We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Whow - you would be mad not to stay at this place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Relais Poggio Ai Santi

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Priceline.com
Relais Poggio Ai Santi
Strada di San Bartolo 100, 57027 San Vincenzo, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 26 hotels in San Vincenzo
Bristol
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Whow - you would be mad not to stay at this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We booked Poggio Ai Santi as part of our honeymoon. We love boutique and personal hotels and this ticked all the boxes. The owner is just lovely and all the staff are so welcoming and helpful. The hotel setting is so romantic. We went in November and it took our breath away so in the summer I can imagine it to be mind blowing. They also have a super chef, I think Michelin star and the food was divine. I am on a gluten free diet and they already had gluten free bread and pasta in! We are definitely going back. The location is also fabulous - the ocean on one side and beautiful countryside and woodland on the other. The bedroom was large, clean and perfect, you all must go!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    96
    14
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
7
87
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We had a two days stay mid October at Poggio ai Santi. The weather was great and could eventually enjoy still of the beach.
Poggio ai Santi location is wonderful and all the staff was more than fair with us. We eventually make friendship with the owners who told us how they slowly build their small paradise.

They are used to invite their new guests to a welcome drink, which is a very good opportunity to know more about Tuscany.
By the way, I also see how some people can be rude and the patience the owners need to have with some: a couple (probably in their late 70...) arrived at the drink without greeting anybody not even the owners, complaining about the temperature (it was 19 degrees at night...), requiring extra heaters, dinner at 19h30 when the restaurant opens at 20h00 and... (believe us we were shocked for this...) to change the music which did not fit their taste (and we loved that soft jazz...!). Traveling sometimes allows us to catch exactly the kind of attitude to avoid. And the owners were just supporting all this with smiles and trying to solve.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern VA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

This is an absolutely fantastic B&B/agriturismo, with outstanding rooms and an excellent gourmet restaurant. It is in the hills outside of San Vincenzo with stunning views out to the sea and Elba Island. At night, the lights of San Vincenzo and Piambino sparkle in the distance below this hillside retreat. The gardens are lovely, dominated by many fruit trees and herbs, with lavender and rosemary highlighting the scents during our stay. The nicely decorated common spaces and extensive grounds are to be explored, being sure to pay some attention to the four-legged residents (we befriended 2 charming dogs, a couple of horses and 3 donkeys). A lovely and varied buffet breakfast is served each morning in the restaurant or, weather permitting, on the restaurant terrace (it is also possible to have the breakfast delivered directly to your room).

The owners and staff here really understand how to deliver quality service in a professional, thorough and warm way. It is as though the hosts are determined to see that their guests are fully accommodated as if they were old friends, not patrons. This creates a sense of calm that is an absolutely perfect blend with the surroundings. The Poggio Ai Santi website tries to convey this sense of quiet serenity which results from the place, environment, view, and service all coming together as one… but we did not “get it” until we actually experienced it. Very nicely done!

The rooms are at once rustic and modern, with attention paid to the ultimate comfort of the guests. Our room, one of 2 “Royal Suites” in the seaside building was huge with a large and comfortable bed and expansive bath (seriously, the bathroom itself is larger than most hotel rooms in Rome). The bathroom in this room has separate soaking tub and shower, but if neither of those options entice, you can always opt for a hot bath in the cast iron tub on the completely private covered terrace with views out to the coastline and sea far below. The terrace also offers loungers and a small table and chairs set to extend the possibilities for use of this intimate, panoramic outdoor space.

Poggio Ai Santi is in an area of Tuscany that is well known as a beach destination, surely packed with people on holiday during the warm weather months. We found the area to be extremely enjoyable in early October, without the beach crowds to deal with. While the beaches are beautiful (long and wide – great for walking) there are plenty of other things to do in the area. Anyone wanting to explore is rewarded with many nearby options, and even more within a 1 hour drive. There is a wonderful “wine road” very close by that winds through scenic mountain vistas and ancient hilltop villages. The abundant vineyards and olive orchards in this region are producing some of the finest wines currently coming out of Italy, along with outstanding olive oils. Poggio Ai Santi offers such wines and olive oils for sale, as well as other farm products.

