a car but transportation on each day trip was easy and very reasonable. All we had to do was ask Maria or her son, Giorgio, and everything fell into place!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hauppauge, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in September 2012. Located in a small village a few miles from Sorrento, this is as close to a real local Italian experience as you can get. If you do not have a car just be aware that even though there is a bus stop in front, it was not 100% reliable. That said, Giorgio and his mother Maria made us feel like family. Giorgio couldn't do enough for us and helped us out of a couple of scheduling problems. WE ARE FOREVER GRATEFUL TO YOU GIORGIO AND WILL NEVER FORGET. Maria was like our Italian mother and even though we did not speak Italian, we managed to communicate somehow. Maria would prepare our breakfast of whatever we wanted and each morning it was waiting for us. If you're using the local bus it helps to know some Italian but from what we experienced most people were very willing to help guide us. Positano is about 20 minutes away and from there you can go to Capri or travel the coast to Amalfi and Ravello. One of the best parts of our stay here was the restaurant just next to IL Tulipano. It was the best food we had in all of our 2 weeks in Italy, including Rome, Tuscany, Florence and Lake Como. And, the restaurant owner was just terrific, giving us some samples of food without charge. Hint: if you can, go early before others arrive for a more one on one experience

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We were so well taken care of by the whole family. Zia Piera and Mamma Maria picked us up at the train station, stopping to give us time for a spectacular view of the Bay of Naples with Vesuvius in the background. Maria, Giorgio's mother, made delicious breakfast everyday which included homemade pastry. She even packed us coffee in a thermos when we said we were tired and wanted to just relax near the B and B one day. On days we went off to Pompei and Capri, she and Aunt Piera gave us a couple bottles of cold water and an umbrella to take along. Giorgio, the owner, graciously and warmly met us every morning to answer questions in English. You can count on Aunt Piera to give detailed directions (in Italian) about which buses to take and what town to see (Ravello) for successful outings, and she even made sure our luggage was taken care of when we wanted to spend extra time in Sorrento before leaving. As long as you can figure out the local buses, there is no problem getting anywhere. The SITA bus, which takes you to Positano and the Amalfi Coast stops right in front of the property, and so does the little local red bus which takes you into the center of S. Agnello. From there you can walk or take another bus or even the train to Sorrento. We found this B and B perfect for relaxing after the day trips and for local color. It's quiet and away from the tourists in Sorrento. What made the stay so special was our experience with Maria, Piera, and Giorgio; their warmth and kindness made us feel right at home. We would love to visit our Italian "relatives" again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

We recently stayed here for six days, and loved every minute. We actually were only planning on staying three days, and loved it so much that we extended our stay another 3 days. While do you need a car to stay here, it's completely worth it, for the genuine Italian family home experience, the lovely accommodations and view, the to-die for breakfasts which consist of homegrown fruits and vegetables and homemade pastries, the free parking in an area of the country where you pay at least 18 euros a day for parking, not to mention the money you save over hotels in the bigger cities. Giorgio sends you a pdf of directions to the hotel, complete with pictures of each turn, which makes it easy to find. He also has Wifi, which he is currently in the process of making available to guests. Worst case, there is an internet cafe across the street which doesn't even charge you to use the internet. The families in the area are so wonderful, and really make you feel at home. We usually stay at international chains such as the Hyatt, the Hilton, and the Ritz, and this stay made us think we've been doing it wrong the whole time, and should be staying at bed and breakfasts instead. There's only 3 rooms in the B and B, and Giorgio and his family go out of their way to make sure you can conveniently use their B and B to explore the Amalfi coast. They provided us with bus and ferry schedules, gave us suggestions for hikes in the area, and helped plan the activities for each day. He even dropped us off to the ferry station so we wouldn't have to pay for parking in Sorrento when we went for our day trip to Capri. The B and B is about a 10 minute drive to Sorrento, a 15 minute drive to positiono. One of our favorite aspects of the stay was the new restaurant adjacent to the B and B, Il Refugio, which serves authentic homestyle Italian food in generous portions - amazing! It was really one of the best culinary experiences of our lives, and we live in NYC and are complete food snobs, having eaten at most of the Michelin star rated restaurants in the city. We ended up eating at that restaurant 3 times, because it was so much better than any other food we could find in the tourist ridden traps throughout the rest of the coast. There's a Michelin 2 star rated restaurant less than a mile from the B and B, which is regarded as one of the best restaurants in all of Italy, and we preferred this one!

All in all, stay here! You will have a great experience - Giorgio and his family will ensure it! If you have a car, you really won't mind being outside of the more touristy locations along the coast - we would just stay out and come back to the B and B whenever we wanted. It actually felt really nice - like we were returning to our own private Italian villa after spending a day out! And with all the money we saved by not staying in the towns, we were able to really splurge on everything else we did. We can't recommend it enough!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

A lovely place, off the beaten track in a small village. Great place to explore the amalfi coast . Stay here only if you have a car . It can be quite difficult if one has to rely on public transport. Giorgio, the dentist who runs the B& B was helpful and the room was lovely. Cosy and with beautuful touches like hand embroided pillow cases and sheets. The highlight of course was the breakfast, which was absolutely great. Home baked cakes and eggs and fruit and Tarts. We never had such a greta B'fast anywhere else. The square has beautiful views at night and the bar/ gellato shop also has wifi- which we did not have at the B&B. The restutant across the road Stellucia was fantastic. Really good food and packed with locals. It was great to get away from the tourist traps and get a feel of a small village. Getting there was a bit of a challenge - even with the GPS, but was worth getting lost and eventually getting there.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Il Tulipano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Tulipano

Address: Via Nastro Azzurro 24, 80067 Sant'Agnello, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sant'Agnello
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Sant'Agnello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Venere, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Il Tulipano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Tulipano Italy/Province Of Naples

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Tulipano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.