We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressed by the food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Uridl

Restaurant Uridl
via Chemun 43 | Charme Hotel Uridl, 39047 Santa Cristina Valgardena, Italy
0039 0471 793215
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $28 - $130
Cuisines: Austrian, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Gröningen, Sachsen-Anhalt, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Impressed by the food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We went with a couple of friends in early February. The food was great, but however, I must tell you something: one of the waiters asked us to write positive feedbacks about him on tripadvisor. I don't recall his name, but I think he was an Arab guy, as his name was something like Mohammed or something.
I dont' know about you, but I don't think that it is ok for a waiter to ask for positive reviews, especially as he was a bit smelly with long and not so clean nails. This is why I will only give a 2 points rating in the Service section.

Anyway, the Tyrolese food was awesome and it was well served. Uridl was great and I really look forward to eat a dessert there.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    12
    25
    4
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Elegant Christmas dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We went there as a group of five after ski-ing on Christmas evening. The welcome and service were warm friendly, and put us in a good mood, as did the decor. A lovely dining room with historic photos on the walls. The food was very good, and even the vegetarians in our group found dishes they could eat and enjoy, though in the mountain huts when ski-ing vegetarians usually have a very limited choice of the same old things. We would definitely go there again, next time to stay in the hotel, which is located in the old part of Santa Cristina next to the church and the oldest buildings in the village.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nothing too special”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012 via mobile

There is not much choise and the food is not that good.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selva di Val Gardena, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Terrible deserts!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

We went to this restaurant today,but we were not hungry,so me and my family decided to test some deserts with hot drinks.We have 4 black teas, but they weren´t really good.Tea has been made using teabags. Chocolate cake was either not tasty, stupid, with cream from the bottle.Hot chocolate dumplings were porridge bolls with Nuttela. Only ice cream and strudel was not bad. I haven´t tried main courses,but deserts was quit bad.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uridl, Owner at Restaurant Uridl, responded to this review, February 24, 2012
Dear Anastasia,
first of all we want to thank you for your feedback. We care about every comment, good and bad, as we always try to improve in our service we give. As we are mainly a restaurant and not a tea room, we serve different types of tea using tea bags, except for the herbal tea, where we use an open local herb selection. We are sorry, that you did not like the chocolate cake. For the cream, we try to serve freshly wipped cream, but because of lack of time and the amount of work, we had to use the one from the bottle. We never had any complaint about the cream, as it is used in the majority of the restaurants and bars. The chocolate dumplings are made of fresh cheese ("ricotta" called in Italian) and are filled with nougat.
As you did not try the other dishes of our menu, we invite you to try also the main courses and our homemade pasta dishes. Maybe you will change your opinion on our kitchen.
yours sincerely
Helmar Demetz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Elegant restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

Elegant restaurant ca 10 minutes walk from the centrum, on a hillside. Very polite service, tasty South Tyrolean food, good wines. Not too expensive.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Uridl also viewed

Santa Cristina Valgardena, Val Gardena
Santa Cristina Valgardena, Val Gardena
 
Santa Cristina Valgardena, Val Gardena
Santa Cristina Valgardena, Val Gardena
 

Been to Restaurant Uridl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Uridl, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.