San Vincenzo, only 10 minutes drive, is a pretty substantial seaside town with a nice marina and many restaurant options, although the best restaurant in the area is arguably right on site at Poggio Ai Santi. The beaches stretch for long distances both north and south from the town. The southern direction features a very nice wooded park of over 100 hectares (250+ acres) coming directly up to the dunes along much of the beach down to the pretty Gulf of Baratti, which is overlooked by the medieval Populonia castle. The castle is worth exploring if for no other reason than the fabulous photo opportunities – and there are significant historical and archeological sites there as well.

Within about an hour are Pisa (for the obligatory visit to the famous tower), Lucca, and Volterra. Lucca and Volterra are both beautiful and well-preserved ancient Etruscan towns… very different, but each well worth a day of exploration. The great thing about Poggio Ai Santi is that even if you don’t want to venture out, an outstanding holiday can be achieved by just staying put and taking advantage of all this delightful property has to offer.

We think rooms at Poggio Ai Santi are best experienced with windows open, weather permitting – some of the charm is lost when buttoned up tight. However, there are no screens and since this is a natural retreat you almost assuredly will share your space with some insects – a consideration if you are squeamish about such things.

Room Tip: The Royal Suites are fabulous, but if you are going to spend most of your time sightseeing and takin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alessandrapas, Owner at Relais Poggio Ai Santi, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thanks to our friends from VA...
We are so happy to achieved our aim and made you happy. Thank you also for all information about the area around, as so many people abroad do not know that Tuscany has also wonderful shores and...an Archipelago, Elba Island being the most known.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket, Thailand
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We stayed for one week at Poggio ai Santi and had a great suite with private balcony/sea view.
Without any doubt this "agritourismo" benefits primarily from its excellent location with phantastic views to the sea incl. Elba, Corsica and other islands. The furniture of our room had a kind of modern Asian touch and that kind of minimalism we prefer. Breakfast offers a wide range of everything incl. a la minute eggs made to your choice. Also the staff is very dedicated and tries to fulfill any guest desires immediately.
Sounds phantastic, so what's wrong?
1.) On our first evening we received an invitation for a drink with the owner on the next evening. However, it turned out that this was a promotion event with the (only) intension to sell the different products of the agriturismo (wine, oil, honey etc.). We left....
2.) We understood that there should be a coffee maker in each suite, unfotunately we had none.
So we ordered our afternoon coffee at the reception. When checking out we were surprised to find these coffees charged on our room. Frankly, at that room rate an afternoon coffee shouldn't be any problem....
3.) While the breakfast offers many choices its ingrediants did not change during the time we stayed there. This means every day the same one sort of salami, bacon, cheese, jam, honey, juice etc.
Summarized we had the feeling that while on a first glance everything seems to be perfect this location misses one important thing which can't be substituted by the location, nor the orchestration of luxury, organization etc. And this is missing thing is soul.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alessandrapas, Owner at Relais Poggio Ai Santi, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
When I read reviews on Trip Advisor it reminds me how easy it is to misinterpret the intentions of others.

On this occasion it is clear that a straightforward invitation for an aperitif given to our guests on the first few days of their stay has been completely misrepresented. Our aim is to meet our guests and perhaps also to introduce them to each other in order to create a feeling of harmony.
It's great to see them saying ‘hello’ to each other when they meet in the park, at the swimming pool or at breakfast. That's all we ask. It's up to clients to decide whether to take up this introduction to the hotel or to each other on the basis of their individual personalities or desire for privacy.

We have never attempted to make a social event into a produce sales event. That is not our style at all.

Our aperitif involves a glass of our wine and bruschette made with our oil because we're in Tuscany, the home of such produce. Produce on the table gives us an opportunity to talk about our company which is our lives and led in turn to the establishment of our agriturismo.
It's a way of telling our guests the whole story, how Poggio ai Santi came about and why.

I sometimes think that some clients are not culturally prepared for a stay in a place which is so full of human qualities. Perhaps they don't realise that not everything in life is a business opportunity.

