We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Palace of a hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Borgo Palace Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Borgo Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Borgo Palace Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Senese Aretina, 80, 52037 Sansepolcro, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Sansepolcro
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A Palace of a hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We found Borgo Palace hotel on our first visit to Sansepolcro. Luckily the hotel was not full and we had a first floor room with a small balcony. It was a beautiful room, the best we had on a travels of italy. The room was large and extremely comfortable. The breakfast was included and although a typical continental breakfast it was still good. Reception was very friendly and as we could not speak italian their english was very good. We would definately stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    46
    21
    3
    2
See reviews for
5
32
2
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

The rooms are very spacious and comfortable . We stayed here on tour with Page and Moy. We were booked in for one evening meal which was very poor and the service was at best surly and inefficient. My slices of meat served on cold plate waited at least another 10 minutes. For any veg to appear. Breakfast was no better,no cereal bowls,no bread,no working toaster and no sign of a waiter to get coffee.
Hotel is at least 20 mins walk from town centre restaurants but great taxi service from Enrico Baldi

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Here for 3 nights June 15-17 June 2012 as part of a Page and Moy tour group and glad it wasn't any longer. It's really a business/conference hotel whereas on a holiday you want something a bit special. Rooms have small balconies but no seats are provided so you can't sit out there with a glass of something. But you can stand and admire the fine display of dead weeds in the window boxes and anti-pigeon spikes.Room was large though, ditto bathroom, and everything worked. The staff all looked gloomy and miserable.Breakfast was poor, they ran out of rolls and croissants/pastries with more than an hour of breakfast time to go. Scrambled eggs were placed in a cold dish and left on a table, no hotplate or hot water under the dish so they were quickly stone cold. Orange juice was a fluorescent colour, I suspect it was a powder base mixed with water. Didn't try the fruit/chocolate tarts. We ate in the hotel first night, very average.
On our return from visiting a nearby historic town on a very hot day, one lady asked for a cup of tea but this couldn't be provided, not much to ask of a 4 star hotel. It's about a 15- 20 minute walk into Sansepolcro itself where there are plenty of eateries.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

I go often to Sansepolcro on business and always stay at this hotel and like it very much. Good service, nice and clean spacious rooms with good bathroom. Good breakfast. WI-FI you need to buy separate but this happens in loads of other places too. Good value hotel. You have ample parking and then can drive to the historic centre in less than five minutes. As we always go there, there is no need of even showing passport as all the information is stored in their system saving always a few minutes too.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

Our room at the Borgo Palace was very pleasant although, as the air conditioning did not work (had been turned off as the hot season was over, we think), we had to sleep with the window open and both my husband and I got bitten by insects in the night. We had a small balcony ringed by anti pigeon spikes. The view from this was good. The hotel is about a ten minute walk from town and there are a couple of bars on the doorstep, which is useful as the hotel bar is tiny and only opened just before dinner. The shower screen leaked and the marble floor became rather slippery. Food at this hotel is good, but the staff were not very welcoming. The hotel, to me, had the feeling of a conference hotel and in the UK I would have expected a hotel of this quality to have a gym and more inviting public areas, and, perhaps unreasonably, I did feel the lack of these!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
255 helpful votes 255 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2011

My wife and I stayed here as part of a Page & Moy holiday touring Central Italy. After the rigours of our first hotel (it was OK but in need of lots of TLC) it was a joy to arrive here and be allocated a Junior Suite on the 4th floor overlooking a sports ground and distant hills. No balcony though as other of our guests had but that didnt matter at all. The bed was huge and comfortable, the decorations modern and sophisticated, the bathroom great with a power shower and plenty of toiletries to indulge you. The only downside perhaps was the large modern TV had no BBC Channels and but one English speaking news channel the ghastly US Fox News which reveals why America is so unloved outside the USA !! We had been looking forward to eating in the restaurant which had apparently received rave reviews in the past ('popular with locals etc'). But I was disappointed. We had one included meal (Friday) outside in the pleasant garden but there were only two choices for each course, the service was slow, the meat was a bit dry and nothing was piping hot. But the sweet was delicious - fresh fruit and ice cream. The second night we were out in Arezzo for an amazing medieval jousting tournament, and the third (Sunday) night the chef has off so we had to make do with a basic meal, OK in itself, but not what one would call four star, costing 30 Euros. The ambience of the modern hotel is very good. Yes, stay here for touring but for exploring San Sepulcro it is a good traipse of 20 minutes into town which ONLY HAS TWO TAXIS and they are often on holiday (!!!!) so you have to rely on a very unreliable bus service to get you to and fro or use shanks pony. There is a supermarket nearby but nowhere to buy stamps for overseas postcards -65c for Europe 85c for USA . Would we stay here again. Yes but at midweek when the Chef is in situ to try out his cooking for real and not second hand. The staff were OK and the rooms kept spotless whilst the glass outside lift was fun ! It lives up to its 4 star rating - just. But they need to get a BBC TV service to please us Brits...
Astro travel
Tony Ireland
Cheltenham England

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2010

Great hotel... Wonderful food in the hotel restaurant. Make a reservation and enjoy the wonderful food!!

Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Borgo Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borgo Palace Hotel

Address: Via Senese Aretina, 80, 52037 Sansepolcro, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Sansepolcro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Sansepolcro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Borgo Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Borgo Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Borgo Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.