We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interski ...again ang again” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Interski

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Interski to your Saves list
Hotel Interski
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cisles 51, 39047 Santa Cristina Valgardena, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Rome, Italy
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Interski ...again ang again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Last August it was my first time at this hotel (my companion's 37th !!). We went back in December 2011 just to see how it is in winter (we don't ski). We thought "splendid"!! This year we went back at the beginning of July since Lukas Demetz, the hotel's deus- ex-machina, recommended it for the wild flowers that erupt at the beginning of summer. We are glad we did!! The lawns and valleys are a true spectacle and feast for the eyes. The Interski service as always impeccable, the food as usual delicious. I did invite Mrs. Demetz to come to the dining room to take a bow or a standing ovation, but she is too discrete for such a thing. She prefers to operate from behind the scene! Mr. Demetz's stories are always witty and phylosophical: not to miss! This year we ventured to the top of magic Pic mountain for a 360 degree view of the area, AND to the Puez mountain, less magic but what a challenge for the soul and of course for the body!!! For the descent, we recommend not to deviate from path 2 onto path 12 to Selva. It's endless forced (no other way to go) labor and makes you late for dinner. We arrived in our sweaty shorts at 7.30 instead of 7pm and missed the pre-dinner jacuzzi treat!!! We were lucky to be around for the Ortisei annual festival organized by the local firemen, a warm old-fashioned feast with excellent food and children in their costumes helping clearing the tables of glasses and bottles. A must return!!

Room Tip: 3rd floor facing the Sasso Lungo!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    10
    8
    5
    6
See reviews for
20
57
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

The first positive thing about this hotel is that I was able to check availability and book online, something that not many hotels in Italy allow you to. The second big positive is the food, which was varied and delicious, and prepared very carefully. The pasta and the rice were cooked to perfection, and attention was given to the buffet as well, which is often overlooked in other establishments.

The hotel is a family-run establishment, and one cannot fail to notice it. The owner greets all the guests at both breakfast and dinner, and the staircase shows his numerous watercolours. His wife is the cook and is rarely seen as she must spend the whole day in the kitchen. The son is the maitre and deals with all practical issues, including advising on the wines in the extensive wine list.

The hotel is a short walk, 5-10 minutes, from the slopes and provides a shuttle service which I have not tried as I preferred to walk. The hotel facilities are very good, including a bright swimming pool with a great view on the mountains, and saunas. The wellness centre (which includes the pool) closes at 6:30pm, which helps everyone be ready for dinner at 7:00-7:30 (winter times, not sure about summer).

Everyone is very very helpful and approachable, and seem to genuinely care about their guests.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

Stayed again at the Interski as a base for skiing in the area. Two new amenities since last we stayed are: a new Shuttle taxi for the exclusive use of guests to take them directly to the entrance to the ski lift of one mountain or the funicular train of another - makes the morning start much easier; and a new large sauna with spectacular views of the mountains - most relaxing after a day on the piste. The original friendly Demetz family, charm, courtesy and excellent cuisine are all still there too! It's peaceful, warm and ideally situated - ideal.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2010

Just stayed at the Interski for six days whilst touring in Italy. Everything about this Hotel is excellent. The Hotel is in an enviable postion in the charming town of Saint Cristina in Val Gardena. Views from the spacious rooms are to die for. The food is of an excellent high standard. We always left the table praising the excellence of the kitchen. The staff are all very freindly and attentive. The owner Alberto is very charming and always ready to offer advice on places to visit, walks and history of the area.

The hotel also boasts an excellent fitness area with an indoor pool where you can gaze out at the stunning views. Try the jacuzzi in the garden and you will not be disapointed.

All in all and excellent hotel situated in some of the most stunning scenry it has been our pleasure to witness.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2010

After this week in this hotel I know that I am too young to stay in 4 Star Hotel. In the evening I want to go out for a drink and don't want to spend two hours waiting for food, especially when the food is far far removed from the lovely tasty Italian cuisine. Giving my opinion to the owner when we were leaving, I was told that I should have complained straight away; but I think if the cook is bad he will be always bad. The Hotel is not far from the ski slopes although you have to take a car to the car park (4 Euro) or walk for 15minutes. If after skiing you would like to have coffee or walk through small streets don't choose St.Christina village (where Hotel Interski is), but neighbouring villages Wolkenstein or Ortisei. Skiing in Val Gardena was nice although the Italian colleagues might occasionally pull the snowmobile and adjust the slopes :-)” I hope next year I will have more luck in the selection.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thames Ditton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2010

This was our first trip to the Dolomites and we were all blown away by the scenery and the skiing range. This Hotel was first class and provided a warm and friendly place to retreat after a days skiing, offering a convenient spa area and some fabulous dinners !

St Cristina is a great place to base yourself for the Sella Ronda and the Val Gardena valley, but it is pretty quiet at night. For nightlife we went into Selva which was about 2k away ( 25 mins walk or 2 min taxi ). All in all a great holiday and we have all said we are going back asap as there's so much more to see !

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2010

We had a Superb stay in this hotel,....... service, food, atmosphere ...... all where very good.
I recommend hotel Interski to explore the Sella Ronda on ski's.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Interski? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Interski

Address: Cisles 51, 39047 Santa Cristina Valgardena, Italy
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > South Tyrol Province > Val Gardena > Santa Cristina Valgardena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Santa Cristina Valgardena
#3 Luxury Hotel in Santa Cristina Valgardena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Interski 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Interski reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Interski Val Gardena, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Interski, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.