As far as breakfast is concerned, we are proud of our local produce and, furthermore, I would like to explain that a Tuscan agriturismo is obliged by law to provide produce with an appellation of Tuscan origin. Anyone running an agriturismo who does not do so is following neither its rules nor its spirit.
We are genuinely proud to support a law which marks us out from other companies and help develop a truly local economy.

Our eggs, Maremma milk, fresh pecorino cheese, fruit, homemade cakes, yogurt made from local milk, jams made with our own fruit picked only when it is ripe and full of natural sugar, cherry tomatoes, oil and so on are all part of our attempt to produce everything ourselves or to source it in the surrounding area. There is only one exception to this. We do not make our own croissants and I'm not sure how long these will remain on our breakfast tables.

Our breakfast is Italian and Tuscan. We do not serve bacon but rather freshly sliced Tuscan salame and ham produced without additives of any kind just a few kilometres away! We make no attempt to fill up our buffet with second rate produce in order to show off. Our guests are luckily very well educated as far as food is concerned and appreciate fresh, genuine produce very much even if this necessarily limits the choice available.

Perhaps the fact that guests can come down to breakfast as late as 11 in the morning leads some to think that it is lunch?
I think this might well be the case. Many guests come down at the last minute, taking advantage of the opportunity to miss lunch and remaining at their tables until 11:30/12:00 when we are already getting our tables ready for the restaurant, ordering omelettes with fillings of their choice (we don't only put scrambled eggs on our food warmers).
And they are quite welcome to do this. We're happy if they are happy.
We're pleased that they are taking the opportunity to break their usual daily habits to enjoy a relaxed and peaceful holiday. But this does not mean that our breakfast has any pretentions to be lunch.

Despite the personal approach they flaunt, some people are not capable of distinguishing a wild boar ragout from Eastern Europe drenched in olive pomace oil and tomato purée from a genuine ragout cooked in a healthy, traditional way and respecting the environment. All they care about is that there's plenty of it and that it is tasty. This alone means for many that it is characteristic Tuscan food!

Despite this we are happy if our guests fully enjoy every moment of their holiday whatever their personal tastes and idea of travel. But it is our duty to guarantee the authenticity of everything we provide even if this means that we risk not satisfying the full range of personal tastes.

The coffee machine which is specifically mentioned in the reservation letter which we send to our clients is supplied only in our larger suites as these are equipped with a kitchenette.
I am an experienced traveller and, quite honestly, I would never think of asking for a coffee and expecting it to be free unless someone had offered it to me.
I dedicate every minute of the day in which I am not managing our complex company to our guests. I like to have a drink with them and share their moments of peace with them. These are brief holidays for me and give me fresh energy.
Our bar is open to our guests all day and it would be difficult to leave the decision to offer free coffees or not up to our waiting staff.

We're not trying to be pretentious but we are proud of the fact that we believe that Poggio ai Santi has soul. Friendship with nice, positive people, respect for Mother Nature, love of beautiful things and respect for our mission. Thankfully this 'job' reminds us how many wonderful people there are in the world every day!

I'd like to say one last thing. None of us at Poggio ai Santi, in our great house and family, sharing everything with our staff and guests 24 hours a day 365 days a year, have ever dreamed of living our inner lives as a straightforward, arid commercial activity. We wouldn't be human beings if we did this.

For over 30 years I've chosen an extremely high quality style of life at all times, a life in which true wealth consists of harmony with nature and the human race, living the beauties of the world fully not just as a dream but as an everyday reality. In my own small way, I've tried to communicate a message to all those who are willing to listen.

Francesca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Nestling in the wooded hills above the beach resort of San Vincenzo on the Etruscan Coast lies the Poggio ai Santi estate. The main house and other accommodation are all set in a beautiful garden with quiet niches where one can rest and relax. The rooms and studios are well appointed featuring tasteful decor, comfortable beds and good bathrooms. Most rooms have a balcony or terrace from which one can enjoy the scenery, fresh air and the quiet rustling of the wind in the pine trees.

The restaurant is excellent: the charismatic and mulitlingual head chef Denny Bruci comes to your table to take your order and tell you about the specials. The kitchen is very willing to adapt to any special requests. Displaying great commitment to the Slow Food movement and local produce, the cuisine is inventive and delicious. Estate wines are also certainly worth tasting.

The whole team at Poggio ai Santi are welcoming and helpful and we enjoyed meeting the owners and managers Dominique and Francesca.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

On a hill near San Vincenzo there's a place out of a dream: Beautiful view, breathtaking surroundings, the rooms and suites outfitted with great taste !

Francecsca has a great hand collecting little things that make you feel at home and not in a hotel. The team is very nice and does everything to give you a most relexed stay .

Further plus is the restaurant "il sale" with his genius of a chef !

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

It was with some trepidation that we approached this, most heavenly, place... The road from Rome was not so impressive, so one could imagine our absolute delight, when we arrived at Poggio ai Santi, where the gates opened up to display a magnificent sight.. Set on a hilltop and surrounded by absolutely natural and cultivated gardens, this place offers the most breathtaking views of the Tuscan landscape but that is not all...

The actual accommodation building is superbly and most tastefully decorated in a rustic but elegant fashion. Colours of furnishings absolutely blend with nature's colours in the outside - no clash with nature here. Everything is in the "autumnal" colours which are so prevalent in the natural beauty of Tuscany. So pleasing to the eye ... very relaxing! But that is not all...

The staff is "lovely" - upon arrival we were welcomed by a delightful young lady, Mailis and it seems that Mailis' friendly demeanour was shared by all other staff and Management here including Claudia, a charming, efficient young lady. Francesca's (Owner/Manager) exquisite taste exudes from all aspects of this haven... We had the pleasure of also meeting her mother who happened to be visiting and also Francesca's son, Guilio. All in all, making us feel as though we were in the home of a dear friend! This friendliness did not impede on our privacy... Never intruded in our ability to relax in the many different, beautiful, tastefully secluded areas of this magnificent property.

Last but not least, "full marks" to the most magnificently presented gourmet meals provided by the Il Sale restaurant. The subtle elegance of Poggio ai Santi seems to apply also to the cuisine under the direction of Chef, Mr Deni Brucci. A multi-lingual speaker, with a charming personality. Always eager to explain the Menu and was even heard, to supply recipes of some particular sauce or food on the menu. An Italian charmer!

Admittedly the beauty of this accommodation, somewhat overpowers, any desire to move away from it but within easy drive, some small Medieval towns can be reached. Poggio ai Santi is a place to "unwind" after driving the many winding roads of this superb region of Italy - Tuscany!

Hope to have the privilege of staying in this place again and would eagerly and happily recommend it to everyone of good taste!

Room Tip: Rooms with balcony/terrace enhance appreciation of magnificent views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Relais Poggio Ai Santi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Poggio Ai Santi

Also Known As:
Agriturismo Poggio Ai Santi Hotel San Vincenzo
Address: Strada di San Bartolo 100, 57027 San Vincenzo, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Livorno > San Vincenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Vincenzo
#1 On the Beach Hotel in San Vincenzo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The place is a magical one, nestled in hills of Mediterranean maquis, with the sea as a backdrop. A natural amphitheatre where Segesta or Epidaurus could have been built in classical times. We have preserved it intact for you. At Poggio ai Santi you will not find butlers and concierges to fill your every whim, but a guest house atmosphere which meets your real wishes. The Podere farmhouse, the Stables and Villa are orientated to use all the resources of the local climate, mild in winter and cooled in summer by the sea breeze. Everywhere we have given priority to space and silence. Our wish has been to be generous with space. At Poggio ai Santi, you will only find suites of which even the simplest offer a degree of comfort that many grand hotels can no longer afford. When we are full, we have thirty guests. The suites are spread between the three houses, each with its own charm and its specific features. Most have terraces or direct access onto the garden. The privilege of silence is rare: we have decided to support it by accepting children only over 12 years of age. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Relais Poggio Ai Santi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Relais Poggio Ai Santi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Relais Poggio Ai Santi to your Saves list